淬鍊出堅不可摧的精神力量

吉姆・理查茲 美國

164

熱門

吉姆‧理查茲(Jim Richards)談及自己如何與肌肉營養不良症(或稱肌肉萎縮症、肌肉失養症)拼搏,並在過程中自覺使命感,下定決心要度過最充實的人生。


吉姆‧理查茲與他的孩子們 吉姆・理查茲(中間)與他的孩子們(從左到右)佐薇、奧奇德、齊尼斯和奧菲厄斯(© Marc Giannavola)

在1980年代,我參與了美國SGI大型活動中的體操特技表演。我們穿著滑輪鞋(或稱溜冰鞋)搭建了一座人體金字塔,我位在金字塔底層。來自上端的重量幾乎難以承受,我想放棄,但又不能辜負我的伙伴。當時,我感受到潛藏在內的力量,這成為我日後成功的秘訣。

1993年,我突然失去進行日常活動的體力。經過約15年間各種錯誤的檢驗和治療,包括手術、肝臟活檢(或稱肝臟生檢、肝臟活組織切片檢查)及肌肉電擊,我最終在2009年被診斷患有肌肉營養不良症,這個疾病導致我的肌肉逐漸萎縮衰弱。

身為四個孩子的爸爸,連擁抱他們如此簡單的動作都會使我失去重心跌落在地。如果風太大甚至無法走動。還記得外出時我都沒辦法坐下,因為很難再站起來。不管到哪裡我都深感恐懼。

在診斷出來前,我為了使病情消失而唱念「南無妙法蓮華經(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)」(唱題)。然而,我現在面對的是無法醫治,逐漸惡化的疾病。我該如何為這一個新的情況唱題呢?

疾病宛如落在肩上的人體金字塔般沉重無比。不過,我努力發掘繼續前進的決心、希望和勇氣,不僅是為了自己,也是為家人、學會會員與我的學生。

吉姆・理查茲在他的桌前 (© Marc Giannavola)

當我在學會裡擔任領導的職務,被賦予支持他人的責任時,我開始從充實的活動或拜訪會員的過程中獲得喜悅。親眼目睹友人開始積極修行或曾經需要被鼓勵的人們正在鼓勵他人,都使我深受鼓舞。

疾病成為嚴厲的導師,讓我發覺人生的意義。

日蓮曾寫道:「南無妙法蓮華經如師子吼,任何病障不足為禍。」懷著對「南無妙法蓮華經」的強盛信念,我下定決心不讓任何事或病情的惡化影響我的幸福。無論如何,我都要度過充實的人生。

疾病成為嚴厲的導師,讓我發覺人生的意義。

我仍然有陷入絕望的日子,但從國際創價學會會長池田大作的著作中學到我們總是能選擇希望。他說:「有時生病會成為反省自己、審視生命與人生的良機。與病魔抗爭才能體會人生的表裡,鍛鍊不屈的毅力。」體悟此道理後,我皆能在動搖時擺脫負面情緒,找回自己的自信。

工作方面,我在一所嚴謹的國際學校獲得同事的敬重。我在該校教授青少年美術已有約25年。自發病以來,我缺勤不到10天。

在家中,正值青年的四個孩子皆有卓越的發展,各自追尋自己的職業生涯,他們分別是攝影師、企業家、時裝設計師及新聞工作者。令我驚喜且欣慰的是,他們最近聚在一起唱題,並分享人生中所面臨的挑戰。身為他們的父親,沒有什麼比這更令我高興。

相關文章 為我量身訂製的疾病 為我量身訂製的疾病 安妮‧奧沙利文  愛爾蘭 對於安妮‧奧沙利文而言,克羅恩病是癒合她生命深處的催化劑。 我每天也在我當地的學會組織作為領導人努力奮鬥著。

度過20餘年的教師生涯後,想嘗試新事物的想法開始萌芽。在為迎接新的挑戰唱題時,學校提供了大筆獎金,讓我可以在學年末退休。現在我有時間投入繪畫原創作品,這是我長久以來的夢想!

