為我量身訂製的疾病

安妮‧奧沙利文 愛爾蘭

284

熱門

疾病是一個創造更堅定不移、朝氣勃勃的生命境界的機會。愛爾蘭SGI(國際創價學會)的會員安妮‧奧沙利文(Anne O’Sullivan)在與疾病抗爭中對自己有了不同的感受,對自己的人生有了全新的領悟。


安妮‧奧沙利文坐在門前的台階上 (©Tara O’Reilly)

我在18歲時,開始信奉日蓮佛法。然而,有時我會遇到生命深處最煎熬的情況,因無法改變對自己的看法而感到徬徨無助。

2000年2月,我被診斷出患有潰瘍性結腸炎,一種炎症性腸病(IBD)。我被告知這僅是一個輕微的疾病,不足為慮,因此我沒半點憂心。而且,症狀也消失了,我亦如常生活。

兩年後,我開始生病了。我不但患有嚴重的胃痛,如廁次數變得頻密,大量失血,更加無法進食,體重亦因此迅速下降。我被送進醫院,並獲知這是由潰瘍性結腸炎而引起的。

醫生發現我大部分的結腸都發炎和潰爛了。我帶著震驚不已的心情離開醫院。對我來說,保持美麗、讓旁人誇讚我的外表非常重要。這就是我幸福的泉源。由於我用自身的外表來定義自己,而且症狀直接影響我的外貌,所以這場疾病挑戰了我的個性。

這世界上,疾病種類那麼多,我竟然得到了一個為我量身訂製的!

我認真唱念「南無妙法蓮華經」來湧現勇氣面對這個挑戰,要讓自己有強盛的祈求,相信自己可以幹勁十足地對抗該疾病。

在接下來的幾年裡,我經常進出醫院。藥物不起作用,情況每況愈下,病情緩解更是遙不可及。幾乎每一天都陷入痛苦狀態,也有因為一直需要如廁而無法踏出家門的時候。

我再次被送進醫院,即使我注射點滴和大量的類固醇,但是症狀依然繼續惡化。我為了能夠支撐下去以及得到最好的醫療,所以持續唱誦題目。

決心不畏懼

相關文章 打開智慧的眼睛,演繹勝利的人生 打開智慧的眼睛,演繹勝利的人生 陳志平  香港 看看患有先天性眼疾的陳志平如何打開智慧的眼睛,演繹勝利的人生。 經過更多的檢查後,得悉我的結腸不能恢復正常功能,而唯一的方案則是透過手術切除它,並通過腹壁的開口,把小腸末端連接到一個袋子。

我的第一個想法是懼怕,心想︰「為什麼是我?」,而下個想法則是日蓮曾說過:「稍有畏縮則萬事不成!」。雖然我修行日蓮佛法 ,但是我不太相信我可以轉變此情況。那一刻,我意識到多年來,一直都把自己的生命視為理所當然。我決心,無論如何,我都不會被打敗。

手術的前一天晚上,我體會到了最劇烈的疼痛,然後虛脫。到處都是醫護人員,他們將針扎在我身上、替我戴上氧氣罩、還有人對我叫喊,讓我睜著眼睛。我感覺到自己快將離開人世。我記得我問醫生:「我會死嗎?」。他的回答是:「如果我可以幫到你的話,你就不會死。」

當時,一股平靜感湧上心頭。那夜,他們為我輸了兩公升的血,並告訴我倘若當時我在家的話,可能就會喪命。我心存感激,因為我在對的時間,身處對的地方。

當我真正要去做手術時,我放下了恐懼,而且完全準備好接受做手術。

我一直等待的那一天

儘管手術非常成功,但是我痛苦不堪。我痛恨迴腸造口袋──用於儲蓄我體內排泄物的容器。每天早上,我都必須更換袋子和看著一個本來應該要在體內的器官,在我腹部的地方突出。我害怕去觸摸它、討厭去看它,也感到無能為力,自信心沉到谷底。

轉捩點終於到來了,就是把我的小腸連結到直腸。除去迴腸造口,令我欣喜若狂。我終於可以恢復正常,繼續餘生。手術按計劃進行,然後我帶著「被改造」的身體去生活。

然而,手術不久後,我再次感到身體不適。我接著被診斷出患有克羅恩病(或稱克隆氏症),類似潰瘍性結腸炎,只是它會影響整個消化道。我得悉此疾病無法根治,需要下半生都服用強效藥物,包括類固醇。

我明白到,一是放棄,二是堅持下去。我決定堅持,因為我決不願放棄。我拼命唱念題目,希望有力量堅持下去,還有看到我所祈求的結果。

珍惜晴天

安妮‧奧沙利文倚靠著柵欄 (©Tara O’Reilly)

