从创伤阴影中绽放生命光彩

赫里特‧费尔斯特赫 荷兰

176

热门

荷兰国际创价学会(Soka Gakkai International,简称SGI)的会员赫里特‧费尔斯特赫(Gerrit Versteeg)发现语言隔阂经常让难民难以融入当地社会和重建他们的生活,便成立一项培养难民青年沟通技巧和自信心的计划,帮助他们在荷兰社会中立足。


赫里特的半身像

你是在什么样子的情况下想要为难民工作?

随着更多难民进入荷兰,特别是我的故乡代尔夫特,难民青年的人数亦不断上升,他们因为母国的战乱,多年来失去接受教育的机会。大约于10年前,荷兰的教育当局开始为他们提供特别课程,以收窄教育的差距。但是这些课程并不是很足够,而学生持续因为缺乏信心和表达自己的能力而烦恼不已。他们在战区的恐怖经历,影响他们吸收新资讯的能力,因为他们满脑子仍然充满战争的事情。

在几年前,一名叫杰伦‧范德齐伊德(Jeroen van der Zijde)的社工赞同并加入我的计划。我们开办一种为难民提供额外语言教学的特别课程,并教导他们如何在社会上自立自强的特别课程。

以你的学生为例,难民在荷兰社会以及学习荷兰语的过程中,面对什么困难?

最大的问题是,因为缺乏与当地同侪接触的机会,而导致缺乏口语沟通的技巧。例如,其中一名学生虽然已经在荷兰生活数年,但仍提到他最大的愿望就是能够拥有一位荷兰人朋友,而且他并非例外,实在是太令人感到遗憾了。

学生经常因为安全感,而只留在与自己相同种族、国家或宗教背景的圈子生活,这现象导致他们更加觉得自己与荷兰社会格格不入。有些人因为无法融入,最终决定离开荷兰,前往叙利亚和伊拉克,投身战争。令人遗憾的是,在那些离开荷兰,投身战争的人之比率当中,有相当大的部分来自代尔夫特。

你决定将戏剧融入语言教育之中的理念是什么?最初有怎样的结果?

语言剧场的学生在代尔夫特市市政府职员的介绍下参观市政府的各个办公室 代尔夫特市市政府办公室职员向学生解释他们的工作

在2014年,特别课程第一年的最后,学生的词汇量有明显的进步,但他们的沟通技巧仍然不佳,因此我们决定在第二年要更注重这方面的发展。为了达到该目标,我们安排了一位教戏剧的老师。这使到学生的自信和表达自我的能力有明显增长,但说话的流畅度仍然不如预期。

2016年,我们决定将重点放在让学生能够述说关于自己的故事。我们将这名为“语言剧场”,聚焦于通过戏剧课教授语言。

最初,一切都很混乱。学生的背景、年龄和教育程度太不一样了。这些来自索马里、厄立特里亚和叙利亚的青年男女,年龄介乎14至18岁,有人几乎不识字,也有人拥有高学历。这导致学生群组之间发生冲突和欺凌现象,有同学在课堂外,人身安全还遭到威胁。战争带来的影响在他们身上清晰可见。

你在这次经历中遇到怎样的挑战?你如何以佛法修行跨越这个挑战?

相关文章 “我是己心之师”:于监狱中释放变革的力量 “我是己心之师”:于监狱中释放变革的力量 萨卜拉・威廉斯  美国 国际创价学会会员萨卜拉・威廉斯是一名著名电影及电视演员。她曾经参演过《不可能的任务3》、美国广播公司的《找回公正》及美国哥伦比亚广播公司的《抢救生命线》。萨卜拉以演员和主持人的身分在英国成名之后,于2002年移居美国,并创建了演员帮剧团的“监狱计划”。 “监狱计划” 于2006年展开,采用的是源自意大利即兴喜剧、注重肢体表达的表演形式。“监狱计划”为加利福尼亚州监狱内的囚犯带来了巨大的改变,重返监狱的人数显著减少了。萨卜拉最近获得白宫“变革冠军”的殊荣。 我开始对任何可能变成冲突的征兆感到敏感,有时甚至会颤抖、讲不出话,影响我作为教师的表现。通过唱念“南无妙法莲华经”,我发现,首先我要接纳学生的母国烽火连天这个事实,鼓起勇气面对现实。之后,我明白到尽管背景和宗教信仰有所不同,我们仍然能够以真心回应真心,分享彼此的故事。

我们鼓励大家进行对话,打散各个小圈圈,将他们混在一起,使到来自不同背景的学生需要与彼此合作。最初,在这方面有很大的困难,因为原来的小圈圈为大家提供一份安全感,好比说,就有一名学生拒绝参与有被混合过的小组。后来才得知她失去了双亲以后,便逃离了自己的国家。与其坚持要她加入,我们给她时间自己下决定。后来她逐渐能够参与其中了。这件事让我们明白要关注每一位学生的情况。

语言剧场带来什么成果?