2019年,我度過了七十歲生日。我很開心、健康、堅忍不拔且充滿年輕活力,身邊圍繞著珍貴的家人與朋友。我已迫不及待展開下一場冒險。

來源: 2019年3月8日美國SGI刊物《世界聖報》

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

Forging Invincible Spiritual Strength

by Jim Richards, USA

1715

popularity

Jim Richards talks about how his battle with muscular dystrophy awakened him to a strong sense of purpose and strengthened his determination to live life to the fullest.

Jim Richards with his children Jim Richards (center) with his children (from left) Zoë, Orchid, Zenith and Orpheus [© Marc Giannavola]

In the 1980s, I was part of a gymnastics stunt at a large SGI-USA activity. We built a human pyramid on roller skates, and I was at the bottom level. I felt like giving up due to the seemingly unbearable weight on top of me, but I couldn’t let my friends above me down. Somehow, I found a pocket of inner strength. This would become a formula for my success in later years.

In 1993, I began experiencing a sudden loss of strength to perform normal tasks. Incorrect tests and treatments followed for some 15 years, including surgeries, liver biopsies and electric shocks to muscles. Finally, in 2009, I was diagnosed with muscular dystrophy, which causes progressive muscular weakness and atrophy.

As a dad of four children, the simple act of hugging them would throw me off balance and cause me to fall. If the winds were too strong, I couldn’t walk. I remember going places and not being able to sit down because it would have been too hard to get up. I was gripped with fear everywhere I went.

Before my diagnosis, I had been chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo for my condition to just go away. But now I was dealing with a progressive disease that had no cure. How could I chant about my new reality?

Like the human pyramid resting on my shoulders, the weight of my disease was heavy. But I dug deep to find the determination, hope and courage to move forward, not just for my sake, but for my family, fellow SGI members and students.

Jim Richards at his desk [© Marc Giannavola]

When I took on a leadership position in the SGI, entrusted with the responsibility to support others, I began feeling moments of joy from a wonderful meeting or a visit with a fellow member. I was very encouraged when I saw my friends’ practice ignite or when people who once needed encouragement were now encouraging others.

The illness became my strict teacher, awakening my sense of purpose in life.

Nichiren writes: “Nam-myoho-renge-kyo is like the roar of a lion. What sickness can therefore be an obstacle?” Armed with confidence in the power of chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, I determined not to allow any turn of events or deterioration of my condition to affect my happiness. I was going to live a full life no matter what.

The illness became my strict teacher, awakening my sense of purpose in life.

I still wake up some days feeling despair, but I have learned from SGI President Daisaku Ikeda’s writings that hope is always a decision. He says: “Illness can motivate us to take stock of ourselves, to reflect on the essence of life and our way of living. Through struggling with illness, we can gain a much fuller understanding of life and forge invincible spiritual strength.” Understanding this, I’m able to shake off the negativity and re-center myself each time.

At work, I have gained the respect of my colleagues at a rigorous international school, where I have taught art courses to youth for about 25 years. Since the onset of my illness, I have missed less than 10 days on the job.

In my family, all four of my children are now thriving young adults pursuing their unique career paths as a photographer, entrepreneur, fashion designer and journalist. To my surprise and delight, they got together recently to chant and share something they were each challenging in their life. As a parent, this makes me the happiest.

related article Discovering My Abilities Discovering My Abilities by  Blandina Happiness Sembu,  Tanzania As a single mother who had lost her right arm in an accident, Blandina Happiness Sembu faced severe challenges. She describes how her Buddhist practice has given her the confidence and courage to tackle all her problems as well as her work as a spokesperson for women with disabilities in Tanzania. I also strive each day as a leader within my local Buddhist organization.

After teaching for over two decades, I felt something new stirring inside of me. As I chanted to embark on my next challenge, my school offered me a large bonus to retire at the end of the school year. I now have the chance to dedicate my time to painting original work, my long-held dream!

In 2019, I celebrated my 70th birthday. I’m happy, healthy, unbowed, surrounded by treasures of friends and family and filled with the spirit of youth. I can’t wait for my next adventure to unfold.

Adapted from an article in the March 8, 2019, issue of the World Tribune, SGI-USA.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top