如太陽般綻放光芒

普賈‧梅農 澳洲

764

熱門

普賈‧梅農的半身照 (© Eric Teoh)

我在幾年前搬到其他城市住。老闆們看到我搬家後仍願意為公司效勞都很高興,這也就給了我充分的理由選擇在家工作。此外,主管們都十分理解和體恤我要照顧兩個孩子及兩條狗的情形。我每天一大清早就起床,為家人準備早餐和午餐,從早上六點開始工作到下午三點,然後去學校接孩子回家。

我的生活規律,安排妥善,令我心滿意足。由於可以靈活安排工作時間,我能夠在下午帶孩子去上各式各樣的課外活動或陪他們讀書。身為澳洲SGI(國際創價學會)的會員,我也從未缺席過座談會。

然而,某天早上,主管突然打給我,捎來猶如晴天霹靂的消息:公司有些新的安排,而我被裁員了。當下我無法相信自己的耳朵,心想難道這六年來,我對公司還不夠鞠躬盡瘁嗎?腦海中不斷出現消極的想法,無法接納自己從那刻起就沒了工作的事實。

一如往常,我還是去學校接孩子放學。路上跟他們有說有笑,將失業的事掩飾得很好,但是內心深處仍一直在思考,少了這份待遇不錯的工作,今後該如何維持家計?那天晚上想得輾轉難眠。頓時,我再也不明白自己早起是為了什麼。尤其在先生去上班、女兒們去上學以後,剩下我孤零零在家裡的時候,更加地感到自己一無是處。

SGI會長池田大作鼓勵我們要成為一家的太陽。但老實說,那令我望之卻步。畢竟我也是人,我也有低潮,怎麼可能整天都像太陽一樣綻放光芒?

改變想法

普賈(右)、先生(左二)、兩位女兒

我打給一位同樣也是澳洲(或稱澳大利亞)SGI會員的朋友,告訴她我被裁員了。萬萬沒想到她竟然說:「恭喜你!因為塞翁失馬,焉知非福。」當下我很訝異,但發覺她有可能是對的。池田SGI會長經常在其著作中提到面對困境時,不屈不撓、永不放棄的精神至關重要,以及陽光、明朗的心態是克服困難的關鍵。

多虧有她的鼓勵,我開始認真祈求自己一定會在三十天內找到工作,並且決定讓這三十天成為人生中最寶貴、最有意義的三十天。打從我決定將危機化為轉機的那一瞬間起,環境就起了變化。

我祈求能找到自己喜歡的、待遇理想的、對社會有貢獻的工作。我將履歷投到數家公司,幾乎每次都馬上接到面試電話。這過程中,朋友們都相當支持我,告訴我他們公司有職缺或發有關就業機會的訊息給我。朋友們的存在隨時提醒著自己:我並非孤軍奮戰。能夠擁有這麼多好朋友,真是三生有幸。

短短十五天內,我接到十五通電話面試,進行六場現場面試,而且所有的面試都很順利。每一天我都過得很充實,無論是外出與人見面還是面試,我都樂在其中。

不久後,我去應徵一家正成長茁壯的公司,在一天內就通過三道面試手續。隔天,他們請我進辦公室,在主管身邊工作,讓我有機會在應聘前,實際操作和了解環境。才經過了半天,我就知道這即是我夢寐以求的工作。

最後,我在二十九天內就獲得這份工作,而且薪水比之前的還高出許多。衷心感謝那位幫助我明白「焉知非福」的朋友,以及所有在過程中支持我的人。雖然想都沒想到我現在會如此說,但回顧這一切,其實裁員發生在一個最好的時候。

享受改變

相關文章 發現自身的真正價值 發現自身的真正價值 阿德里安娜‧阿隆索‧卡爾德龍  波多黎各 來自波多黎各的阿德里安娜‧阿隆索‧卡爾德龍藉由修行佛法,轉變沒有自信的自己,成為一名成功的律師兼社會活動家。 自從我開始從早上九點上班到下午五點,兩個孩子都長大了,變得更有責任感。比起從前,他們現在更經常做家事,而且全家都相互支持與幫忙。

這個信仰使我產生十足的信心,跨越失業的難關。我也學到,原來這個佛法所講的功德,並非指沒有煩惱,而是指擁有克服困難的能力。

如今,我明白,要像太陽般綻放光芒,並不等於要完美無瑕或閃閃發光,而是要做一個彷彿太陽般,帶給人希望、啟發人成長、幫助人獲得幸福的人。我堅信只要有這份信仰、池田SGI會長的指導,及一顆不斷想成長的心,就不會有任何烏雲能遮住我生命中的太陽。

