演繹夢想的人生

耶斯佩爾‧奧勒‧費特‧安德烈森 丹麥

229

熱門

耶斯佩爾的肖像照 (©Marine Gastineau)

我從小就讀一所位於丹麥郊外的寄宿學校,父母都是該校的教師。我的童年既歡樂又無憂無慮,所有事情對我來說都唾手可得。因此,我的結論是人生的目的就只是要多交朋友,過得開心。對宗教一點興趣都沒有,甚至抱著懷疑的態度。

為了實現成為演員的夢想,我在二十多歲的時候搬到丹麥的首都。我認為演戲很有趣,而且自以為只要演得好,所有人就會喜歡我,然後就可以出名,開心到老。但是我很快發現,演藝圈的競爭激烈殘酷。光是想要考進戲劇學校,就要付出極大努力。

我對此感到十分不適應,因為一直以來,我都能夠開個玩笑,然後就得到想要的。一夕之間,我再也無法這樣子了,這使我開始懷疑自己,人生第一次感到忐忑不安,覺得自己其實沒有深度,但是又看不起周圍的人事物,同時又不斷苛責自己。我變得無法相信人,並將自己的負面情緒歸咎於他們。

我沒考上心目中的戲劇學校。翌年,我報名一所不同種類,為期一年,專攻電影和電視的戲劇學校。那是在2008年,亦是我值遇日蓮佛法的那一年。作為一個喜歡交際應酬的人,我在一場派對上認識到佛法。當時凌晨4點,一位年輕的女士告訴我她是佛教徒,並問我有沒有興趣參加聚會。

相關文章 井上兄弟──為時尚設計合乎道德的未來 井上兄弟──為時尚設計合乎道德的未來 井上聰、井上清史  丹麥、英國 井上聰和井上清史這對兄弟是國際創價學會(簡稱:SGI)會員,兩人成立了「井上兄弟」(The Inoue Brothers)設計與美術工作室,他們說:「時尚不能被大量生產」。採訪中,井上兄弟分享了他們的自創品牌背後的概念及對未來時尚界的期望。兩人熱愛日本文化的感性以及北歐文化的簡樸風格,於是於2004年設立了「井上兄弟」,把兩個文化融合起來,將之稱為「北歐-亞洲設計」。 我去了。在那場聚會中,我首次唱念「南無妙法蓮華經」,並即時感到一股積極正面的能量。因為我親身體會到這個佛法的力量,所以便開始參加國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)的聚會。SGI會長池田大作的以下指導特別激勵我:「不管過去如何,至今又如何,不需要在意。重要的是,現在要播什麼樣的種子。」我以這段指導為根本,開始努力變革自己。

儘管這看來只是第二選擇,我仍決定要申請就讀教育系。身為兩名教師的兒子,我曾發誓自己一定不要走這條路。但在學習創價學會第一任會長牧口常三郎和第二任會長戶田城聖的教育理念和貢獻之心以後,深受啟發,浮現想執教鞭的念頭。最後,我考進了哥本哈根大學學院的教育系。

2014年,我找到一份在寄宿學校的工作,但內心突然之間又開始懷疑自己──有時候我仍然會記掛演戲的夢想,那這樣的自己是否適合教育工作?是否應該放下一切,再次追尋當演員的夢想?為了摸索出方向,我不斷認真唱題。就在此時,我前往日本參加SGI青年研修會。我爭取機會,向前輩請教該如何解決內心的矛盾兩難。前輩鼓勵道,要在工作中發揮出百分之一百二十的力量,並建議,說不定我可以用演技為課堂增添趣味。

回到丹麥後,才發現新職場已分崩離析:學校副校長已辭職,留下一大筆債務;17名學生涉嫌吸毒,已被遣送回家。然而,我緊記池田SGI會長的指導,即使一切都混亂不已,我堅信自己有著重大的使命,要將所有煩惱和痛苦轉化為幸福,實踐佛法的根本精神「變毒為藥」。

經過了兩年,職場情況否極泰來。隨著領導層出現人事異動,同事團結一致,學校的未來變得明朗。在此時,我與學校的合約即將結束,演戲的夢想再次浮現於眼前,但這一次我的抱負不一樣了:如果要演,就要通過演戲,為身邊的人帶來幸福和喜悅,而非得到讚揚或名聲。我決心要成為一個菩薩,也就是行為舉止富同理心,並致力幫助人群獲得幸福的人。今後不管我從事任何工作,目標都會是以佛法為根本,創造幸福。

耶斯佩爾熱烈地與朋友交談 (©Marine Gastineau)

就在合約到期的兩個星期前,突然有家電影公司聯繫我,希望我去為新的兒童節目《青春校園》(暫譯)(Klassen)中的一個小角色試鏡,角色是體育老師。當時我心想:「這真奇怪!我現在身材那麼差!」況且,令人覺得出奇的是,這個角色就像是為我量身訂造一樣,因為在現實中身為老師的我,可以演得得心應手。能夠在電視上演老師,讓我實現了當演員的夢想,而我也成功獲得這個角色。自從我開始當演員以後,有幸能夠與一些從小就很崇拜的喜劇演員一起演出。同時,我甚至可以回那所寄宿學校教書,在業餘時間繼續演戲。

