更好版本的自己

塔喜拉・卡許雅普 印度

1519

熱門

塔喜拉‧卡許雅普身為作家、新聞學講師以及寶萊塢知名演員阿尤斯曼‧庫拉納的配偶,擁有令人欽羨的人生。然而,她仍須鼓起勇氣方能踏出追尋夢想的一步。時至今日,她在公開場合啟發、激勵人們度過最有價值的人生,並成為最好的自己。


您曾在傳播相關的多個領域中工作過,代表您對傳播充滿熱情。請問您想傳達的理念是什麼?

塔喜拉坐在窗邊

我想傳達的是,永不停止懷抱夢想,永不停止懷抱希望。

長久以來我從未察覺自己內心的願望。我涉足多種職業使自己能夠保持動力。但能帶給我莫大幸福的其實是熱愛的寫作與戲劇。

等到我終於知道自己的志業後,我又說服自己說那不適合我。我想要寫電影劇本以及拍電影,然而我認為自己已經浪費太多時間了。我要如何在33歲開始新的事業?我所教授的新聞與大眾媒體專業的研究生可能會批評我的作品。我會成為全世界的笑柄。且由於我的丈夫在這個領域小有名氣,我不想讓他名聲掃地。

基本上,我試圖想出所有可能會導致的負面結果,用這個束縛住自己,將自己逼進死胡同,直到快失去理智為止。就在此時我值遇了佛法,一切開始產生了意義。

您是在什麼情況下認識日蓮佛法,並且決定開始修行?

10多年前,我的一位朋友初次向我分享日蓮佛法。那時我告訴她我不需要信仰,我很快樂且一切都在軌道上。

塔喜拉站在人群前,所有人都手比著愛心動作 塔喜拉在2019年印度規模最大、旨在提高對女性健康意識的女性慢跑比賽粉紅馬拉松(Pinkathon)中談及乳腺癌

10年後,我陷入極度憂鬱的狀態,縱使在健康、人際和經濟財務方面擁有一切,我仍感到巨大的空虛,因為我沒有正視夢想的勇氣。在我的職業生涯中,我從事過各種工作,而且每一次都做得很好,但都在一兩年後就離開,這讓我生自己的氣。為什麼我如此反覆無常?究竟我的志業是什麼?我變得越來越絕望。

我一直都無法坦率地認可自己的理想抱負,更別說公諸於世了。因此,我開始將生命中的所有人事物都當作理所當然。我過著雙面人的生活,晚上我會哭好幾個小時,到了白天,我則戴上開心明朗的面具,因為我無法接受自己憂鬱的模樣讓5歲的兒子和3歲的女兒看到。我只是勉強撐在那而已。就在此時,2017年的11月,我與當時那位朋友重逢了。

在日蓮佛法的哲學當中最吸引到我的理念是──我們決定自己的命運,我們可以改變自己的宿命,且我們出生在這世上就是為了得到幸福。雖然是如此基本的道理,但我卻真的忘記要活得幸福開心了。

我開始修行佛法,並漸漸擺脫地獄般的生命狀態。修行帶給我希望,且我當地的創價學會領導人鼓勵我說,擁有夢想並沒有錯,事實上,我們必須懷抱夢想,並朝向夢想努力邁進。這就是我們修行的目的,但並非唯一目的,因為我們不僅要為自己的幸福,也要為他人的幸福努力。

在2017年,我自編自導的第一部短片《那年的水果糖》,在各電影節獲得許多掌聲。我現在也寫完了電影《夏爾瑪的女兒》(Sharma ji ki beti)的劇本。

自從您開始佛道修行後,自身最大的改變是什麼?