手術後的生活充滿著高潮和低潮。這疾病一直反反覆覆地發作,醫生開了不同的藥物讓發炎得以被控制。一年多了,我每四周會到醫院一趟,躺在病床上6個小時,把人造抗體注入體內。

我發覺很難從任何事情中找到樂趣,也沒有感到一丁點的改變。實際上,病情每況愈下。但是,我學會珍惜我沒有發病的日子。創價學會第二任會長戶田城聖時常說,一個患有疾病的人,是會真正懂得享受人生的人。我為擁有這些寶貴的日子,真誠感謝地唱念題目。能夠參加創價學會的活動,使我得到無比的滿足感,在與疾病對抗之中得到很大的激勵。

沒有藥物可控制克羅恩病,因此切除直腸和進行迴腸造口術來維持生命是唯一的出路。我徹底崩潰了,我跑回家,大哭、大叫、扔東西,然後最後硬把自己拖到御本尊面前唱題。我必須要鼓起渾身勇氣去奮鬥,並相信自己有力量和潛能來度過此難關。

奮鬥精神

我全神貫注於佛法修行裡,唱念更多的題目和閱讀日蓮、SGI會長池田大作的著作。這些書籍一直是我的同伴,讓我能保有正面的態度。日復一日,我開始感到自己更有力量。儘管我的身體已被摧殘,卻鬥志高昂。我開始感到更健康,令我勇往直前。

佛法修行是我釋除疑慮、湧現智慧來盡最大的可能照顧身體的武器。

進行手術的日子終於到來,我祈求這是最後一次的手術。我非常緊張,害怕手術後會發生的事情,以及我要如何面對接下來都有迴腸造口的人生。儘管如此,我決意不論如何,不會讓這成為自己不幸福的根源。

手術進行了8小時,並且非常成功。我再也不在意迴腸造口了,是它讓我可以活下來。

此疾病是我最大的功德。從某個觀點來看,在生病之前,我並不健全。我看待自己的角度不對,因為我不斷向外尋找幸福,導致我有更多不滿的情緒。

這場病讓我領悟到真正幸福的源泉在於自己本身。我現在徹底確信祈求的力量。我依然有克羅恩病,但是該症狀與之前所經歷的比起來是小事一樁。

自從進行了迴腸造口術以來,現在已經超過5年,我的人生從此截然不同。這個經歷使我有勇氣鼓勵那些正在努力不被打敗的人,鼓勵他們相信自己有無限的可能性。池田SGI會長曾說過:「沒有辛勞,就沒有喜悅。」我非常感激能夠活下來,我每天都過得十分充實。我現在明白沒有克服不了的障礙。

<消息來源:2017年4月英國SGI雜誌《生活的藝術》(Art of Living)>

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

My Tailor-Made Disease

by Anne O’Sullivan, Ireland

2427

popularity

Illness is an opportunity to develop a more robust, vibrant state of life. Anne O’Sullivan, an SGI member from Ireland, did just that, emerging from her struggle with illness feeling differently about herself and with a new appreciation for what it is to be alive.

Anne O’Sullivan sitting on a doorstep [© Tara O’Reilly]

I have been practicing Nichiren Buddhism since I was 18. Despite this, at times I would experience the most intense suffering within the depths of my life, feeling helpless in changing how I felt about myself.

In February 2000 I was diagnosed with ulcerative colitis, an inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), but was told it was very mild and not to worry, so I didn’t! My symptoms disappeared, and I got on with my life.

Two years later, I started to get sick. I suffered from crippling stomach pains and frequent trips to the toilet, where I lost copious amounts of blood. I couldn’t eat and lost weight rapidly. I was admitted to the hospital and was told that it was due to the ulcerative colitis.

Doctors discovered that most of my colon was inflamed and ulcerated. I left the hospital completely shell-shocked. It had always been crucial for me to look good and to have people tell me how good I looked. This is where my happiness derived from. This illness challenged what I thought was my very identity, as I defined myself by my outward appearance and the symptoms had a direct effect on the way I looked.

So of all the diseases to get, I got one which was tailor-made for me!

I chanted Nam-myoho-renge-kyo for the courage to face this challenge and my prayers to be powerful enough for me to believe I could indeed meet this disease with a robust response.

Over the next couple of years, I was constantly in and out of the hospital. The medication wasn’t working, and my condition worsened. Remission was unattainable. Most days I was in pain, and there were days I couldn’t leave the house as I needed the toilet so much.

Once again, I was admitted to the hospital, given huge amounts of steroids and put on drips, but my symptoms just got worse. I continued to chant to just keep going and get the best possible medical care.

