和乐融融家庭,从我开始经营

吉塞尔‧里韦罗 委内瑞拉

138

热门

吉塞尔‧里韦罗的父亲(左)、吉塞尔、母亲、妹妹吉塞尔‧里韦罗和父母、妹妹合影

小时候,当时还年轻的爸爸就离开我们,去首都加拉加斯工作及学习,说要给我们更好的未来。虽然爸爸每个周末都回来看我,但我们的关系并不好。他经常骂我,吵架是家常便饭。因此,我无法对他敞开心胸,故意不跟他讲话,也不喜欢跟他在一起,总觉得他随时都要骂我或批评我。

妹妹出生后,我对爸爸更不满了,认为他对妹妹的态度不同,把她惯坏了。我十分生气,也十分嫉妒妹妹。此时,全家已搬到加拉加斯了。

我虽然很爱我妹妹,但有时候会用爸爸在我与她年纪相仿时,对待我的方式来对待她。但是我最不想的就是变得跟爸爸一样啊!所以,当我认识了日莲佛法之后,我决定唱念南无妙法莲华经来转变内心的愤怒,改善与妹妹的感情。

不久之后,我开始改变态度,与她的感情也随之变融洽了。妹妹从小看着我修行佛法,她在12岁的时候,开始跟我一起唱题。渐渐地,我们也越走越近了。

改变方式

接下来,我决定开始祈求与爸爸的关系能得以改善,决定用想被对待的方式对待他──多抱抱他、多关心他的工作、多在厨房帮他等等。由于我们并不亲密,所以我下定决心每周至少拥抱他一次,我需要鼓起极大的勇气才办得到。我们互动的方式逐渐开始改变,拥抱不再像是执行计划,反而变得稀松平常。爸爸开始会分享他的工作情况,甚至会在回到家时,亲我脸颊打招呼。

吉塞尔‧里韦罗和妹妹依偎而坐吉塞尔‧里韦罗和妹妹

在我结束一段很长的恋情之后,我开始感到焦虑、忧郁。当时,爸爸刚好出差,一个星期都不在家。这回的我跟小时候不一样,爸爸回来的那一天,我满心期待地欢迎他。在谈话中,我第一次感觉到他说他爱我。他安慰我说,世上没有人因心碎而死,然后告诉我,他所做的一切都是为了我和妹妹,他永远都会是我的坚强后盾,会为了我奋不顾身。那一刻会永远铭刻在我心中。

我透过佛道修行,努力转变心中的愤恨,这过程让我拓展生命境界,更加了解爸爸,珍惜他为了提供我及妹妹一个美好未来所付出的努力,并明白他用他自己的方式表达对我的爱。

佛道修行带给我的美好功德之一,即是让我能打从心底感谢我的父母。我决定要持续努力,经营和乐融融的家庭,并且发展我作为一个人最大的长处,如如实实发挥我的潜能。

<消息来源:2016年7-9月委内瑞拉SGI刊物《Seikyo Criollo》,照片来源:吉塞尔‧里韦罗>

─── 其他文章 ───


返回页首

A Happy Family Starts with Me

by Gisselle Rivero, Venezuela

4779

popularity

Gisselle Rivero’s father (left), Gisselle, mother and sister Giselle Rivero with her parents and sister

When I was little, my father, who was still young, left to work and study in the capital, Caracas, in order to be able to provide us with a better future. Although he visited me every weekend, I didn’t have a good relationship with him. He would scold me a lot, and we fought often. As a result, I was not open with him and avoided talking to him. I didn’t like to be with him and felt as though, at any moment, he was going to scold or criticize me.

When my sister was born, my negative feelings toward him intensified. I felt that he treated her differently to me and spoiled her. I was filled with anger toward him and feelings of jealousy toward my sister. By this time, the whole family had moved to Caracas.

Although I loved my sister, I sometimes treated her the same way my father had treated me at her age. The last thing I wanted to do was act like him! When I was introduced to Nichiren Buddhism, I decided to chant Nam-myoho-renge-kyo to transform the anger I felt and have a better relationship with her.

After a while, my attitude began to change, and my relationship with her started to improve. As my sister was growing up, she observed me practicing Buddhism, and when she was 12 years old, she started to chant with me. Slowly but surely, we grew closer.

Changing My Approach

I then decided to start chanting to improve my relationship with my father. I decided I would try to treat him the way I wanted him to treat me—hug him more, ask him how his work was and help him in the kitchen. Since we were not affectionate with each other, I set a goal of hugging him at least once a week. This required a lot of courage on my part. Slowly, our relationship began to change. Hugs were not planned anymore and became something natural between us. He started telling me about his work and even began greeting me with a kiss on the cheek when he got home.

Gisselle Rivero and her sister sitting side by side Gisselle Rivero with her sister

When I ended a long-term relationship, I started to feel anxious, and there were many days I felt sad. At that time, my father was away on business for about a week. Unlike when I was little, on the day he was due back, I was excited and looked forward to seeing him. We talked, and for the first time, I felt that he had told me he loved me. He consoled me, saying that no one dies from heartbreak. Then he told me that everything he did was for me and my sister, that he would always support me and would give his life for me. It is a moment that will always be engraved in my heart.

By striving to transform my resentment through my Buddhist practice, my life has expanded, allowing me to understand my father better, to value the efforts he made to ensure a good future for my sister and me and to understand that he demonstrated his love for me in his own way.

Being able to feel genuine gratitude toward my parents is one of the great benefits of my Buddhist practice. I am determined to continue to build a harmonious family and develop my best qualities as a person to reveal my true potential.

[Adapted from the July–September 2016 issue of Seikyo Criollo, SGI-Venezuela; photos courtesy of Gisselle Rivero]

─── other articles ───

our story

page top