最能證明我的變化的是與我非常親近的人,像是我的丈夫和父母。他們告訴我,我完全改變了,我成為更好版本的自己。

相關文章 以積極的態度奮起 以積極的態度奮起 奧拉西奧‧普利多  阿根廷 奧拉西奧將過去精神上和肉體上的痛苦,化成積極的態度和同情心。了解他的佛道修行如何幫助他找到自身的使命。 唱念「南無妙法蓮華經(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)」(唱題)帶給我許多勇氣智慧慈悲,一掃心中的陰霾。這樣的變化漸進且自然,我不須硬逼自己說:「我非得改變不可」。

我逐漸不再將親朋好友當作是理所當然。我與丈夫的共戰情誼以及與母親的關係都變得更融洽。我的轉變之大,以至於母親在最近與我旅行時說:「我的女兒回來了。」由於她親眼目睹我的改變,她也開始唱題了。

我看到自己最大的改變是,當面臨負面情況時,我能以鎮定的心態回應,過去我通常很情緒化。當我努力修行,我感受到自己不可以被打敗。而當困難浮現時,我不僅能懷抱希望,也將其視作改變自己、擴展自己的機會。

您被診斷患有乳腺癌(或稱乳癌)並接受治療時展示的態度啟發許多人,現在您已成為廣為人知的抗乳腺癌鬥士。請與我們分享您從中的轉變。

塔喜拉身穿醫院的袍子,手提外科引流管和容器 塔喜拉在Instagram上分享她在癌症治療期間身上掛著引流管的照片。她在上面寫道:「這篇獻給心中都具有不屈不撓鬥士精神的每個人,希望大家能提高健康及自我關愛的意識。」

2018年,我被診斷為第一期乳腺癌。當時我是一位35歲的健康母親,育有兩個孩子且認真修行。當年創價學會的主題訂為光榮年。還記得我與我地區的創價學會幹部談話時,他們說:「你知道今年是光榮年嗎?我們不會只有平凡的成果,而是會創造光榮非凡的成就,但也代表會面臨非凡的挑戰!」

幾個月後,我被邀請到我的家鄉演講,為此我感到格外興奮。演講的一切順利落幕。隨後一家製片公司對我的劇本表示興趣,並希望我能夠擔任導演。我歡喜無比,心中充滿感激但同時問自己:「真的創造光榮非凡的成就了,但我的非凡阻礙在哪裡呢?」沒想到說到曹操,曹操就到。

不過,我不會稱癌症為阻礙或困難,而是視為轉換自身宿命的機會。作為一個有在唱題的人,我的觀點是如果這件事情發生在我身上,那麼必有其因。而有什麼「因」比將之轉換為我的使命,還要來得更偉大呢!一旦充滿了這樣的確信以後,目睹一切過程的親朋好友對我說,我看起來彷彿在慶祝什麼似的。

我歡喜地接受所有的醫學檢驗。有一次我知道檢驗會不舒服,但心中卻充滿喜悅。我將疾病視作我過去累積的惡因的體現,並為疾病的出現感到開心。如今,我需要做的就是清掉它。我徹底唱題,並且得到全國各地信仰伙伴的支持。

甚至接受手術和化學治療皆是令我歡喜的過程。日蓮曾寫道,變毒為藥。困境是讓我們成長、堅強,並擴展自身的時機。同時也是讓我們能夠為創造更好版本的自己而努力的機會。

塔喜拉和一位女主持人坐在台上 塔喜拉(右)擔任乳腺癌宣傳活動的演講嘉賓

我將池田大作的這段話銘刻於我的心中:「人人皆有宿命。但只要勇於正視宿命,認清其本質,便可知道任何宿命都是為了深化自我人生而出現。而與宿命奮戰的行動,也將成為萬人的人生借鏡。也就是說,如果能化宿命為使命,則宿命扮演的角色將大為轉變,從惡轉向善。」

從突然得知罹癌的消息,到手術甚至化療之後,我的幸福指數都不曾下降。我以此為契機,提倡早期乳癌檢測的重要性。我非常大方地在社交媒體(或稱社群媒體)帳號上分享我的照片!不管是手術後引流管還黏在我背部及胸部上的照片,還是戴著假髮帽的照片,又或者是戴著帥氣墨鏡,以光頭亮相的照片,我都在慶祝人生的美好。日蓮佛法在我的心中注入了活力,我想要歡慶人生的每一瞬間。這段經驗完完全全改變了我。

度過幸福人生並且實現夢想的關鍵是什麼?

