為無核武器世界耕耘的冰島

埃伊倫·奧斯克·約恩斯多蒂爾 冰島

72

熱門

女士和孩子在晚上從湖邊放下蠟燭 在雷克雅未克湖中放下漂浮蠟燭,以悼念原爆犧牲者

冰島是一個北大西洋的小島,人口約有三十三萬四千人。這裡沒有軍隊,而且持續被評為世界上最快樂的國家之一。

1986年,冷戰期間,當美國總統羅納德‧里根和蘇聯領導人米哈伊爾‧戈爾巴喬夫於冰島首都雷克雅未克舉辦歷史性的會晤時,冰島這個小小的國家在遏制美蘇核軍備競賽方面,扮演了舉足輕重的角色。這場雷克雅未克高峰會為後來兩大強國之間簽訂的《蘇聯和美國消除兩國中程和中短程導彈條約》鋪路,也被視為冷戰一個重要的轉捩點。

每年8月6日或9日,成千上萬的人聚集在雷克雅未克湖(或稱特約寧湖),將點燃的漂浮蠟燭放在水中,以悼念長崎與廣島的原爆犧牲者,並表達要求廢除核武器。而冰島SGI(國際創價學會)34年來不間斷地與冰島其他促進和平的組織一同合作,參與舉辦此項和平活動,合作團體例如:Samtök hernaðarandstæðingar(反戰組織)、Friðarhreyfing íslenskra kvenna(婦女團體)及Félag leikskólakennara(幼稚園教師協會)等。

如此的合作例子,還有每年12月23日舉行的和平遊行,多達5千人民走上雷克雅未克的主要購物街道。而廣島的社會機構也認同冰島長期以來為和平所付出的努力,因此致贈原爆的遺物予冰島首都,以表謝意。

薪火相傳

男士正在觀看大型的展板 參加者於雷克雅未克市政廳觀看展板

1957年9月8日,創價學會第二代會長戶田城聖公開呼籲徹底廢除核武器,號召創價學會的青年部員以此目標邁進。此反核武器的宣言成為了創價學會和平活動的起點。

冰島SGI理事長埃伊格洛‧約恩斯多蒂爾(Eygló Jónsdóttir)說:「只是空想和平並不足夠的,我們必須為實現和平而採取行動。藉由參與這樣的活動,為和平與生命尊嚴挺身而出,讓民眾和政府都意識到人人都對這個世界負有責任。」

近年來,冰島SGI與冰島的和平活動著重在教育冰島人民了解《禁止核武器條約》(Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons,簡稱TPNW)以及促請政府簽署。該條約為第一份具有法律約束力、全面禁止核武器的國際協議。2013年,冰島SGI在雷克雅未克市政廳舉辦了「從暴力文化到和平文化──人的精神變革」展,並邀請冰島總理(當時為教育部長)卡特琳‧雅各布斯多蒂爾為展覽開幕剪綵。

女士在大廳的講台上向廣大的觀眾講話 「從暴力文化到和平文化──人的精神變革」展於雷克雅未克市政廳開幕

在此之後,2015年冰島SGI更在哈布納菲厄澤(Hafnarfjörður)市的一間古老戲院籌辦了和平周。和平周除了展出上述反核武器展覽外,還播映了一部名為《由另一種角度觀察事物》(Another Way of Seeing Things)的紀錄片,探討成見和刻板印象如何加劇戰爭與衝突,約有520名學生前來觀賞。

翌年,冰島SGI受邀於雷克雅未克藝術博物館舉辦同一個展覽,並負責由該博物館策劃的「和平講座」系列裡的其中一個講座,與藝術家小野洋子當月展出的和平展相關。

燃點希望

TPNW最終在2017年獲得通過時,冰島SGI也與其他在冰島推進和平活動的團體一起參加了關於該條約的會議,並一同敦促政府簽署條約。

幾個年輕人擠滿在展板前 學生們參與在哈布納菲厄澤市舉辦的展覽及和平周

在雷克雅未克,十月已經成為了當地關注和平議題的月份,在2018年,SGI的反核武器展覽再次舉辦,地點選在市區內其中一個最熱鬧的購物中心,以提高民眾對此議題的意識。

參與這些活動的冰島SGI會員安娜‧比約格‧希奧塔爾多蒂爾(Anna Björg Hjartardóttir)說:「我可以從舉辦這些和平活動中,看到民眾開心的樣子,當民眾意識到有人相信和平的存在,並且為此付出努力的時候,他們也會開始相信自己可以創造和平。當目睹這樣的景象時,對我來說,這些都真實地印證每個人都具備改變社會的強大力量。」另一位冰島SGI會員赫伊屈爾‧古德蒙德松(Haukur Guðmundsson)則提到:「SGI的和平活動給予我一個明確的人生觀,以及扎根現實生活的理念。」

冰島的SGI會員決心繼續致力於和平活動,包括向民眾推廣TPNW,並且鼓吹政府加入成為TPNW的簽約國。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

Working for a Nuclear-Weapon-Free World in Iceland

by Eyrún Ósk Jónsdóttir, Iceland

1285

popularity

A woman and a child float a candle from the lake’s shore at night Floating candles on Reykjavík Pond to commemorate the victims of the atomic bomb

Iceland, a small island in the North Atlantic Ocean, is home to a population of about 334,000 people. It has no army and has consistently been ranked as one of the happiest nations in the world.

