为世界添上色彩

罗纳尔多‧罗布莱斯 巴西

155

热门

罗纳尔多‧罗布莱斯(Ronaldo Robles)想为他人的生命添上色彩、燃起希望。他相信艺术具有变革的力量,这份信念将他从巴西圣保罗的贫民窟,带到希腊的难民营。


罗纳尔多与其太太西尔维娅挂着幸福的笑脸 罗纳尔多与其太太西尔维娅(©Rafael Soares)

你的童年生活是怎样度过?

在我的童年,妈妈一直都抱有精神健康的问题。我5岁时,她被送往精神科医院,并留院9个月。妈妈不断进出医院,让我们兄弟俩非常困惑。因为父母已经分开了,爸爸也不在身边。当时医院不容许儿童探病,妈妈住院时我也不能探望她。

我记得母亲节时,心情非常难过。我的朋友都在为妈妈绘画和制作礼物,而我在制作时却忆起自己的家庭状况,心中充满了疑问:为什么妈妈不在自己身边?为何我会在这个家庭中出生?当我回到家,妈妈不在,但我却有礼物想要送给她。于是我把礼物送给祖母,因为她一直照料我们兄弟俩。

我的祖母介绍了佛法给我。她宅心仁慈,当时我们一贫如洗,所以她拼命工作。记得深夜时,她哄我们睡觉后,我会听到她唱念“南无妙法莲华经”,那就是我童年时的美好回忆。

你童年时在佛法中学到什么?这对你现在的生活有什么影响?

对我来说,在我社区中的佛教聚会就好像一个和平花园。看到大家一起唱歌、一起唱题、一起分享自己的生活,令我很窝心和轻松。听到他们的体验,使我明白到自己并非唯一一个抱有烦恼的人。

相关文章 爱的治疗 爱的治疗 苏美霞  香港 苏美霞,香港,情绪病,幻觉,忧郁,唱题, 学会,佛法 一般来说,人们对于不同事情都会高谈阔论,但却甚少谈及人生。在这些聚会中,人们会实实在在地讨论人生,正因为身边一直围绕着这类谈话,我开始明白到,没有人的人生是没有烦恼的。听到别人如何面对自身的烦恼时,使我变得坚强,给我希望,使我相信总有一天一切都会变好,相信总有一天母亲也会康复。

我亦有参与巴西国际创价学会(SGI)的青年管乐队,负责吹奏小号。能够置身其中,实在太好了!皆因我们穷困不堪,根本没有半点机会,就读一些教导音乐和其他艺术的好学校。

参与管乐队的活动,我开始觉得可以透过艺术来表达自己。我首次发现,自己能够以吹奏小号让人欢喜。那是我开始想能够做点事触动他人的生命,为他人带来喜悦的开端。即使我不懂可以怎样做到这一点,但我祈愿可以创造价值和希望,也许就是因为自己的祈愿,艺术走进了我的人生。

你是如何成为一位艺术家?

妈妈和叔叔拥有一所制衣厂,于是我开始画设计草图素描,18岁时我更利用剩下的布料制作衣服,大受欢迎。之后,我创办了小企业,却在90年代的经济危机中关门大吉。

青年与罗纳尔多在贫民窟的房屋和围墙涂上色彩 罗纳尔多与青年一起为一间贫民窟的房屋绘画(©Carla Venuso)

公司倒闭后,我决定移居伦敦,并找到一份园境美化师(或称:庭园美化师)的工作。在英国,园境美化是一种艺术。人们会以其美丽的花园为傲。我喜欢这份工作,不单是赚取金钱,而是想为英国社会做点有价值的事情。

我决定要留在英国,但在这时祖母中风,于是我回到巴西照顾她。我希望在回去后能做些有用的事,就如在英国当园境美化师一样改变环境,我也可以为贫民窟的房屋涂上颜色、绘画,改善当地的环境。最初,我孤身作战,但在贫民窟有很多青年,所以我邀请他们与我同行。

社区渐渐蜕变。我们在房屋上绘画的颜色和图案,营造了幸福的环境,而且暴力事件亦减少。数份报章和电视报导我为一位做好事的艺术家,什至开始有其他艺术家联络我。这令我逐步融入巴西的艺术界。

那时候,我遇到了我的妻子西尔维娅(Silvia)。她具有马戏团表演、戏剧、舞蹈和灯光设计的经验。2002年,我们创立了皮影戏公司“西亚‧夸塞剧场”(Cia Quase Cinema),其中一个理念就是将艺术带到贫穷的社区。

这个理念源自我的童年时代,促使我决定赴难民营,与那里的儿童接触。他们的情况比我更恶劣。他们面对饥饿,没有地方住,没有课堂上,而且父母更在战争中死去。

SGI会长池田大作2016年的《和平倡言》谈及为难民行动,就像他对我说:“罗纳尔多,为这些儿童做点事情,因为你了解他们的处境。”正因为我人生中有着这切身经历,所以我必须采取行动。

你是怎样决定要去希腊的难民营?