消息: 2018年9月號澳洲SGI刊物《從藍而青》(Indigo)

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

Shining like the Sun

by Pooja Menon, Australia

5583

popularity

Portrait of Pooja Menon [© Eric Teoh]

I moved to a new city a few years ago, and my employers were happy for me to continue working with them after the move. This brought with it a perfect opportunity to work from home. My bosses were very supportive and considerate of my role as a mother of two daughters and two dogs. I had a fixed daily routine of getting up very early each morning to make breakfast and lunch for everyone, working from six in the morning to three in the afternoon and then picking up my kids from school.

I was very content with my well-planned and organized life. Thanks to my flexible working hours, I could take my kids to various activity classes and help them study in the afternoon. I was also able to attend all SGI-Australia (SGIA) small group meetings.

However, one morning, I received a phone call from my manager informing me that there were going to be a few changes in our company and that I had been made redundant. I just couldn’t believe it. Were the six years of hard work and dedication not enough? All sorts of negative thoughts started coming to mind. The fact that I had no job from that moment on was very hard to absorb.

I went to pick up my kids from school, just as I did every day. I was laughing and didn’t show them that I had just lost my job, but deep inside I was still thinking about it and how we would manage our finances without the significant income my job brought. I couldn’t sleep well that night. Suddenly, I couldn’t see the purpose of getting up early in the morning, and I felt especially useless after my husband and girls had left for work and school and I was all by myself at home.

SGI President Daisaku Ikeda encourages us to be like the sun within our families. I must admit that I found myself feeling daunted by this call. How can I shine like the sun all the time? I am human too, and I do feel down sometimes.

Changing Perspective

Pooja with her husband and daughters

I called a friend, who is also an SGIA member, and told her that I had lost my job and been made redundant, and to my surprise she said, “Congratulations, something bigger and better is coming your way.” I was stunned but then realized that she could be right. President Ikeda writes about the importance of being tenacious and not giving up when faced with trying circumstances and how an optimistic and hopeful attitude is crucial in ensuring that we can overcome difficulties.

Thanks to this encouragement, I started chanting with great determination to get a job within 30 days. I also decided to make these 30 days the most valuable and significant of my life. Everything around me changed the moment I decided to take this as an opportunity for growth.

I chanted for a job I would enjoy, that would earn me a good salary and allow me to make a positive contribution. I submitted several applications and was successful in getting interview calls almost immediately. My friends were also very supportive, telling me about job openings in their offices or sending me links to other job opportunities. I am blessed to have been surrounded by such lovely human beings, who constantly remind me that I am not alone.

I had approximately 15 phone interviews and about 6 face-to-face interviews in a short span of 15 days, and all the interviews I went for had positive outcomes. I never had a day without some action and was actually enjoying going out and meeting people either for an interview or for a cup of coffee.

It wasn’t long before I had an interview at a company that was going through tremendous growth. I cleared all three rounds of the interview in one day, and the next day, they called me in to work with their manager so I could experience the job and working environment before accepting the offer. After spending half a day in the office, I was positive that this was the perfect place for me.

I had landed the job within 29 days. I am also happy to say that the salary package this company offered me is significantly more than what I was getting at my previous job. I am so thankful to my friend whose words allowed me to grasp the positive aspect of my situation and for all the support I have received through this process. Although I never imagined I would say this, in retrospect, I feel that the redundancy came at the right time in my life.

Embracing Change

related article Discovering My True Worth Discovering My True Worth by  Adriana Alonso Calderón,  Puerto Rico Through her Buddhist practice, Adriana Alonso Calderón from Puerto Rico overcame a negative self-image to become a successful lawyer and activist. With me working daily from nine to five thirty, both my kids have stepped up and become more responsible. They do more chores in the house than they ever did, and everyone tries to help each other.

My faith allowed me to have absolute confidence in my ability to overcome this adversity. I’ve learned that benefit in terms of my Buddhist practice does not mean an absence of problems but an ability to successfully deal with problems as they arise.

I now understand that to shine like the sun doesn’t mean that I have to be perfect or bright. Instead, it means that I strive to become the sun that encourages hope, growth and happiness. I know that as long as I have my practice, the guidance of President Ikeda and my burning desire to be a better human being, there will be no cloud that could hide the sun inside me.

Adapted from an article in the September 2018 issue of Indigo, SGI-Australia.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top