在亞馬遜的環境保育與教育──巴西SGI

塞爾索‧濱 巴西

29

熱門

在創價研究所亞馬遜環境研究中心了解生態系統(© 巴西SGI)

1992年,聯合國環境與發展會議於巴西里約熱內盧舉行。人們對可持續發展有了新的認識,而巴西SGI擴展了其環境教育計畫。國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)會長池田大作設立了亞馬遜生態研究中心(現改名為創價研究所亞馬遜環境研究中心),並於翌年正式開幕。

該中心的宗旨是為後世建立保育區;修復遭到破壞的地區;支持環境教育;成為野生動植物的庇護所;以及發展著重提高當地居民生活質素的環境保育計畫。

創價研究所亞馬遜環境研究中心(以下簡稱中心)座落於馬瑙斯近郊,在索利蒙伊斯河(或稱蘇里摩希河)與內格羅河的交匯處。中心建在失去了很大的森林覆蓋面的土地上。中心自開幕後,在該地種植了超過60種,合共2萬株樹木,以恢復森林的生態系統。中心計劃建立種質庫保存種子。

於馬瑙斯的一間學校利用食用油製作肥皂(© 巴西SGI)

在環境教育方面,每星期有約50名學生通過由馬瑙斯市政府環境與可持續發展部門(Manaus Municipal Department of Environment and Sustainability)推廣的「旅行學校」(Escola Itinerante)計畫,訪問中心。大部分的學生都沒有到亞馬遜森林的經驗,他們在中心學習亞馬遜的生態,然後到河流認識魚的種類。大學的考察團亦經常造訪中心。

中心參與當地的《21世紀議程》計畫,以「學習、反思、自強」的三步公式推動馬瑙斯社區的環境教育活動。其中一個活動是將用過的食油製成肥皂,這些食油本來會被棄於森林的溪流,但透過該活動變得更有用。這個簡單的活動使參加者明白每個人都可以為保護環境出一分力。中心的前所長Akira Tanaka表示:「我留意了學生參加活動前後的表情,他們離開時的神情完全不一樣,散發著光輝,並充滿正面的能量和自信。」

相關文章 反核武器倡言(摘要)
全民一心,共建無核武器世界
--為紀念恩師戶田城聖一百一十歲冥壽
池田大作,國際創價學會會長 為紀念恩師戶田城聖一百一十歲冥壽,SGI會長池田大作發表「全民一心,共建無核武器世界」一文
中心亦在鄰近的社區推廣環保,包括向坎貝巴(Kambeba)原住民提供如酸渣樹和花梨木(Aniba rosaeodora Ducke,在巴西稱為「pau-rosa」)等能萃取精油的植物的幼苗,為當地的社區提供一種收入來源。

巴西環境和可再生自然資源管理局將中心的所在地列為私人自然遺產保護區(Private Reserve of Natural Heritage),以肯定中心所作出的努力。這使中心成為受政府認可和保護的團體之一。

<創價學會國際廣報局譯自2014年1月號《SGI季刊》>

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

Conservation and Education in the Amazon—Brazil SGI

by Celso Hama, Brazil

1018

popularity

Learning about ecosystems at the Soka Institute Amazon Environmental Research Center [© BSGI]

In 1992, the city of Rio de Janeiro hosted the United Nations Conference on Environment and Development (UNCED). New awareness about sustainability was born, and Brazil SGI (BSGI) expanded its projects in the area of environmental education. The Amazon Ecological Conservation Center (subsequently renamed the Soka Institute Amazon Environmental Research Center) was founded by SGI President Daisaku Ikeda and inaugurated the following year.

The center’s objectives are to establish a reserve for conservation and protection for future generations; to restore degraded areas; support environmental education; become a refuge for wild flora and fauna; and to develop environmental conservation projects with a focus on improving the quality of life of local people.

The center is located near Manaus, at the point where the Solimões and Negro rivers meet. It was built on land that had lost much of its original forest cover. Since it opened, 20,000 trees of over 60 species have been planted to restore the forest ecosystem. The center plans to establish a germplasm bank to conserve seeds.

Making soap from cooking oil at a Manaus school [© BSGI]

In terms of environmental education, each week approximately 50 students take part in visits through the Escola Itinerante (Traveling School) project, promoted by the Manaus Municipal Department of Environment and Sustainability. Students, many of whom have never visited the forest before, learn about the ecology of the Amazon and then go to the river to identify fish species. University field groups also often visit the center.

The center works with the local Agenda 21 program, engaging communities in Manaus in environmental education activities using the three-step formula “Learn, Reflect, Empower.” One such activity involves transforming used cooking oil that otherwise ends up in the forest streams into something more useful—soap. This simple activity makes people realize that they can do something for the sake of the environment. Former center director, Akira Tanaka comments, “Comparing the students’ faces before and after the activity, they leave looking totally different, shining, full of positive feelings and self-confidence.”

related article Dialogue in Buddhism Dialogue in Buddhism The practice of dialogue expresses a central tenet of Buddhism—faith in human beings, in their limitless dignity and potential as possessors and embodiments of universal truth. The center also carries out extension work with nearby communities, including the Kambeba indigenous people, providing seedlings of plants that generate essential oils, such as andiroba and pau-rosa, which can help earn an income for the community.

In recognition of its achievements, the Brazilian Institute of Environment and Renewable Natural Resources accredited the center area as a Private Reserve of Natural Heritage, making it one of a select group recognized and protected by the government.

Courtesy January 2014 issue of the SGI Quarterly.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top