共享的人權

91

熱門

人權為每一個人所享有,旁人不得剝奪,只要生而為人就擁有人權。

照片來源:United Nations Photo/CC BY-NC-ND

從第二次世界大戰的殘酷暴行中,人類學習到,和平與人權是密不可分的,而且人權作為和平的基礎,必須受到一致的保障。在二次大戰之後,各國透過跨國間的通力合作,建立了一些規則與制度來保障人權,並推動其成為一個基本狀態。然而,仍然有許多人無法生活在人權賦予的安穩及保護中。他們有些被奪走了生命、剝奪了自由,有些則是被迫離開家園。

提升人權意識會使人們更注意捍衛自己的權利,也更會感受到維護他人權利此一需求。人權意識的推廣有助於避免違反人權的情形,因此人權教育是有必要的。基於上述理由,推動人權教育及培訓成為國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)活動的主要焦點之一。

一個人內在的根本變革會帶來周遭環境的改變,進而造成整個社會、最終甚至是全世界的改變,這是SGI的一個中心理念。透過種種提升意識的活動,SGI致力於使人們有能力,在身處之地成為觸發改變的催化劑。

SGI在人權教育方面的投入可以回溯至1990年。當年10月,SGI會長池田大作在與非洲人國民大會主席納爾遜‧曼德拉會面時,提議一些與推動人權相關的新措施:像是舉辦以人權為主旨的展覽、策劃反種族隔離的攝影展,以及贊助以人權為主題的公開講座。

人權教育工具

1993年,SGI舉辦了「現代人權展」。次年,透過與當時的人權事務中心合作,此展覽得以於聯合國日內瓦辦事處展出。展覽內容呼應「聯合國人權教育十年」(1995-2004)的理念,現已在8個國家40個場地展出,共計有超過50萬人次前往觀展,其中包括為數眾多的學童。

在那之後,SGI陸續提出其他創新的方式來推動人權教育。

《邁向尊嚴之道》影片封面

紀錄片《邁向尊嚴之道:人權教育之力》由SGI、人權教育協會及聯合國人權事務高級專員辦事處聯合製作。影片呈現了人權教育在印度、澳大利亞(或稱澳洲)及土耳其的實際情況。每個個案所面臨的議題不同,但是整體而言,他們傳遞了一個訊息:社會是有可能改變的,而這樣的改變始於個人的內在變革。

「生命的變革──人權教育的力量」展是由民間社會聯盟人權教育2020、人權教育與學習非政府組織工作組以及人權教育和培訓平台,在聯合國人權事務高級專員辦事處的協助下共同製作推出。展覽由25塊展板構成,探討人權以及人權教育的理念,也敘述了人權教育帶來變革性影響的真實故事,並檢視一般民眾與民間社會機構如何對建構人權文化做出貢獻。

人權教育框架

從2001年起,非政府組織的團體逐漸提高聲量,極力主張將人權教育訂為一個重要的全球性策略,以加強對人權的重視。2001年8月,池田會長發表了一篇聲明,呼籲成立一個全球性的人權教育框架,以接續「聯合國人權教育十年」。SGI著眼於參與前任聯合國人權委員會的全球性決策,並持續與許多非政府組織以及民間社會的行動主體合作,最後促成聯合國大會在2004年12月10日決議通過《世界人權教育方案》(2005-進行中),來接續「聯合國人權教育十年」。

相關文章 佛法與人性尊嚴 佛法與人性尊嚴 佛法對人性尊嚴的基礎概念,就是我們能夠選擇自我精進這條道路。 人權教育與學習非政府組織工作組是隸屬日內瓦人權非政府組織委員會 的一個工作組,SGI作為此小組的共同主席之一,與其他非政府組織持續建立聯繫,確保在起草《聯合國人權教育和培訓宣言》的過程中,充分考慮到非政府組織以及民間社會的心聲。此宣言在2011年被接納,現今被認為是繼《世界人權宣言》以及國際人權兩公約後的指標性文件。

SGI又與其他志同道合的團體,倡議將青年訂為《世界人權教育方案》第四階段(2020-2024)的重心,該提案在2018年9月27日的聯合國人權理事會決議中也獲得通過。

為了協助達成新階段的目標並紀念《世界人權宣言》發表七十周年,SGI在2018年9月發佈了新的網站,為年輕人提供一個公開且具互動性的資源,希望幫助他們主張自己的權利,並為自己的身處之地建立一個更美好的未來。

SGI將繼續努力實現全人類的尊嚴,並持續投入建構人權文化的重要任務。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

Human Rights for All

317

popularity

Human rights belong to every one of us. No one can take them away. They are ours simply because we are human beings.

