亞太地區信仰組織聯盟

國際創價學會和平運動局 淺井伸行

220

熱門

以可持續發展作為目標而成立的亞太地區信仰組織聯盟(The Asia Pacific Faith-Based Coalition,簡稱APFC)結合了5個國際社會上以信仰為基調的組織(faith-based organizations,簡稱FBOs),其中包括了國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)。來自位在日本東京的SGI和平運動局的淺井伸行在此介紹這個聯盟。


亞太地區信仰組織聯盟的合照

APFC是如何產生的?

聯合國《可持續發展目標》(Sustainable Development Goals,簡稱SDGs)在2015年獲得通過之後,SGI和活躍於亞太區域的主要FBOs,共同討論如何協助信仰團體在參與區域發展的論述中──譬如像是推動SDGs以及減少災害風險等議題──能有更大聲量。

討論的結果是教會共同行動聯盟、佛智社(Arigatou International)的宗教造福兒童全球網絡(Global Network of Religions for Children)、全球伊斯蘭救濟組織(Islamic Relief Worldwide)、SGI以及世界宣明會(或稱世界展望會)等5個組織在2018年3月,於泰國曼谷舉辦的第五屆亞太可持續發展論壇的會外活動中發佈成立APFC。

為什麼放大信仰團體及所屬成員的聲量是重要的?聯盟打算如何達到這個成果?

亞太地區非常容易受到自然災害的侵襲以及氣候變化的衝擊。雖然這裡是世界上宗教信仰最多元的區域之一,FBOs以及活躍於第一線的信仰團體成員在人道援助及發展方面投入的角色,尚未在此地區得到廣泛的關注。

相關文章 SGI代表置身世界人道主義峰會現場 SGI代表置身世界人道主義峰會現場 淺井伸行、埃莉薩‧加佐蒂、亞歷山德拉‧雅子‧古森斯 SGI駐瑞士日內瓦聯合國事務辦公室代表亞歷山德拉‧雅子‧古森斯、埃莉薩‧加佐蒂,及來自位於日本東京的SGI和平運動局淺井伸行分享他們參加第一屆世界人道主義峰會的感想。 APFC的目標是在國際會議上規劃各種活動,以促成這個議題的討論,這些活動將強調FBOs的貢獻,譬如當危機發生時,他們通常第一個趕到現場,活動也將凸顯信仰團體以及跨宗教合作的投入如何可以補強其他機構及部門的工作,以達到全面性的應對。

APFC的成員組織在社區中本來就擁有強大的基層網絡,聯盟打算善用這樣的連結,針對氣候變化及性別平等這些議題啟動一些合作計畫。聯盟的兩個重要成員──世界宣明會和全球伊斯蘭救濟組織──已經展開合作,設法在菲律賓保護孩童。

另一個目標是鼓勵宗教界參與以達成SDGs為宗旨的種種活動。透過這些安排,APFC希望其他利益攸關方能夠認同信仰團體投入的重要性,並且覺得與他們合作具有正面意義。

聯盟至今採取了哪些措施,將非宗教性組織與FBOs結合起來?

淺井伸行在投影銀幕旁演講 淺井伸行在假烏蘭巴托舉辦的亞洲部長級減災大會官方會外活動上演講

2018年7月,各國政府部長級官員和國家代表團首長出席了在蒙古烏蘭巴托舉辦的亞洲部長級減災大會,APFC在此籌辦了一場官方的會外活動,並提出一份聯合聲明,強調結合更多活躍於第一線的信仰團體投入防災的必要性。

2018年8月,APFC在日本東京舉辦了一場特別的圓桌會議,邀集了日本外務省官員、聯合國機構、非宗教性的非政府組織以及學術界人士。許多與會者是首次就如何與信仰團體合作進行討論,他們也表達了日後想繼續對談的意願。

