SGI致2018年联合国大会第一委员会(裁军与国际安全)发表声明

694

热门

2018年10月17日,国际创价学会(Soka Gakkai International,简称SGI)致假于纽约召开的第七十三届联合国大会第一委员会(裁军与国际安全)会议提交以下声明。内容除了提出核武器与人类追求自由和尊严的过程水火不容之论点,还强调致命性自主武器系统(Lethal Autonomous Weapon Systems,简称LAWS)发展下去的危险性,并且吁请联合国缔约国对此课题采取具体行动。


照片来源:thomas brown/CC BY-NC-ND

概述

我们SGI秉持“生命尊严至上”这一佛法哲理来推进我们的所有活动。我们希望通过递交以下声明,对推进联合国大会第七十三届会议的审议有所贡献。

保护人权和尊严

在2017年诺贝尔和平奖的获奖演讲中,节子‧瑟洛对核问题的实质一针见血地表示:“人类与核武器不能共存。”简言之,我们必须在核武器和人类之间做出选择。这不单单是指我们作为人这一物种的持续生存,还指我们能活得更有人性,而这正是所有社会都在不断挑战的目标。

核武器不仅对人类的生存造成威胁,还严重阻碍了我们个人以及全人类对这生活方式的追求。

保护所有人的自由和尊严,这种意识需要植根于对我们每个人都是宝贵和不可替代的认识上。核武器的继续存在和与日俱增的核武器使用威胁,反映了一种截然相反的人性观:我们缺乏固有的价值,并且最终会成为消耗品。因此,这一切与人类对自由和尊严的追求以及国际人权机制所提出的这一追求目标是背道而驰的。

自由是全人类的不懈追求

在第二次世界大战对人类造成空前破坏之后,“免于恐惧的自由”被宣布是人类与生俱来的权利。以制造恐惧为基础的核武器,对这种自由构成了直接且持续的冲击。

同样,核武器耗费巨大,有核武器国现在正为装备最新式的核武器而投入数万亿美元巨资,继续在破坏二战后各国要达成的另一个理想:免于匮乏的自由。随着世界各国团结一致地奋力实现《可持续发展目标》,我们根本无力承受发展核武器这一愚蠢行为所造成的巨大浪费,无论是现在的核武器,还是将来最新式的核武器。

或许,核武器对人类带来的最致命的威胁,就是我们只能屈服于我们的思想产物、无条件地听从我们的科技产物这一谬论。

人的主体性、尊严、自由和团结等本能和美德长期受到威胁,而消除核武器的挑战,是人类恢复享受此等权利的重要机会。这些最典型的人类本能和美德,也可以被有效地用来解决我们所面临的紧迫的全球性课题。

对生存、人类自由和尊严的责任

去年7月,由联合国122个国家投票通过了《禁止核武器条约》(Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons,简称TPNW),我们相信,这不仅仅是对生存,也是对人类自由和尊严所应负的责任。这也充分表明国际社会普遍存在消除核武器这一强烈愿望。

我们强力呼吁所有国家都应积极参与实现无核武器世界的建设性讨论,并支持TPNW的签署、批准和早日生效。我们鼓励尚未支持TPNW的政府公布他们于TPNW中可以实施的项目。例如,不转让核武器或不协助其他国家获得核武器,是有核武器国也可以实施的。

同样,依附核武器国也可以考虑如何根据自己国家的安全政策,不使用或威胁使用核武器,以及抵制援助、鼓励或诱导使用核武器等行动。

大家都清楚,自1945年以来,由于技术故障、计算错误和误解,核威慑已多次濒临失败。人类凭运气而不是设计逃过了核灾难,而我们的运气不可能一直好下去。必要的是使有核武器国以及依附核武器国的人们对核武器的看法发生根本转变,以打破对核威慑错误信仰的危险执念。

通过在正式和非正式环境中开展和平与裁军教育来提高公众意识,可以实现这种转变。TPNW的序言强调了这一点,文中讲到“又认识到全面和平与裁军教育以及提高今世后代对核武器风险与后果的认识十分重要,并致力于宣传本条约的原则和准则……”