能夠實現我們夢想並獲得幸福的關鍵在於隨時懷抱希望,絕對不輸。然而要維持這樣的生命狀態是困難的,這了不起的信仰幫助了我以及其他許多人,讓勇氣、智慧和慈悲以最自然的方式從生命深處湧出。

我非常感激此信仰、日蓮的教導、池田先生的鼓勵和他所樹立的榜樣,並且感謝我的家人朋友,以及關心我、為我唱題的人們,他們的支持風雨無阻。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

A Better Version of Myself

by Tahira Kashyap, India

11585

popularity

Tahira Kashyap had an enviable life as a writer, teacher of journalism and spouse of well-known Bollywood actor Ayushmann Khurrana, yet, it took courage for her to pursue her dream. Today, she uses her public platform to inspire, empower and motivate people to live their best lives and be their best selves.

You have worked in a variety of fields related to communication, suggesting that communication is a passion for you. What do you want to convey?

Tahira seated by a window

The one thing I want to say is never stop dreaming. Never stop having hope.

I didn’t recognize my calling for the longest time. I dabbled in many jobs trying to keep myself motivated. But it was my go-to hobbies of writing and theater that gave me immense happiness.

Once I figured out my true calling, I convinced myself that it wasn’t meant for me. I wanted to write and direct films, but I thought I had lost too much time. How could I start a new career at the age of 33? The journalism and mass media graduate students I used to teach might judge my work. The world might laugh at me. And since my husband is famous in this field, I didn’t want to tarnish his reputation.

Basically, I thought of every negative implication. I bottled up all these self-imposed limitations until I was about to lose my mind. That’s when Buddhism came into my life, and everything started making sense.

How did you encounter Nichiren Buddhism, and why did you decide to take it up?

A friend of mine first introduced me to Nichiren Buddhism more than 10 years ago. At that time, I told her I didn’t need it. I was pretty happy and sorted.

Tahira stands before a large crowd, everyone making heart signs with their hands Tahira at the 2019 Pinkathon, India’s biggest women’s run, created to raise awareness about women’s health, where she spoke about breast cancer

A decade later, I was in an extremely depressed state. Even though I had everything going for me in terms of health, relationships and finances, there was a big void because I didn’t have the guts to acknowledge my dreams. In my professional life, I did various jobs and did exceedingly well only to leave after a year or two. This made me angry with myself. Why was I so fickle? What was my true calling? I was becoming hopeless.

I hadn’t admitted my ambition to myself openly, let alone the world. Because of this, I started begrudging everyone and everything. I led a dual life. At night I would cry for hours, and in the morning, I was this pretentious, happy person, because I couldn’t afford to let my five-year-old son and three-year-old daughter see me in such a depressed state. I was just trying to hang in there. That’s when, in November 2017 I met up again with that same friend.

What appealed to me most was the message that I found in the philosophy of Nichiren Buddhism—that we determine our own destiny, we can change our karma and that we are born to be happy. It’s so basic, but I really had forgotten to be happy.

I started practicing Buddhism and gradually began to emerge from my hellish state. The practice gave me hope, and my local Soka Gakkai leaders encouraged me. They said it was not wrong to have dreams, in fact, we must have dreams and work toward them. That is the aim of our practice but not the sole aim, as we not only work for our own happiness but the happiness of others too.

related article Setting the Stage Setting the Stage by  Ulf Dietrich and José Gonzalo Pérez B. Two Buddhists, one from Germany and another from Venezuela, discuss their Buddhist practice and its influence on their work in theater. In 2017, I wrote and directed my first short film titled Toffee, which received a lot of appreciation at various film festivals. I have also now written a feature film, Sharma ji ki beti.

What is the greatest change you have experienced in yourself since starting your Buddhist practice?

The greatest indication of change is that those who are extremely close to me, like my husband and parents, tell me I have completely changed. I have become a better version of myself.

Chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo gave me so much courage, wisdom and compassion that the DNA of my unhappy self completely transformed. The change was gradual and organic and didn’t cost me the extra burden of thinking, “I have to change.”