聯盟希望進一步能在亞太區域其他地方籌辦類似的工作坊,讓當地的宗教領導人與非宗教機構能加深對彼此的認識,最理想的狀況是能夠建構一個常態性的組合來推動日後的交流。

APFC期待與同樣在亞太區域參與發展與人道救援工作的其他機構能加強彼此的聯繫,而且也強烈相信,若有更多合作機會,一定能加深彼此的了解,為社區做出更有成效的貢獻。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

The Asia Pacific Faith-Based Coalition

by Nobuyuki Asai, SGI Office of Peace Affairs

2275

popularity

The Asia Pacific Faith-Based Coalition for Sustainable Development (APFC) brings together five international faith-based organizations, including the SGI. Here, Nobuyuki Asai of the SGI Office of Peace Affairs in Tokyo introduces this initiative.

Group photo of members of the Asia Pacific Faith-Based coalition

How did the Asia Pacific Faith-Based Coalition (APFC) come about?

Following the adoption of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in 2015, the SGI joined key faith-based organizations (FBOs) working in the Asia-Pacific region to initiate discussions on how to provide greater impetus to the voices of faith communities in regional development discourses, such as those around the promotion of the SDGs and disaster risk reduction.

Out of these discussions, ACT Alliance, Arigatou International-GNRC, Islamic Relief Worldwide, the SGI and World Vision International came together at a side event during the Fifth Asia-Pacific Forum on Sustainable Development in Bangkok, Thailand, in March 2018 to launch the APFC.

Why is it important to amplify the voices of faith groups and communities, and how will the coalition do this?

The Asia-Pacific region is highly vulnerable to natural disasters and the impacts of climate change. And even though it is one of the most religiously diverse regions in the world, the role of FBOs and local faith communities in humanitarian and development work has not been widely considered in the region.

related article SGI at the World Humanitarian Summit SGI at the World Humanitarian Summit by  Nobuyuki Asai, Elisa Gazzotti and Alexandra Masako Goossens Alexandra Masako Goossens and Elisa Gazzotti of the SGI Office for UN Affairs in Geneva, Switzerland, and Nobuyuki Asai of the SGI Office of Peace and Global Issues in Tokyo, Japan, offer their reflections on the first World Humanitarian summit. The APFC aims to facilitate discussion on this topic by organizing events at international conferences. These events will highlight the contributions of FBOs, such as the fact that they are often first to respond in times of crisis, and emphasize how engagement with faith communities and interfaith cooperation can complement the work of other agencies and sectors, enabling more holistic responses.

APFC member organizations already have strong grassroots networks in local communities across the region. The APFC aims to utilize these connections to initiate joint projects on issues such as climate change and gender equality. Two of the coalition’s key members—World Vision International and Islamic Relief Worldwide—are already collaborating on approaches to child protection in the Philippines.

Another goal is to encourage faith sectors to engage in activities aimed at achieving the SDGs. Through such projects, the APFC hopes that other stakeholders will recognize the importance of involving faith groups and feel positive about collaborating with them.

What steps has the coalition already taken toward bringing secular and faith-based organizations together?

Nobuyuki Asai speaking next to a projector screen Nobuyuki Asai speaking at the AMCDRR official side event in Ulaanbaatar

In July 2018, government ministers and heads of national delegations gathered at the Asian Ministerial Conference on Disaster Risk Reduction in Ulaanbaatar (AMCDRR), Mongolia. The APFC organized an official side event and submitted a joint statement stressing the need for greater engagement with local faith groups in disaster preparedness.

In August 2018, the APFC held a unique roundtable in Tokyo, Japan, bringing together officials from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan, UN agencies, secular NGOs and academics. For many of the participants, this was their first time discussing how to collaborate with faith groups, and they expressed their desire to continue the discourse.

The coalition is also hoping to organize similar workshops elsewhere in the Asia-Pacific region where local faith leaders and secular entities can deepen their understanding of each other and, ideally, create a regular consortium to facilitate further exchange.

The APFC looks forward to strengthening connections with other agencies involved in development and humanitarian work in the region and strongly believes that greater collaboration will lead to increased mutual understanding and more effective contributions to local communities.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top