重要的是,在进行此类裁军教育的工作中,要采用具有包容性和交叉性的方法。例如,以社会正义的视角审视裁军问题,能让更多不同的人群和社会团体参与。此外,我们认为,如果和平与裁军教育得到成功实施,那么其他一切形式的不公正和偏狭的挑战也能减少。有些人否定不同人种或与自己持有不同想法的人,也有人想铲除他们觉得对自己构成威胁的人。和平与裁军教育能消除这样的欲望。和平与裁军教育的核心是对可持续和平的信念与主张。

致命性自主武器系统(LAWS)的掠夺性

几十年来,联合国为建立国际军备控制和裁军方面的新规范和条约有效地提供了平台。最近对频繁使用自主性越来越强的无人操控武器系统进行审查,显示出要全面改善从武器的制造到使用的整个流程的合规性、管控能力和透明度的必要。关于LAWS的多边论坛尤其重要,因为绝不能允许新技术凌驾于道德责任和对法治的集体承诺之上。

在无需人为控制的情况下,LAWS可以自主进行选择和独立实施对目标的攻击。这种武器未必能遵守国际人道主义法,因为它不可能准确地区分平民和战斗人员,或进行有效的相称性评估。虽然部署LAWS可能会减少军事的因果关系,但也同时会降低使用武力的门槛。这些武器可能会导致偶发性冲突或使纠纷迅速升级,因为全自主武器能以超出人类控制的速度互相反应并发生作用。

就有关生存权、国际人道主义法和国际人权法的原则,以及新的国际军备竞赛的威胁等问题,LAWS还引起了基本道德和伦理问题方面的共同关切。将生死的决定权交给机器来判断,简化了杀人行为,这无疑会降低使用致命武力的门槛,破坏了人类拥有自主权、责任心和尊严以及生存权的根本原则。目前控制核武器瞄准和发射的许多程式已经移交电脑操纵,想到这些最致命的杀人武器其无人操纵的程度会继续增加,真的会令人不寒而栗。

同感能力使我们恢复自主权

核武器和LAWS问题的核心是其对他人的彻底否定,否定他们的人性以及他们享有幸福生活和生命的平等权利。

作为始终都维护着生命的价值和尊严的佛教徒,我们认为只有通过持续努力扩大个人与集体的同感能力,才能与之抗衡。佛教有如下的教诲:

“一切众生皆畏惧刀仗,一切众生皆真爱生命,将心比心,人不应该杀害或教唆杀害他人。”

人普遍的本能是避免遭受痛苦和伤害。我们与生俱来就具备能明白到每一个人都是宝贵存在的共同感受。只要我们能够认识到他人也有同样的感受,我们就能感受到他人遭受痛苦的现实,并尊重他人应有的尊严。这种同感使真正的对话成为可能。对话是实现我们获得真实的安全感受这一共同追求的最佳途径。

正如消除核武器可以为人类提供一个摆脱科技束缚的机会一样,极力遏制LAWS的产生,可以为各国带来恢复和体现其在主权理想中所表述的自主权的机会。即表现出对所处环境所拥有的自主权以及履行他们自愿做出的承诺。科技进步可能会扩大我们能做的事情的范围(可能的事情),但这绝不可以掩盖或规避要解决我们应该做什么(什么是对的以及什么是错的)这一痛苦的现实难题。作为个人和政府,我们无法回避这些问题,而解决这些问题对于我们的人性而言至关重要。

因此,我们呼吁联合国缔约国:

  1. 解决裁军问题,不仅是一个从军事和政治角度来加以理解的与安全有关的议程,同样也是一种道德和伦理责任;

  2. 通过确保将交叉性方法纳入裁军进程,来融入更多的多样性;

  3. 继续聆听民间社会的声音,特别是全球的原爆幸存者(核武器的受害者和幸存者)的声音,以便裁军进程会始终秉持以人为本的原则,并郑重宣布世界人民的共同承诺,即原爆幸存者所遭受的痛苦决不能重演;

  4. 重申实现和维护一个无核武器的世界的明确承诺,同时指出TPNW存在的根本理由是防止产生任何使用此类武器所造成的灾难性人道主义后果,因此必须使该条约尽快生效;

  5. 支持对关于在具有法律约束力的文件中,规定禁止LAWS的问题在多边论坛中进行实质性讨论的提案;

  6. 支持全球性和地方性推进和平与裁军教育,并对政府的裁军教育工作情况进行报告。

推荐文章:

SGI的废除核武器活动


返回页首

Statement to 2018 UN General Assembly First Committee

500

popularity

The SGI submitted the following statement to the 73rd session of the UN General Assembly First Committee on Disarmament and International Security in New York on October 17, 2018. As well as making the case that nuclear weapons are incompatible with the quest for human freedom and dignity, the statement highlights the perils of the development of lethal autonomous weapons systems (LAWS) and calls on UN State Parties to take specific actions in regard to these issues.

