面對生與死

沃爾夫・索烏永 德國

110

熱門

日蓮寫道:「人之壽命無常﹐出息不待入息。風前之露﹐尚非其譬。」縱使我們往往忽略這項事實,但死亡無可避免,每一個人遲早得面對。佛法其實就是源自於對生死的體悟。在德國不來梅,生與死(Leben und Tod)博覽會正是一個提供大眾思考死亡的年度活動,使人們了解死亡的諸多面向,並聚焦於緩和醫療(或稱緩和療護、紓緩治療、慈懷療護)以及對臨終者或喪親者的心理輔導。過去這四年,德國SGI每年都有設立讓來訪者可諮詢和認識佛法的攤位。沃爾夫・索烏永(Wolf Soujon)和大家分享德國SGI參與的情形。


能否跟我們介紹生與死博覽會?吸引的群眾類型以及您認為參加人數逐年增加的原因?

這場博覽會面向廣泛群體,如從事緩和醫療、安寧療護、殯葬業和相關職業的專業人員,哀傷輔導、自殺防治等團體的志願者或對這類服務感興趣的人,以及一般大眾。

工作人員在博覽會攤位上與來賓進行討論 來賓和工作人員聚集在德國SGI攤位,沃爾夫・索烏永(右二)(© W. Baerwolf)

該博覽會是在不來梅展覽中心舉辦為期兩日的年度活動。2019年5月,吸引逾5000名造訪者。其活動類型與規模在德國獨樹一幟。

我想人數的成長反映出這個議題在社會中顯得越發重要。年長者人數攀升,他們想有尊嚴地臨終的願望增強,使得在該領域工作的專業人員亦趨增加。除了非營利及營利的展覽攤位之外,博覽會現場亦有從心理以及倫理角度探討生死的講座和工作坊,參展的各宗教團體邀請民眾就該議題發言。

儘管該活動性質嚴肅,現場氛圍卻輕鬆愉快。

你如何向攤位的來訪者解釋佛法中生與死的觀點?

大多數來訪我們攤位的人,都是「專業的菩薩」,像是護士、治療師以及志願者,有些人則是因曾經面對或正在面對死別、自己臨終而飽受痛苦。對談通常從一開始就很深入且私人。如果他們有意願,來訪者亦有機會在別處參加另一種「工作坊」──嘗試唱念「南無妙法蓮華經(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)」(唱題)。

每年通常會有幾組四年級的學生和他們的老師來訪攤位。有幾位信仰已久,擔任小學教師的德國SGI會員會回答孩童們在來訪前就在學校準備好的問題。他們年齡雖小,博覽會雖然吵雜,但出乎意料之外,他們卻全神貫注,而且提的問題都非常具深度。

相關文章 生命的變革──人權教育的力量 生命的變革──人權教育的力量 「生命的變革──人權教育的力量」展旨在推廣人權教育在推動人類尊嚴、平等及和平,以及預防侵犯和濫用人權的認識。 我記得最常見的問題如:「日蓮佛法的信徒有什麼特別的葬禮嗎?」「佛教徒死後會去到哪裡呢?」「你們的上帝是佛陀嗎?」以及「所有佛教徒都吃素嗎?」

我們會以一個較簡單的方式來解釋對於生死的看法,即佛法將生與死比作醒著與沉睡。人會因年老、病入膏肓或意外死亡,雖然死後身體會毀滅,但我們相信生命最重要的部分會回到大宇宙中,待時機成熟,充飽電,重返世上。佛法的生死觀其實更複雜,但這是基本的解釋。

我們也會用另一個比喻,即生命的誕生如同大海中升起的波濤,死亡則像波濤平復後回到大海的懷抱般。海水本身並不會消失,波濤會因新能量再次升起。

在博覽會召開期間,我們亦會舉辦關於佛教生死觀的公開講座。

根據您的經驗,什麼樣的見解對人們最有幫助?原因為何?

直至此刻,無論我們必須面對什麼樣的命運,我們都能重新開始。不論信仰與否,當人們聽聞這個想法皆受到鼓勵。

比起長篇大論地解釋佛法概念,我們每克服一次傷痛就變得更加幸福的親身經歷反而更令人們為之動容。我們與逝者在過去、現在和未來都緊密相連,而且通過唱題能傳遞正能量給他們,許多為訣別煩惱的來訪者聽到後都深受鼓舞。

參與這項活動如何改變你的思考模式,或是你在人生中處理死別和悲傷情緒的方式?