在语言剧场中,我们特别着重于让每一位学生都能够分享自己的故事。每一个故事都加强了他们之间的凝聚力,那是因为他们都开始将目光放更远,超越原属的小圈圈,发觉彼此都属于一个有共同需要和兴趣的社群。

每一个故事都加强了他们之间的凝聚力,那是因为他们都开始将目光放更远。

贯彻“将学校融入社会,亦将社会带进校园”的理念,我们在学年进行到一半的时候,邀请家长、市政府行政人员、少数民族的楷模,例如事业成功的索马里企业家和在联合国难民署工作的年轻叙利亚女子,来到学校。

在会面中,学生发表了各自的想法。我们便发现他们的家长往往都对子女带着较古板的期待,或者对他们的可能性带着较狭隘的看法。一般而言,那些家长都希望子女能够成为医生、教师、警察或足球选手。

之后,我们也邀请了医生、托儿中心的负责人、警察和市政府行政人员等不同专业的代表,接受学生访问和录影。

在2016-2017学年快结束时,学生上演了一出由他们自己编写、选角的舞台剧。学生的家人、学校的管理层和代尔夫特市的教育委员都出席了这场演出。在舞台剧开始前,每一位学生都以独白的形式,分享各自的故事或面对未来的愿望。

结论是这过程使学生在荷兰社会中取得自信,和掌握到非自己不可的使命感。当然,学生的父母也为他们感到十分骄傲。

最近的情况怎样?

语言剧场的学生、赫里特和戏剧老师的合照 语言剧场的学生、赫里特(中央)和戏剧老师(右一)

这个计划在学生之间、不同的民族之间、学生与教师之间、家长和政府之间,建立起积极正面的桥梁和理解。2016-2017学年的尾声,他们明显地更加尊重彼此的多样性,并更相信透过对话,能够解决个人或群体间的问题。

此外,学生的自主性亦有所加强。这反映在他们将自己的故事,写成舞台剧,并自己选择角色一事上。这个计划让学生们都获得了莫大的幸福,进而改善了他们的人生。当中有不少人之后都成功受到高等教育。

有份本地报章在其头版报导了语言剧场的故事,并刊登了一张学生围绕着代尔夫特市市长的合照。现在在代尔夫特市内,越来越多人意识到这类活动的重要性。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回页首

From Trauma to Drama

by Gerrit Versteeg, Netherlands

0

popularity

Recognizing that the language barrier often leaves refugees struggling to integrate and rebuild their lives, SGI-Netherlands member Gerrit Versteeg set up a program to equip young refugees with the communication skills and confidence to take their place in Dutch society.

Portrait of Gerrit

How did you begin working with refugees?

With more refugees entering the Netherlands, especially Delft, the city I am from, there has been an increase in the number of refugee youths who have missed many years of education because of war in their home countries. About a decade ago, Dutch education authorities began providing special classes to help close this gap. However, these classes have not always been sufficient, and students have continued to struggle with confidence and self-expression. Their often terrible experiences in war zones impact their ability to absorb new information—their minds are still full of war.

Some years ago, together with Jeroen van der Zijde, who took the initiative, and a social worker, we started a special class to provide additional language lessons to refugees, coupled with social empowerment lessons.

What kind of challenges do refugees such as the students you teach face in Dutch society and in learning Dutch?

The biggest problem is the lack of oral communication skills owing to a lack of contact with local peers. For example, one student who had already spent several years in the Netherlands mentioned to me that his greatest wish was to have a Dutch friend. He is not an exception. How very sad.

Students themselves often stay within their own ethnic, national or religious circles for security, which compounds their sense of exclusion from mainstream Dutch society. Because of this feeling of exclusion, some have ended up leaving the country to take part in the war in Syria and Iraq. The sad reality is that a sizable proportion of those who leave the Netherlands to do this have come from Delft.

You began incorporating drama into language teaching. What was the idea behind this, and what were the initial results?