难民儿童观看皮影戏表演 皮影戏带来的魔法(©Cyrus Moussavi)

三年前,我和妻子赴德国参与国际皮影戏节。得悉当地的艺术家朋友会在隔周到叙利亚,为流离失所的儿童开办工作坊。我们深受他的启发,他将生命置之度外,前往战争地区,为儿童燃起希望。

数个月后,池田SGI会长发表了《和平倡言》,这成为我们决定前往难民营的转捩点。我们做了些调查,找到一个国际性的木偶剧团体“国际木偶剧联盟”(Union Internationale de la Marionnette)。此团体不但介绍了一些可以安排让我们进出难民营的希腊艺术家,而且为我们提供翻译,帮助我们营运活动。

你在2016年7月到达希腊,当时难民营的情况是怎样?

你可切身感受到,看到战争的影响。这是我们从来无法想象过的。比雷埃夫斯港(Port Piraeus)的难民营是难民的主要入境点,也是我们到访过最恶劣的营地──令人惶恐不安的地方。

在这个营地中,约有3000人住在帐篷中,却只有4间流动公厕。一些帐篷中居住了2个或3个家庭。一些儿童是没有父母。我没法想象一个4、5岁的儿童如何在没有父母,独自一人的情况下,在那里生活。

当地的儿童对你有什么反应?

罗纳尔多、西尔维娅和难民儿童一起表演皮影戏 在希腊的比雷埃夫斯难民营,全神贯注地演出皮影戏(©Cyrus Moussavi)

我们在表演皮影戏时,孩子们都兴奋得无法静下来坐着看。他们走到我们在表演的屏幕后,拿起纸偶并参与表演。他们都一起玩耍、开怀大笑,场面混乱,却充满喜悦。结束后,他们把纸偶放回原位,十分尊重我们,真是太了不起了!

我们亦为他们举办素描和绘画工作坊,提供纸张、硬纸板和剪刀,让他们制作自己的皮影戏纸偶。之后,他们利用火把进行自己的皮影戏剧场。

我们将巴西创价学园的学生为难民儿童制作的皮影戏纸偶送给他们。因为没有足够的纸偶送给所有儿童,所以决定送给最年幼的儿童们。有一个约11岁的小女孩,没收到纸偶而开始哭泣,因为她很希望能结交一位巴西朋友。我感到很对不起她,所以我送她一朵由创价学园学生制作的纸花。她因为得到这张纸花感到高兴不已,她真的好开心。难民儿童连纸和笔都没有,真的没有任何东西。这令我明白我们必须做更多事情,不能容许这种由战争造成的局面继续下去

你打算继续这份工作吗?

我们现时计划前往有更稳定难民人口的非洲或海地,仍然希望将艺术带给更多人,为他们燃起一点希望、增添一份美。在难民身上得到的,远比付出多。能够与他们相遇,并代表所有想做这些工作而做不到的人,实在荣幸之至。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回页首

Adding Color to the World

by Ronaldo Robles, Brazil

3725

popularity

Ronaldo Robles wants to add color and hope to the lives of others. His belief in the transformative power of art has taken him from the slums of São Paulo in Brazil to refugee camps in Greece.

Ronaldo and his wife Silvia smiling happily Ronaldo and his wife Silvia Godoy [© Rafael Soares]

What was life like for you as a child?

Throughout my childhood, my mother had mental health problems. When I was five years old, she was admitted to a psychiatric hospital for nine months. She was in and out of the hospital; it was very confusing for me and my brother. Because my parents had split up, my father wasn’t around. When my mama was in the hospital, I couldn’t see her because, in those days, children weren’t allowed to visit.

I remember Mother’s Day was very difficult because all my friends at school did drawings and made gifts for their mothers. As I made the gifts and did the drawings, I thought about my family situation. I had many questions about why my mother wasn’t around and why I had been born into this family. When I arrived home, my mama wasn’t there, but I had these gifts to give. I gave them to my grandmother because she was taking care of my brother and me.

My grandmother was the one who introduced us to Buddhism. She was so kind. We were very poor, so she had to work extremely hard. And I remember, late at night after she had put us to bed, I would hear her chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo. That is a good memory from my childhood.

What did you learn from Buddhism as a child? How has it impacted the way you live today?

The Buddhist meetings in our local area were like a peace garden for me. Seeing people singing, people chanting, people talking about their lives, it was very warm and comfortable. Hearing their stories made me feel like I was not the only one who had problems.

related article Buddhism in Cuba Buddhism in Cuba by  Joannet Delgado, general director,  SGI-Cuba Joannet Delgado, general director of SGI-Cuba, shares her journey of discovering Nichiren Buddhism and how it took root in her country. People talk about many things, but rarely about life. At these meetings, people really talked about life, and just by being around these kinds of conversations, I started to understand you cannot have a life without problems. Hearing how people faced their problems made me stronger and gave me hope that one day it was going to be OK, that one day my mother would be better.