[Photo by thomas brown/CC BY-NC-ND]

Overview

As an organization whose activities for a nuclear-weapon-free world are rooted in the Buddhist philosophy of respect for life, the Soka Gakkai International (SGI) wishes to submit the following statement to help further the deliberations of the 73rd Session of the United Nations General Assembly.

Protecting human rights and dignity

In her acceptance speech for the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize, Setsuko Thurlow concisely expressed the essence of the nuclear issue: “Humanity and nuclear weapons cannot coexist.” This means, in the simplest terms, that we must choose: nuclear weapons or humanity, where humanity points to more than just the continued physical existence of our species, but also to our ability to live in ways that can be identified as humane and toward which all societies have continued to strive.

Nuclear weapons have not only threatened humanity’s physical survival, they have profoundly impeded our individual and shared quest for humanity in this most essential sense.

The imperative to protect the freedom and dignity of all people is rooted in the recognition that each of us is inherently precious and irreplaceable. The continued existence of nuclear weapons and the growing threat of their use embody a diametrically opposed view of humanity: that we lack inherent value and are ultimately expendable. As such they are incompatible with the quest for human freedom and dignity and the international human rights system to which that quest has given rise.

A planetwide quest for human freedom

In the wake of the unprecedented destruction of World War II, “freedom from fear” was declared as a crucial, necessary element of our birthright as humans. Nuclear weapons, predicated on fear, have constituted a direct and constant assault on that freedom.

Similarly, the enormous cost of nuclear weapons, with the nuclear-weapon states now allocating trillions of dollars for modernization, continues to undermine another consensus ideal of the post-World War II world: freedom from want. As the world rallies toward the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals, we simply cannot afford the wasteful folly of nuclear weapons, either in their present or their future modernized forms.

Perhaps the most pernicious assault nuclear weapons wreak on our humanity lies in the destructive fallacy that we have no choice but to submit to the products of our own minds, to the apparent imperatives of our own technological creations.

In this sense, the struggle to eliminate nuclear weapons represents a crucial opportunity for humankind to recover long-threatened qualities of agency, dignity, freedom and solidarity. These quintessentially human qualities can be effectively deployed in the resolution of the pressing, planetwide challenges we face.

Commitment to survival, human freedom and dignity

We believe that this commitment not simply to survival, but to human freedom and dignity, animated the adoption, in July of last year, of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) by 122 governments, demonstrating the strong will for the elimination of nuclear weapons that exists within the international community.

We urge all States to engage in constructive debate toward the goal of a world free from nuclear weapons and to support the signing, ratification and early entry into force of the TPNW. We encourage governments not yet supporting the TPNW to make public specific TPNW prohibitions to which they are ready to commit. The prohibition on the transfer of nuclear weapons, for example, or against assisting other states in acquiring nuclear weapons, are among those to which the nuclear-weapon states should be able to commit.

Likewise, nuclear-dependent states should consider committing to the prohibition on using or threatening to use nuclear weapons and against assisting, encouraging or inducing such acts in light of their respective security policies.

We know that, through technical failures, miscalculation and misapprehension, nuclear deterrence has verged on failure many times since 1945. Humankind has avoided nuclear disaster more through luck than design, and our luck cannot be expected to hold indefinitely. It is necessary to bring about a fundamental shift in the perception of nuclear weapons among people in the nuclear-weapon states and nuclear-dependent states in order to break the perilous spell of misplaced faith in nuclear deterrence.

Such a shift can be achieved by raising public awareness through peace and disarmament education in formal and non-formal settings. A preambular paragraph of the TPNW underscores this point, when it states that, “Recognizing also the importance of peace and disarmament education in all its aspects and of raising awareness of the risks and consequences of nuclear weapons for current and future generations, and committed to the dissemination of the principles and norms of this Treaty . . .”

