突破人生的極限

亞伯拉罕‧烏切洛 美國

193

熱門

亞伯拉罕‧烏切洛(Abraham Uccello)發現,佛法中的師弟精神能讓人發揮出超乎意料的力量。


亞伯拉罕‧烏切洛的半身照

我的父親與一種罕見的癌症長期對抗後,於2007年過世。他曾是我最要好的朋友,失去他宛如在我的心裡穿了個洞,讓我感覺那痛楚無法被填補。此外,母親患有嚴重的精神疾病。父親在世時,母親是由父親負責照料的。如今他不在世了,我對於該如何照顧母親感到毫無頭緒。

與此同時,受到美國經濟大衰退的影響,我與妻子面臨破產危機,我們的資產一個接一個地被奪走,留下束手無策的我。於是我沉浸在毒品和酒精中,試圖麻痺自己絕望的心情。動怒發飆變成家常便飯,終究導致婚姻出現了裂痕。就在我打算結束生命的那一刻,我邂逅了日蓮佛法。

父親一輩子都不斷尋找人生的意義,而自小我就跟隨著他接觸各個不同的宗教和哲學思想。我繼承了他的精神,因此當朋友介紹「南無妙法蓮華經」和日蓮佛法給我時,我馬上覺得好像找到了歸屬感。那是在2008年。我發覺,我的生命本身就擁有能夠克服在人生中任何僵局的力量,而題目(唱誦「南無妙法蓮華經」)正是那把開啟生命潛能的鑰匙。對此,我感到無比高興。

在我認真修行下,心中的憤怒轉變為慈悲,一股由衷的感謝之情開始填滿內心的空洞。我感受到,當我變得喜悅,連帶已故的父親也變得幸福。失去父親曾經讓我萬念俱灰,但那個感受現在已昇華為我對他最深切的思念。除此之外,我戒掉糾纏我許久的毒癮和酒癮,並為母親找到適當的照料方式。如今,母親不僅可以自力更生,有穩定的工作,還受到社區的信賴。我們倆重新建立母子關係,現在我終於體會到擁有母親的喜悅了。

鑽研國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)會長池田大作的著作使我想要深入了解佛法中的師弟關係,並努力改變我的個性,成為一個能尊重自己、肯定自己的人。妻子看到我的改變後亦決定開始信奉日蓮佛法。

尋找人生的意義

相關文章 不為核電事故所敗 勇展勝利英姿 不為核電事故所敗 勇展勝利英姿 中野泉  日本 我家位於福島縣雙葉郡,離福島第一核能發電廠僅四公里遠。上班的地方也位在核電廠的二十公里範圍內。3月11日當天,地震和接踵而來的海嘯導致核電廠內三個反應爐的爐心溶解,所有居民被令疏散,我和丈夫兩人...... 修行佛法是為了建立堅不可摧的幸福。2013年末,我對於自己的情況感到安逸,而且停止挑戰自我。即使家人都很健康,經濟條件也在穩健恢復,我仍一直在思考:我這一生的意義究竟是什麼?總覺得人生不僅止於為了活著而活著。

2014年這一整年,我埋頭學習日蓮的著作和池田SGI會長的指導,唱著充滿決心的題目,希望能夠在2014年結束以前,找到人生的目標。我想要明白:我在這輩子中所經歷的事情有什麼意義?

在這個過程中,我開始對師弟精神有更深一層的了解──師弟精神即,在人生之師的教導及啟發下的自我成長之路。正也是在這個過程中,許多童年的難受回憶開始鮮明地浮現在腦海中:還記得母親被扣上手銬帶走的那一幕,我追著警車,淚水直下,對眼前情況感到百思不得其解,試圖安撫自己:「她不是罪犯,她只是病了。」

被埋沒的痛苦記憶如跑馬燈般接二連三重現眼前:母親的眼淚與懼怕的神情;我被託付給所謂的「朋友」照顧,結果竟遭到性侵犯……。我終於明白,是這樣的遭遇使我怨恨母親,變得憤世嫉俗,但自己又不知道如何處理和消化這樣的記憶與情感。是師弟精神使我決定對自己的人生負起全盤責任,使我不再將自己的痛苦怪罪於其他人,並幫助我澆熄了影響判斷力的怒火。

接著在2014年12月,一位從事監獄改革的朋友被提拔為佛羅里達懲教(矯正)部部長。這是一項重責大任。她希望我擔任她的高級顧問。

起初,我一頭霧水,害怕自己無法勝任。畏懼使我怯步遲疑。但是通過唱念大量的題目,我發現自己至今為止的經歷將可以在這份工作中,發揮得淋漓盡致,對社會做出積極的貢獻。在監獄這個體制裡的人們經常反覆陷入包括精神疾病、藥物濫用和虐待兒童等的惡性循環,我之後一定會碰到很多很難處理的問題。不過,倘若我要履行我作為弟子,向人生之師池田SGI會長許下的承諾,我就必須要打破懷疑和恐懼的迷思。想通這個道理後,我便鼓起勇氣,接受這個寶貴的機會。

亞伯拉罕與兩位女士和一位男士的特寫鏡頭。他們望向鏡頭微笑。 亞伯拉罕和SGI的夥伴們

我非常榮幸有機會擔任佛羅里達懲教部發展司司長三年,管理數百位的員工,指導大約25萬人的教育計畫。我提出一系列收容人計畫和改革,將他們視為能夠轉換自身生命的人,而非被社會拋棄的累贅,打破以往的看法及作法。2018年,我開始在佛羅里達州大學社會工作學院司法研究與發展研究院工作,為國內外犯罪和行為健康課題找出解決方案。同時,我也主動肩負起美國SGI幹部的職責,照顧在佛羅里達、波多黎各和17個加勒比島國的會員。

我決意繼續成長,讓我所在之處幸福安穩,以對信仰的信念和堅定不移的決心來面對所有的挑戰。雖然我的旅程始於沮喪和絕望,但是如今,我的人生充滿喜悅、意義和感謝之情。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

Living Beyond My Limitations

by Abraham Uccello, USA

726

popularity

The mentor-disciple relationship in Buddhism functions to enable individuals to exceed their expectations of themselves, as Abraham Uccello discovered.