2018年5月25日,我的兒子阿龍在經歷一段相對短暫但嚴重的抑鬱症(或稱憂鬱症)後自殺,得年23歲。我和妻子(阿龍的繼母)決定如過去這幾年一樣在博覽會舉辦這項活動。這次對我而言難如登天,因為阿龍過世後,我自己開始出現抑鬱的症狀,但我毅然決意要對抗這疾病,不讓我內心的黑暗獲勝,我想鼓勵人們。這是我第四次參展,但這次我談論死亡、失去、傷痛與希望時的感受卻全然不同。由於經歷了切膚之痛,我能夠同理他們的感受。

在攤位的每一刻我都感到如履薄冰,但我熬過來了,這對我而言極其重要。我知道我不會被悲傷和抑鬱的心情打敗,即使我仍在接受治療,我也逐漸在康復。

了解更多關於日蓮佛法的生死觀,請點閱「生與死」。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

Confronting Life and Death

by Wolf Soujon, Germany

6020

popularity

“The life of a human being is fleeting,” writes Nichiren, “The exhaled breath never waits for the inhaled one. Even dew before the wind is hardly a sufficient metaphor.” Although we are inclined to ignore the fact, sooner or later each of us must confront the inevitable reality of death. Indeed, Buddhism originated from this realization. The “Leben und Tod” (Life and Death) fair in Bremen, Germany, is an annual event that allows members of the public to do just that, exposing people to various perspectives on death and focusing on palliative care and psychological support for those who are dying or grieving. For the past four years, SGI-Germany (SGI-D) has hosted a booth where visitors can ask questions and learn about the Buddhist view. Wolf Soujon describes SGI-D’s participation.

Please tell us about the fair on life and death, the kind of people it attracts and why you think it is growing in popularity each year.

The fair targets a wide range of visitors, such as professionals in palliative care, hospice workers, undertakers and those in related occupations. Included in this group are volunteers (or potential volunteers) from support groups for those grieving death or groups for suicide prevention. It also includes the general public.

Discussions with visitors to the booth at the fair Visitors and staff at the SGI-D booth; Wolf Soujon (second right) [© W. Baerwolf]

The fair is a two-day annual event at the Bremen Exhibition Center. In May 2019, it attracted over 5,000 visitors. It is the only event of its kind and magnitude in Germany.

I think its growing popularity reflects the growing relevance of the issue in society. An increasing number of elderly people and their wish to end life in dignity generates an increasing number of professionals working in the field. In addition to exhibition booths, some of which offer commercial services, the event includes lectures and workshops on the psychological and ethical concerns pertaining to the topic of life and death. Various religious groups invite visitors to speak on the topic.

Despite the serious nature of the event, there is a light and welcoming atmosphere.

How do you explain the Buddhist view of life and death to visitors to your booth?

Most visitors to our booth are either “professional bodhisattvas,” like nurses, therapists and volunteers, or people who have suffered or are confronting personal loss or even their own death. Conversations are often very deep and personal from the start. Visitors also have the opportunity to try chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo in a separate “workshop” space if they would like to.

We also usually have groups of fourth graders that visit our booth with a teacher. Long-term members of SGI-D, who are elementary school teachers, answer the questions that the kids prepared in school prior to the fair. Considering their age and the hustle and bustle of the fair, the children are amazingly focused, and many of their questions are really profound.

related article Transforming Lives: The Power of Human Rights Education Transforming Lives: The Power of Human Rights Education “Transforming Lives: The Power of Human Rights Education” raises awareness of the vital role of human rights education in promoting dignity, equality and peace and in preventing human rights violations and abuses. The most frequent questions, as I can recall, are if we, as Nichiren Buddhists, have special burial rituals and “Where do Buddhists go when they are dead?”, “Is Buddha your god?” and “Are all Buddhists vegetarians?”

A simple way to explain our view on life and death is to say that Buddhism compares living and dying to waking and sleeping. We die when we are old or very sick or maybe because of an accident. Although the physical body decays when we die, we believe the essential part of us re-merges with the universe. When the time is right, we come back refreshed. It’s a bit more complicated, but that is the basic idea.

There is also an analogy that describes our life at birth as being like a wave that rises on the ocean. When we die, it is like the wave sinking back into the ocean. But the water itself doesn’t disappear, and with new energy, the wave emerges from the depths of the sea again.

Around the time of the fair, we also have public lectures on the Buddhist view of life and death.

In your experience, which insights help people most, and why do you think this might be?

The idea that we can always make a fresh start, no matter what destiny we have had to face until now; irrespective of their religious or nonreligious beliefs, people feel encouraged when they hear that.

Hearing personal experiences of repeatedly overcoming suffering and always becoming happier touches people, much more so than elaborate explanations of Buddhist concepts. Many visitors who were dealing with personal loss seemed encouraged by our conviction that we are connected to our deceased loved ones through past, present and future and can always send positive energy to them through our prayer, chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo.

How has taking part in this activity changed the way you think about or have approached loss or grief in your own life?

On May 25, 2018, my son Aaron committed suicide after a relatively brief but serious episode of depression. He died at the age of 23. My wife (Aaron’s stepmother) and I decided to organize our activity at the fair as we had done the years before. It was a real struggle for me because after Aaron’s death I had started to show symptoms of depression myself. But I was absolutely determined to fight the illness and not let that darkness in me win. I wanted to encourage people. This was my fourth year at the fair, but it was a very different experience talking to people about death, loss, grief and hope. I had firsthand experience and could feel what they felt.

At the fair, I was emotionally treading on thin ice, but I pulled through and that was really crucial for me. I knew that grief and depression would not rule me. I am still in treatment but recovering.

To learn more about Nichiren Buddhism’s view on life and death, read “Life and Death.”

─── other articles ───

our story

page top