I slowly stopped begrudging my relationships. My companionship with my husband became even better as well as my relationship with my mother. So much so that on a recent trip she said to me, “I have got my daughter back.” Because of the change she has seen in me, she has also started chanting.

The biggest change I see in myself is that when I face an adverse situation, I can do so in a calm state of mind and am able to respond. Previously, I just used to react. When I am practicing strongly, I feel I can’t be defeated. When problems come up, it’s not just that I feel hopeful, but I can start to see them as opportunities for me to change something about myself, to expand.

How you responded to being diagnosed with and treated for breast cancer inspired many, and you are now widely known as a breast cancer warrior. Please tell us how this experience has transformed you.

Tahira stands in a hospital gown holding her surgical drainage tubes and containers One of Tahira’s Instagram posts, showing her with drainage tubes during her cancer treatment. She wrote in part, “This post is dedicated to awareness, self love and resilience of a warrior that I know each one of us possesses.”

In 2018, I was diagnosed with stage 1 breast cancer. I was a 35-year-old healthy mother of two and practicing strongly. The Soka Gakkai’s theme for the year was the Year of Brilliant Achievement. I remember a conversation with a Soka Gakkai leader in my local area. They said, “Do you know that this is the Year of Brilliant Achievement? These aren’t small achievements, these are brilliant, which means facing even more brilliant challenges!”

A few months later, I was invited to deliver a talk in my hometown, which I was very excited about. It went really well. Then, a production house showed interest in my feature film and was keen on having me direct it. I was in a happy zone, my heart was full of gratitude and I wondered, “Brilliant achievements are happening, but where is the brilliant obstacle?” And BAM!

I wouldn’t call my cancer an obstacle or a problem but an opportunity to change my karma. As someone who chants Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, my perspective was that if this had happened to me it was for a reason. What bigger reason could there be a than turning it into my mission! Once that feeling overtook me, people close to me who had been witnessing my journey said it looked as though I was celebrating something.

I went through all my medical tests joyfully. There was a time when I knew what was coming, yet there was only joy in my heart. I saw this illness as a manifestation of the negative causes I had created in the past, and I was happy it had emerged. Now, all I needed to do was get it out of the way. I chanted throughout and was supported by my comrades in faith from across the country.

Even dealing with the surgery and chemotherapy became a joyful experience for me. Nichiren writes about turning poison into medicine. Difficulty is perceived to be an opportunity for developing, strengthening and expanding ourselves. Also, it’s a chance to work toward creating a better version of ourselves.

Tahira seated on stage with a female interviewer Tahira (right) as a guest speaker at a breast cancer awareness campaign event

There is a passage from Daisaku Ikeda’s writings that is etched in my heart. He says: “We all have our own karma or destiny. But when we look it square in the face and grasp its true significance, then any hardship can help us lead richer and more profound lives. And our actions in battling our destiny set an example for and inspire countless others. In other words, when we change our karma into mission, we transform our destiny from playing a negative role to a positive one.”

From the time the news about my cancer was broken to me until my surgery and even after chemotherapy sessions, my happiness quotient didn’t dip. I took this as an opportunity to spread awareness about early breast cancer detection. I was posting pictures on my social media accounts left, right and center! Whether it was of me with my draining tubes attached to my back and chest post-surgery or with a cap supporting my hair extensions or with a bald head and cool glasses, I was just celebrating life. Nichiren Buddhism infused life into me, and I wanted to rejoice at each moment. This experience has been truly transformational for me in every sense of the word.

What are the keys to living a happy life and fulfilling your dreams?

The key to fulfilling our dreams and being happy is to be hopeful always and to never be defeated. But it’s difficult to maintain this life state. What helped me and many others is this amazing practice. Courage, wisdom and compassion surface from deep within your life in the most natural, organic way.

I am forever indebted to this practice, to the teachings of Nichiren and to the words and example of my mentor Daisaku Ikeda, as well as to my family and friends and all the people who supported and prayed for me and stood by me like a rock.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top