[Photo by United Nations Photo/CC BY-NC-ND]

From the atrocities of World War II, humanity learned that peace and human rights are inseparable and that, as the foundation of peace, human rights must be guaranteed uniformly. Since then, through international collaboration and cooperation, countries have established rules and systems to protect and promote human rights as a basic condition. However, there still are many people, such as those who are robbed of their lives and freedom and those who are forced out of their homes, who are unable to live with the peace of mind and protections that human rights confer.

Raising awareness of human rights helps individuals become more sensitive about upholding their own rights and the need to protect the rights of others. The spread of this awareness helps prevent human rights violations; hence, the need for human rights education. For these reasons, promoting education and training in human rights is a key focus of the SGI’s activities.

A central tenet of the SGI is that a profound change in the heart of an individual can spark change in one’s community, society at large and, eventually, the world. Through its awareness-raising activities, the SGI strives to empower individuals to become catalysts for change in their local communities.

The SGI’s efforts for human rights education date from 1990. At his meeting in October of that year with African National Congress (ANC) Chairman Nelson Mandela, SGI President Daisaku Ikeda proposed several initiatives related to promoting human rights: holding an exhibition on the theme of human rights, arranging an anti-apartheid photo exhibition and sponsoring public lectures on human rights.

Human Rights Education Tools

In 1993, the SGI launched the exhibition “Toward a Century of Humanity: An Overview of Human Rights in Today’s World,” which was shown the following year at the United Nations Office at Geneva in cooperation with the then Centre for Human Rights. As a resource supporting the UN Decade for Human Rights Education (1995–2004), the exhibition was viewed by more than 500,000 people, including many schoolchildren, at 40 venues in eight countries.

The SGI has since developed other innovative tools to promote human rights education.

path to dignity film jacket

The documentary A Path to Dignity: The Power of Human Rights Education, jointly produced by the SGI, Human Rights Education Associates (HREA) and the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR), portrays human rights education in practice in India, Australia and Turkey. While the specific issues in each case differ, together they convey the message that it is possible to change society and that change starts with the inner transformation of individual human beings.

The exhibition “Transforming Lives: The Power of Human Rights Education” was co-created with the civil society coalition HRE 2020, the NGO Working Group on Human Rights Education and Learning and the Platform for Human Rights Education and Training, with thanks to the OHCHR. As well as exploring the concepts of human rights and human rights education, the 25-panel exhibition presents stories of the transformative effects of human rights education and examines what ordinary citizens and civil society organizations can do to nurture a culture of human rights.

A Framework for Human Rights Education

Since 2001, NGOs have become increasingly vocal in their advocacy of human rights education as an important global strategy toward strengthening respect for human rights. In August 2001, President Ikeda published a statement calling for a global framework for human rights education that would succeed the UN Decade for Human Rights Education. Focusing on influencing global policymaking at the former UN Commission on Human Rights, the SGI continued networking with many NGOs and other civil society actors, contributing to the process of UN General Assembly adoption on December 10, 2004, of the resolution that proclaimed the World Programme of Human Rights Education (2005–) as the successor to the decade.

related article Buddhism and Human Dignity Buddhism and Human Dignity Ultimately, the Buddhist understanding of human dignity is rooted in the idea that we are able to choose the path of self-perfection. As cochair of the NGO Working Group on Human Rights Education and Learning, a working group of the NGO Committee on Human Rights in Geneva, the SGI worked with other NGOs to ensure the drafting process of the UN Declaration on Human Rights Education and Training (adopted in 2011) took full account of the voices of NGOs and civil society groups. Today, it is considered a landmark document following the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the International Covenants on Human Rights.

The SGI also joined with like-minded groups in proposing that youth be the focus of the fourth phase of the World Programme for Human Rights Education—a proposal that was adopted by resolution of the UN Human Rights Council on September 27, 2018.

In September 2018, to contribute to the goals of this new phase and to commemorate the 70th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the SGI launched a website to provide an open-access interactive resource aimed at young people in the hope that it will assist them in claiming their rights and contributing to a better future for their communities.

The SGI will continue its efforts in pursuit of dignity for all and the crucial work of constructing a culture of human rights.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top