In 1986, during the Cold War, this small country played an important role in curtailing the nuclear arms race between the United States and the Soviet Union when it hosted a historic meeting between US President Ronald Reagan and the leader of the Soviet Union, Mikhail Gorbachev, in its capital, Reykjavík. The Reykjavík Summit paved the way for the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces (INF) arms control treaty between the two superpowers and is considered a significant turning point in the Cold War.

Each year, on August 6 or 9, thousands of people gather at Reykjavík Pond to float flaming candles in memory of the victims of the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki and to demand the abolition of nuclear weapons. For 34 years, SGI-Iceland has taken part in organizing this peace event in collaboration with other Icelandic organizations working for peace, such as Samtök hernaðarandstæðingar (an anti-war organization), Friðarhreyfing íslenskra kvenna (a women’s organization) and Félag leikskólakennara (an association of preschool teachers).

Another example of such collaboration is the organizing of a peace parade down Reykjavík’s main shopping street on December 23 each year that up to five thousand people attend. Institutions in Hiroshima have recognized the long-standing efforts of the peace movement in Iceland, presenting relics of the atomic bombing to the capital city as tokens of gratitude.

Continuing a Legacy

A man reads a large exhibition panel Viewing the exhibition panels at Reykjavík City Hall

On September 8, 1957, second Soka Gakkai president Josei Toda made a public appeal for the complete abolition of nuclear weapons, calling on the youth of the Soka Gakkai to work toward this goal. This anti-nuclear declaration became the starting point of the Soka Gakkai’s peace activities.

“It is not enough just to dream about peace, we need to take action to create peace. By participating in events such as these, we are taking a stand for peace and the dignity of life, and we are creating awareness among the people and within our government that we are all responsible for this world,” says Eygló Jónsdóttir, the chairperson of SGI-Iceland.

In recent years, SGI-Iceland and the Icelandic peace movements have been focused on educating Icelanders about the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW), the first legally binding international agreement to comprehensively prohibit nuclear weapons, and appealing to the government to sign it. In 2013, the SGI showed its exhibition “From a Culture of Violence to a Culture of Peace: Toward a World Free of Nuclear Weapons” at Reykjavík City Hall. Prime Minister Katrín Jakobsdóttir, who at the time was the minister of education, opened the exhibition.

A woman speaks from a podium to a large standing audience in a hall Opening the “From a Culture of Violence to a Culture of Peace” exhibition at Reykjavík City Hall

Following on from this, in 2015, SGI-Iceland held a peace week in an old cinema in the town of Hafnarfjörður, which included another showing of this exhibition and a screening of the documentary Another Way of Seeing Things, that explores how prejudice and stereotyping help fuel wars and conflict, to some 520 students.

The following year, SGI-Iceland was invited to put on the exhibition at the Reykjavík Art Museum and host one of a series of “peace talks” organized by the museum in connection with the artist Yoko Ono’s peace exhibition that had opened there that month.

Creating Hope

When the TPNW finally came into being in 2017, SGI-Iceland took part in a conference on the treaty with the other Icelandic peace movements and together urged the government to sign it.

Several young people crowd around exhibition panels Students at the Hafnarfjörður exhibition and peace week

The month of October has become a month dedicated to peace issues in Reykjavík, so in 2018, the SGI’s anti-nuclear weapons exhibition was again shown in one of the most popular shopping centers in the city to raise awareness of the issue.

“I can see that it makes people happy when we hold these peace activities. When people realize that someone believes in and takes action for peace, they also begin to believe it is possible to create peace. When I see this happen, for me it’s actual proof of how each person can have a huge effect on others and change society,” says Anna Björg Hjartardóttir, a member of SGI-Iceland, about taking part in these events. Another SGI-Iceland member, Haukur Guðmundsson, notes, “SGI peace activities give me a clear philosophy to work by and ideals that are grounded in everyday reality.”

The SGI members in Iceland are determined to continue their efforts for peace, including promoting the TPNW among Icelanders and encouraging the Icelandic government to become a signatory.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top