I also played the trumpet in the SGI-Brazil youth brass band. It was great to have that opportunity. Because we were poor, we had no chance to go to the good schools where they taught music and other arts.

Because of the band, I started to feel like I could express myself through art. I could play my trumpet to make people happy, and it was the beginning of me thinking I wanted to do something to touch people’s lives and bring them happiness. Even though I didn’t know how I could do this, I chanted to be able to create value and hope, and perhaps this is what brought art into my life.

How did you become an artist?

My mother and my uncle had a clothes factory. I started sketching designs, and when I was 18, I began to create clothes from offcuts, which became quite popular. I started my own small business, but it died during the economic crises of the 90s.

Youth and Ronaldo add color to a favela house and its boundary wall Ronaldo with youth painting one of the houses in the favelas [© Carla Venuso]

When that happened, I decided to move to London and found work as a landscape gardener. In the UK, landscape gardening is a kind of art. People there take pride in their beautiful gardens. I liked this job because I wanted to do something of value for English society, not just earn money.

I decided I was going to stay in the UK, but then my grandmother had a stroke, so I returned to Brazil to be with her. I wanted to do something useful while I was back, and I thought, in the same way landscape gardening in the UK could change the environment, I could paint the houses in the favelas—the slum areas—to improve the environment there. First, I was doing it by myself, but there were a lot of young people in that environment, so I invited them to join me.

The community started to change. The colors and the images we painted on the houses created a happier environment, and violence decreased. Several newspapers and the TV featured me as an artist doing good things; then other artists began contacting me. This is how I became involved in the Brazilian art world.

Around this time, I met my wife, Silvia. Her experience is in circus, theater, dance and lighting design. In 2002, we started our shadow theater company, Cia Quase Cinema. One of our focuses is taking art to poorer communities.

It all goes back to my childhood. This is the reason I decided to go to the refugee camps, to the children there. They are worse off than I was. They are hungry, they have no houses to live in, no schools to go to, and their parents have been taken by war.

When SGI President Daisaku Ikeda talked about doing something for refugees in his 2016 peace proposal, it was like he was saying to me “Ronaldo, do something for the children, because you know how it is.” It is because I have this experience very deep in my life that I had to act.

How did you decide to go to the refugee camps of Greece?

Refugee children watching a shadow theater performance The magic of shadow theater, Piraeus refugee camp, Greece [© Cyrus Moussavi]

Three years ago, my wife and I went to the international shadow theater festival in Germany. An artist friend there was going to Syria the following week to run workshops for displaced children. We were very inspired by him—putting his life at risk, going into a war zone to give hope to the children there.

A few months later, President Ikeda’s peace proposal came out. That was the turning point; we decided we had to go. We did some research and found UNIMA (the Union Internationale de la Marionnette), an international puppetry organization. They introduced us to Greek artists who organized access to the camps, provided translators and helped us run the activities.

You arrived in Greece in July 2016. What were the camps like?

You could feel and see the impact of what it is like to be in a war. We could not have imagined this before. The holding camp in Port Piraeus, a major entry point for refugees, was the worst camp we went to. It was a very tense place.

At this camp, there were around 3,000 people living in tents and only four container bathrooms. Some tents accommodated two or three families. Some of the children had no parents; I cannot imagine what it must be like to be a four- or five-year-old child by yourself there, without parents.

How did the children react to you?

Ronaldo, Silvia and refugee children doing a shadow theater performance Engrossed in the world of shadow puppetry, Piraeus refugee camp, Greece [© Cyrus Moussavi]

When we put on the shows, the children got so excited that they couldn’t just sit and watch. They came behind the screen where we were performing and picked up the puppets and joined in! They played and laughed—it was chaos, but a lot of fun. And at the end they put the puppets back where they had found them. They were full of respect for us. It was incredible.

We also did drawing and painting workshops with them. We gave them paper, cardboard and scissors so they could make their own puppets. Then they used torches to do their own shadow theater.

We gave the children puppets made for them by the students of the Soka School of Brazil. We didn’t have enough to give to each child, so we decided to give them to the youngest children only. There was this one girl, she was about 11, and she started to cry because she hadn’t received one—she so wanted to have a Brazilian friend. I really felt badly for her, so I took one flower made by the Soka students and gave it to her. She was so happy to have this piece of paper, she was just so pleased with it. Refugee children don’t even have paper and pens, they really have nothing. That really made me understand that we have to do more; we can’t allow this kind of situation caused by war to continue.

Do you plan to continue this work?

We are now thinking about going to Africa or Haiti where there are more stable refugee populations. We still want to take art to the people and bring them a little hope and beauty. We have gained more from the refugees than we have given them. It was our privilege to meet them and also to represent all people who would like to do this kind of thing but can’t.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top