能有機會告訴孩子們說他們是世界的主人翁,以及教導他們不要當只掃門前雪的人,是我的榮幸。與此同時,還有機會在演戲的時候,當大家的開心果,為人帶來歡笑。這個體驗證明,人生中的所有人事物環環相扣,一切都有它的意義。池田SGI會長在著作中教導,要珍惜自己和家人,透過作好公民及取得身邊的人的信任,得到社會的尊重,為社區的繁榮作出貢獻。他強調,佛法與我們的日常生活密不可分。

佛法讓我明白人生不一定是非黑即白的。我是演員的同時,也是教師。我依然確信人生的目的就是要多交朋友,過得開心,但我也做好了準備,面對挑戰,實現夢想。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

Acting Out the Dream Life

by Jesper Ole Feit Andersen, Denmark

2316

popularity

Portrait of Jesper Ole Feit Andersen [© Marine Gastineau]

I grew up in a boarding school in the Danish countryside, where my parents were both teachers. My childhood was fun and carefree, everything came easily to me. I came to the conclusion that being social and having fun were all that life was about. In no way did I care about religion and was suspicious of what it had to offer.

In my 20s, I moved to the capital in order to pursue my dream of becoming an actor. I thought acting was fun and if I became really good at it, everybody would love me. I would become famous and thereby happy for the rest of my life. But I soon discovered that the competition to succeed in the entertainment business was hard and fierce. Even getting into one of the acting schools meant putting in a lot of effort and actually working hard!

To me, this was very unnatural. Normally, I could just joke around, and somehow I would get what I wanted. Suddenly, this was no longer the case. It led me to have a lot of self-doubt, and for the first time, I felt uneasy and unsure of myself. The consequence was that I felt shallow, grew arrogant toward my surroundings and was hard on myself. I felt suspicious of others and blamed them for my bad feelings.

I didn’t get into acting school, but the following year, I applied to a different kind of acting school, one with a focus on film and TV. I got in, but the course was only for a year. This was 2008, which was also the year I encountered Nichiren Buddhism. As a festive guy who likes to socialize, I learned about Buddhism at a party at four o’clock in the morning from a young woman who told me she was a Buddhist and asked me if I wanted to go to a meeting.

related article Dynamic by Design Dynamic by Design by  Hung-Cheng Lin and Mariko Terao Two designers, from Taiwan and Japan respectively, discuss their profession and how their Buddhist practice influences their approach to work. At that meeting, I chanted Nam-myoho-renge-kyo for the first time and had an immediate positive feeling. I concluded that this was something for me and began attending SGI meetings. I found these words from SGI President Daisaku Ikeda especially encouraging: “There’s no need for us to be held back by the past or how things have been so far. The important thing is what seeds we are sowing now for the future.” On the basis of this, I began making efforts to change.

I applied to become a teacher even though it felt like a second choice. Being the son of two teachers, I had sworn that I would never become one myself. However, learning about the educational ideals and dedication of first and second Soka Gakkai presidents Tsunesaburo Makiguchi and Josei Toda inspired me to want to teach, and I was accepted into the Teacher Education course at University College Copenhagen.

In 2014, I was offered a job at a boarding school. But, all of a sudden, I was hit by self-doubt. I wondered if teaching was for me. I still sometimes dreamed of acting. Should I stop everything and go back to my dream of becoming an actor? I chanted a lot for clarity. During this time, I participated in an SGI youth seminar in Japan. I took the opportunity to ask a senior in faith about my dilemma. I was encouraged to give 120 percent to my job, and it was suggested that maybe I could use my acting skills to spice up the classes.

I returned to Denmark to find my new workplace shattered. The vice-principal had quit, leaving the school in huge debt, and 17 of the students had been sent home after being accused of taking drugs. Everything was in chaos, but with President Ikeda’s guidance in mind, I found myself with a deep sense of mission and determination to transform all this suffering into happiness and to actualize the fundamental Buddhist principle of changing poison into medicine.

Two years later, the situation at my workplace had changed completely. With a transition in leadership and the support of my colleagues, the future looked bright. At the same time, my contract at the school was about to end. Once again, my dream of acting resurfaced. But this time my ambition was very different. If I was going to act, it would be to create happiness and joy in my surroundings, not to get praise or fame. I determined to be a bodhisattva—someone who exemplifies compassionate behavior and aspires to help all people gain happiness. No matter what kind of work I did, it would be with the aim of creating happiness based on the principles of Buddhism.

Jesper speaking animatedly with a friend [© Marine Gastineau]

Two weeks before my contract ended, I was unexpectedly contacted by a film company that wanted me to audition for a small part in Klassen (The class), a new Danish children’s television series. If I got it, I was to play a gymnastics teacher. I thought to myself: “How strange, especially as I’m so out of shape!” But I also thought it was interesting that I had essentially trained for the part through my job as an actual teacher. Now I could live out one of my dreams as an actor by being a teacher on television. I got the part, and since working as an actor, I have been able to perform with some of my favorite comedians from my childhood. Along the way, I even got my old teaching job at the boarding school back, and this job allows me to do acting work on the side.

I feel so happy to be able to teach kids that they are important players in the world and that they should never give in to apathy. At the same time, I can be the joker and the funny man in my acting jobs. One can say this is proof that everything in life is interconnected—nothing is wasted. President Ikeda has written about the importance of treasuring ourselves and our families, becoming respected members of society through being good citizens and gaining the trust of people around us, and contributing toward the prosperity of our local communities. He has emphasized that Buddhism does not exist separately from our daily lives.

Buddhism has shown me that life does not have to be binary. I am an actor and, at the same time, a teacher. I am still convinced that life is about being social and having fun, but I am also ready to face challenges head-on to realize my dreams.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top