Portrait of Abraham Uccello

After a long battle with a rare type of cancer, my father passed away in 2007. He was my best friend, and the pain of his loss opened a hole in my heart that I felt could not be filled. He had also looked after my mother, who struggled with severe mental illness, and in his absence, I wondered how I would take care of her.

While this was going on, my wife and I were facing financial ruin amid the Great Recession. One by one, our material possessions were stripped away, and I became lost, spiraling into the use of drugs and alcohol as I tried to numb my despair. I frequently raged in anger, and this created a divide in my marriage. At the moment where I thought I would end my life, I encountered Nichiren Buddhism.

Throughout his life, my father searched for meaning, and as a child, I went with him on his journey of exploring different religions and philosophies. I inherited his seeking spirit, and when a friend introduced me to chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo and Nichiren Buddhism in 2008, I felt as if I was finally home. I was overjoyed realizing I already possess the ability to overcome any deadlock in my life and that chanting was and is the key to unlocking the power of my life.

With my most sincere efforts in practice, my anger turned to compassion and a deep gratitude began to fill the hole in my heart. I felt as though my quest to become truly happy was also impacting my deceased father, bathing him in waves of joy. The despair of having lost my father flowered into the most beautiful connection with his life. I was able to end my terminal romance with drugs and alcohol and find appropriate care for my mother. Today, she is highly functional, holds steady work and is a trusted member of her community. Starting anew, she and I began to piece together our relationship of mother and son. I now know the joy of having a mother.

As I studied the writings of SGI President Daisaku Ikeda, I strove to deeply understand the mentor-disciple relationship in Buddhism and transform my character to that of someone I could respect and be proud of. Seeing the changes in me, my wife also decided to begin practicing Nichiren Buddhism.

Seeking My Purpose

related article Starting the Fight for Peace in My Workplace Starting the Fight for Peace in My Workplace by  David Newbury,  UK [© James Jordan] For over 20 years I have been working in the world of Special Educational Needs (known as SEN). This refers to children who have learning difficulties arising from some kind of barrier or disability that impedes their capacity to learn in the normal way. Surprisingly, perhaps, there is much conflict over the education of children with SEN, arising in large part from parent We practice Buddhism to develop indestructible happiness. By the end of 2013, I found myself comfortable with my circumstances and had stopped challenging myself. Even though my family was healthy and we were steadily rebuilding our finances, I kept thinking to myself: “What is my purpose in this lifetime? Surely, there must be more to life than just existing!”

Throughout 2014, I immersed myself in the study of Nichiren’s writings and Daisaku Ikeda’s guidance and chanted with a determination to awaken to my life’s purpose before the year was out. I wanted to find a way to connect all the experiences of my life and give meaning to them.

During this process, I began to experience a deeper understanding of the mentor-disciple relationship—the path of self-development spurred by the teaching and inspiration of the mentor. It was within this process that many difficult memories surfaced from my childhood—vivid recollections of my mother being taken away in handcuffs, of tears streaming down my face as I ran after the police car confused, telling myself, “She’s only sick, she’s not a criminal.”

One after another, painful buried memories resurfaced—my mother’s tears and fear, sexual abuse resulting from being left in the care of so-called friends . . . I understood how this had fed a resentment toward my mother and cynicism toward society. I realized that I had never known how to place or make sense of my memories and emotions. It was my commitment to the path of mentor and disciple that enabled me to take responsibility for my life, stop blaming others for my suffering and clear the fog of resentment that was clouding my judgment.

Then, in December 2014, a friend working in prison reform was asked to take on the huge professional responsibility as head of the Florida Department of Corrections, and she asked me to join her as her senior advisor.

Initially, I was full of doubt, lacking confidence in my abilities. My fear was holding me back. Through abundant chanting, I realized that the culmination of all my experiences was manifesting in this opportunity to make a positive contribution to society. Individuals within the prison system are often caught up in repetitive cycles of suffering that include mental illness, substance abuse and child abuse. I had to break through my doubt and fear if I was to live up to my commitment to the path of mentor and disciple to which I had pledged myself. Realizing this provided me with the courage needed to make the decision to accept the job and not waste this golden opportunity.

A close-up shot of Abraham with two women and a man, all looking at the camera and smiling Abraham with fellow SGI members

For three years, I proudly served as the director of the Division of Development for the Florida Department of Corrections, overseeing hundreds of employees with the mission to direct the education and rehabilitation programming for nearly 250,000 people. I initiated a series of groundbreaking programs and reforms aimed at rehabilitating incarcerated people, treating them as human beings capable of transforming their lives as opposed to the incurable discards of society. In 2018, I began a new job with Florida State University, College of Social Work, Institute for Justice Research and Development, which researches solutions to crime and behavioral health issues, both nationally and internationally. I have also taken on leadership responsibility within SGI-USA to support members in Florida, Puerto Rico and 17 island nations of the Caribbean.

With a strong conviction in faith and a galvanized determination to confront all challenges, I am determined to continue to grow and make where I am peaceful and happy. Having begun this journey in desperation and despair, today my life is filled with happiness, purpose and gratitude.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top