Language Theater students being shown the offices of the Delft municipality by a municipal worker A member of the Delft municipality office staff explains the work of the office to the students

At the end of the first year of our special class, in 2014, the students’ vocabulary had significantly improved, but their communication skills were still very poor. We decided in the second year to give more attention to this, and to this end, a drama teacher was appointed. That led to a clear improvement in students’ self-confidence and ability to express themselves, but their language fluency remained below the desired level.

In 2016, we decided to focus on enabling the students to tell their own stories. We called this the “Language Theater,” with a clear focus on teaching language through drama lessons.

Initially, it was chaotic. The backgrounds, ages and educational levels of the students were too diverse. We had Somali, Eritrean and Syrian boys and girls between the ages of 14 and 18, ranging from nearly illiterate to highly educated. This led to conflict and bullying between groups of students, including physical threats outside the classroom. The effects of war were clearly apparent in their lives.

How did this whole experience challenge you personally, and how did you use your Buddhist practice to confront that challenge?

related article “I Am Master of My Mind”: Unleashing the Power of Transformation in Prisons “I Am Master of My Mind”: Unleashing the Power of Transformation in Prisons by  Sabra Williams,  USA Sabra Williams is an SGI member and a successful film and television actor, whose career includes credits in Mission Impossible III and recurring roles in ABC’s Injustice and CBS’s Three Rivers. After making her mark as an actress and TV presenter in the UK, Sabra moved to the US in 2002, where she created the Actors’ Gang Prison Project. Launched in 2006, the project employs highly physical theatrical techniques based on the emotive 16th-century Italian “people’s theater” culture of commedia dell’arte. The work has proved transformative for inmates of the California prison system and has significantly reduced recidivism rates. Sabra was recently honored as a Champion of Change by the White House. I became extremely sensitive to any sign of aggression, to the point that it sometimes interfered with my performance as a teacher—I would physically tremble and find it difficult to speak. Through chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, I realized first of all that I had to accept their war zone condition as a fact, gain courage and deal with it. Then I realized that despite our different backgrounds and religions, we could still create real heart-to-heart connections with each other and share our lives.

We encouraged dialogue and mixed the groups so that students from different backgrounds would have to work together. Initially, this was difficult because the groups offered a kind of safety. One student, for example, refused to join a mixed group. We discovered she had fled her country after she had lost both parents. Instead of insisting, we gave her time to make her own choice, and gradually she was able to take part in the mixed group. This incident taught us to pay attention to the personal situation of each student.

What results did the Language Theater yield?

In the Language Theater, attention was given to each student to enable them to tell their own story. Each student’s story strengthened solidarity among the students, as each began to look beyond their own group and see themselves as part of the larger community with common needs and interests.

Each student’s story strengthened solidarity among the students, as each began to look beyond their own group.

In line with our principle of “put the school in the society and the society in the school,” halfway through the year parents, municipal administrators and role models from the ethnic communities—for example, a successful Somali entrepreneur and a young Syrian woman who works for UNHCR—were invited to the school.

During the meeting, the students voiced their own perspectives, and it became clear that parents often have quite rigid expectations of their children or limited views of their possibilities. Typically, they want their children to become doctors, teachers, police officers or soccer players.

We then invited representatives of several professions—doctors, leaders of a childcare center, a police officer and a municipal administrator—to be interviewed and filmed by the students.

At the end of the 2016–17 school year, the students presented a play that they themselves had written and for which they had chosen their own roles. It was attended by their family members, the school management and the councillor for education of the city of Delft. Prior to the play, each student presented a monologue in which they shared their own story or wish for the future.

The result of this process was that the students gained self-confidence in Dutch society and a strong sense of their own unique mission. And, of course, their parents were very proud.

How are things now?

Group photo of the Language Theater students with Gerrit and their drama teacher The Language Theater students with Gerrit (center) and their drama teacher (far right)

The project created positive connections and understanding between students and between the different ethnic groups, as well as between the students and teachers, parents and authorities. By the end of the 2016–17 school year, they had significantly more respect for diversity and a lot more confidence that personal or group problems can be solved through dialogue.

It was also clear that it had enhanced the students’ autonomy, as seen in the way they turned their own stories into a play and chose their own roles. The project generated a great deal of happiness among the students and led to improvements in their personal lives. Many were able to successfully progress on to higher education.

A local paper ran a front-page story on the Language Theater, with a picture of the mayor of Delft surrounded by the students. Within the municipality of Delft there is now a growing awareness of the importance of these initiatives.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top