Determination Not Fear

related article Opening the Eyes of Wisdom for a Victorious Life Opening the Eyes of Wisdom for a Victorious Life by  Chi Ping Chan,  Hong Kong See how Chi Ping Chan, who struggles with a degenerative eye disease, opens the eyes of wisdom for a victorious life. After more tests, I was told that my colon would not regain function and the only option was to surgically remove it and attach the end of my small intestine to a bag through an opening in my abdominal wall.

My first thought was one of fear and “Why me?” My next thought was a line from Nichiren’s writings: “A coward cannot have any of his prayers answered.” Even though I was practicing Buddhism, I did not really believe I could transform this situation. At that moment, I realized I had been taking my life for granted for years. I determined that, no matter what, I would not be defeated.

The night before my surgery, I experienced the worst stomach pains ever and collapsed. There were nurses and doctors everywhere, needles stuck into me, oxygen on, people yelling at me to keep my eyes open. I could feel my life slipping away. I remember asking the doctor, “Am I going to die?” His response was, “Not if I can help it.”

At that, a sense of calmness descended on me. That night, I received over two liters of blood and was told that if I had been at home I would have died. I felt such gratitude that I had been in the right place at the right time.

When I did actually go down for surgery, I had let go of the fear and was totally ready.

The Day I’d Been Waiting For

Despite the surgery being a complete success, I was miserable. I hated my ileostomy bag, which carried the waste away from my body. Every morning, I would have to change the bag and look at an organ that should have been inside me protruding from my abdomen. I was frightened to touch it and hated looking at it. Feeling that I had no control, my confidence sunk to an all-time low.

The day finally arrived for me to have my reversal—to have my small intestine attached to my rectum. I was over the moon to be getting rid of my ileostomy. I was finally going to be normal and could get on with the rest of my life. The operation went as planned, and I went home with my modified body up and running.

However, quite soon after the surgery, I was unwell again. I was then diagnosed with Crohn’s disease, which is like ulcerative colitis, except it affects the whole digestive tract. I was told there was no cure and I would be on strong medication, including steroids, for the rest of my life.

The way I saw it was that I could either give up or get on with it. I decided to get on with it as there was no way I was giving up. I chanted for the strength to carry on and see the results of my prayers.

Savoring the Good Days

Anne O’Sullivan leaning against a fence in a garden [© Tara O’Reilly]

Life after surgery was full of highs and lows. The disease was constantly active, and I was given many different drugs to try and get the inflammation under control. For over a year, I went into the hospital every four weeks to lie on a bed for six hours to have an artificial antibody infused into me!

I found it hard to derive joy from anything; I felt nothing was changing, in fact, it was just getting worse. However, I learned to cherish the days I was well. Second president of the Soka Gakkai, Josei Toda, often said that a person who has an illness really knows how to deeply savor life. I chanted with sincere gratitude for these precious days. The times that I could attend SGI meetings were big achievements for me and spurred me on in my struggle.

As no medication was working to control my Crohn’s disease, removing my rectum and giving me an ileostomy for life was the only option left. Devastated, I went home, cried, screamed and threw things, and then finally dragged myself to the Gohonzon to chant. I had to summon up all my courage to keep fighting and believing that I had the power and inner resources to get through this.

Fighting Spirit

I threw myself into my Buddhist practice—I chanted more and studied the writings of Nichiren and SGI President Daisaku Ikeda. They were my constant companions and helped me keep my darkness at bay. Day by day, I began to feel stronger in myself. My body was broken, but my fighting spirit was fierce. I began to feel a sense of wellness inside myself that helped me press forward.

My Buddhist practice was my weapon to banish any doubts and summon the wisdom to take the best possible care of my body.

The day finally came for me to have my surgery, and I chanted that it would be the last one. I was nervous and fearful of what was to come after and how I would cope with having an ileostomy for life. Nevertheless, I determined that, no matter what, I would not let it become a source of unhappiness for me.

My surgery took over eight hours and was a complete success. I have absolutely no problems with my ileostomy. It’s what keeps me alive.

This illness has been my biggest benefit. From a certain perspective, I was “unwell” before I became sick. My attitude toward myself was unhealthy as I constantly looked outside myself for happiness, which always led to more feelings of dissatisfaction.

It took my illness to make me realize that the source of true happiness is within myself. I now have complete conviction in the power of my prayers. I still have Crohn’s disease, but the symptoms are nothing in comparison to what I suffered before.

It’s now been over five years since my ileostomy was fashioned, and life is so different for me. This experience has enabled me to encourage others who are struggling to not be defeated and believe in their vast potential. President Ikeda once said, “Without hardships, there is no joy.” I’m so grateful to be alive, and I make the most of every day. I know now that no obstacle is too big to overcome.

[Adapted from an article in the April 2017 issue of Art of Living, SGI-UK]

─── other articles ───

our story

page top