It is important that such efforts in disarmament education take inclusive and intersectional approaches. Examining disarmament issues through the lens of social justice, for example, will enable participation from more diverse groups of people and communities. Furthermore, we believe that, when implemented successfully, peace and disarmament education addresses the struggle for disarmament as a struggle against all forms of injustice and intolerance. It can counter and transform the impulse to negate others who look or think differently to us, or to strike out at those whom we deem a threat. At the heart of peace and disarmament education is a belief in and an insistence on a sustainable peace.

What LAWS wrest from human hands

Over the decades, the UN has proven itself as a forum for building new norms and treaties in arms control and disarmament. Recent processes examining the growing use of unmanned and increasingly autonomous weapons systems have shed light on the need to improve compliance, capacity and transparency all the way along the chain from where arms are made to where they are put to use. Multilateral forums on Lethal Autonomous Weapons Systems (LAWS) are essential because new technologies cannot be allowed to outpace ethical responsibility and collective commitment to the rule of law.

LAWS can select and engage individual targets without meaningful human control. Such weapons are unlikely to be able to adhere to international humanitarian law as it is unlikely that they will be able to properly distinguish between civilians and combatants, or to make a proportionality assessment. While the deployment of LAWS might reduce military causalities, it could lower the threshold for the use of force. These weapons could lead to accidental and rapid escalation of conflict as fully autonomous weapons react and interact with each other at speeds beyond human control.

There exist common concerns about fundamental moral and ethical questions that LAWS raise regarding the right to life, the principles of international humanitarian and human rights law as well as the threat of a new international arms race. Surrendering the decision over life and death to a machine sanitizes the act of killing, lowering the threshold for the use of lethal force; it undermines the principles of human autonomy, responsibility and dignity, as well as the right to life. Many of the processes controlling the targeting and launching of nuclear weapons are already computerized, and it is chilling to contemplate any further advance in their automation.

Empathy to recover autonomy

At the heart of the issues of nuclear weapons and LAWS is the radical negation of others—of their humanity and of their equal right to happiness and life.

As Buddhists upholding the value and dignity of life, we believe that this can only be countered through a sustained effort to expand our individual and shared capacities for imaginative empathy. In the Buddha’s teachings we find these words:

“All tremble at violence; life is dear to all. Putting oneself in the place of another, one should not kill nor cause another to kill.”

There is a universal impulse to avoid suffering and harm. We all have an intuitive sense of the unique value of our individual being. To the degree that we can realize that others feel the same way, we can sense the reality of their suffering and embrace their dignity. Such empathy makes genuine dialogue possible. And dialogue is the most certain path to realizing our shared quest for the authentic experience of security.

Just as the elimination of nuclear weapons provides the opportunity for humankind to free itself from thralldom to technology, the ongoing efforts not to give a birth to LAWS offers states an opportunity to recover and embody the autonomy expressed in the ideal of sovereignty; that is, to manifest autonomy over circumstance and in fulfilling their own freely undertaken commitments. Technological advances may expand the realm of what we can do—what is possible—but this cannot be allowed to obscure or obviate painful reckoning with the question of what we should do—what is right and what is wrong. As individuals and governments, we cannot avoid these questions, and grappling with them is essential to our humanity.

Therefore, we urge the UN States Parties to:

  1. Address the issue of disarmament not only as an agenda pertaining to security and being understood from military and political perspectives, but also as a moral and ethical imperative;

  2. Incorporate greater diversity by ensuring intersectional approaches are brought into disarmament processes;

  3. Continue to heed the voices of civil society, especially those of the world’s hibakusha (all the victims and survivors of nuclear weapons), so that the disarmament process will have a consistently human focus; and to declare the shared commitment of the world’s people that the suffering endured by the hibakusha must never be repeated;

  4. Recommit to the unequivocal undertaking to achieve and maintain a world without nuclear weapons, noting that the fundamental justification for the TPNW is the prevention of the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of such weapons and thus necessitating its entry into force as early as possible;

  5. Support proposals for substantive discussions in multilateral forums on a legally-binding instrument to prohibit LAWS;

  6. Support peace and disarmament education initiatives globally and locally, and report on their government’s disarmament education efforts in their interventions.

Read More:

SGI’s Activities for Nuclear Abolition

our story

page top