一念三千

34

熱門

(© DrAfter123/DigitalVision Vectors/Getty Images)

每一個人的生命中都有無限的潛能,這是日蓮佛法的核心信念。佛法的一念三千法理告訴我們,生命中的每一瞬間,都存在著無限的可能性。

即使在理論上可以接受生命中有無限潛能這個概念,但人在現實中還是會覺得自己能力不足,這通常是源自我們對自己及對世界所抱持的狹隘觀點。我們的價值觀及目的觀、我們努力的目標以及對幸福的定義,全部都會影響我們如何接受及感受周遭環境的方式。我們固然可以懷抱著對自己及世界的狹隘觀點而仍然活得很舒適,但是一旦遇到問題或是阻礙,就可能會遭到沉重打擊,感到無助或恐懼而覺得苦惱。

詳細分析並解釋不同的價值觀、目的觀以及幸福觀如何在生活環境中造成差異的,就是一念三千的法理。它闡明個人的幸福觀以及欲望的性質如何決定環境的質素。

透過修行日蓮佛法,我們能夠從生命內部湧現源源不絕的勇氣、希望與韌力,進而克服種種挑戰,遠遠超越自己認為可以做得到限界。我們也可以幫助其他人做同樣的事。佛界就是指這個充滿活力及慈悲心的生命境界,而佛就是指能將這個境界固定為自己主要生命狀態的人。但是,大部分人都未能察覺到自己的這種潛能,也不知道如何將其發揮。

《法華經》揭示佛法的最高真理,即每個人皆可成佛。基於這個教義,六世紀的中國佛教學者智頤(即天台大師,或稱天台)建構了一套哲學系統,以一念三千這個法理來解釋為何萬人成佛是可能的。這法理闡明每一個人都是一個小宇宙,而每一瞬間的生命狀態都會反映在生活中的每一層面,包括人們生存的社會環境以及自然環境。

三千這個數字則是生命實際呈現於現實的各個法則相乘所得的結果。

十界

相關文章 《法華經》中的寶塔,生命中的寶塔 《法華經》中的寶塔,生命中的寶塔 在寫給一名信徒的信中,日蓮論及這宇宙至高的法則到底存在何處。誠如日蓮所寫的:「持法華經之男女,其身之外,別無寶塔也」(「予阿佛法師書(阿佛房御書)」,《日蓮大聖人御書全集》第1371頁),那其實是在人人生命深處。 組成三千這個數字的第一部分是十界,即十種生命的境界或狀態。十界以自由意志、慈悲心及感受到的幸福程度為基準來排列,由低至高的順序為:(一)地獄、(二)餓鬼、(三)畜生、(四)修羅、(五)人、(六)天、(七)聲聞、(八)緣覺、(九)菩薩、(十)佛。

過去,人們以為十界是指人所出生的十個不同且獨立存在的地方。十界中的前六界源自古代印度六道輪迴的思想體系。人們相信,誕生在哪一個世界取決於前世的行為,而一旦生在某一個世界,就會終生被禁錮在其中,並在這六界中無止境地反覆生死。

佛教思想將六道的思想做了修正,闡述六道並不是指外在的環境,而是人的內心狀態。舉例來說,畜生界描繪的是一個完全受本能欲望支配的境界,沒有理性,也沒有道德感。十界中較低的六界的生命狀態,就是:地獄界、餓鬼界、畜生界、修羅界、人界以及天界。

地獄界指的是悲慘痛苦、完全沒有自由的境界。餓鬼界則是被無盡的欲望所奴役,畜生界的特色已在前面說明。修羅界的特色是憎恨、憤怒及乖僻剛愎,完全以自我為中心,一心只想超越他人。在人界中,人們會出於理性及希望達到更高境界而努力控制自己的欲望及衝動。天界則是感覺到滿足與歡喜的境界,但因為取決於外在因素,所以這份喜悅是短暫易逝的。

根據亙及過去、現在、未來三世的因果法則,我們在過去累積的因,會導致我們的生命傾向於停留在某個特定的境界中。不僅如此,我們也依據自己當下的生命狀態來感受這個世界。因此,就算處於相同的環境中,不同的人會以不同的內心狀態,或可說是透過不同的濾鏡來觀看現實,所得到的結果也迴然不同。

佛法教導,如果我們能夠擁有領悟生命真實的智慧及洞察力,我們的生命就能顯現佛界。佛界是生命的最高境界,其特徵就是我們生命中本有的無限智慧、慈悲以及勇氣。為能達到這個目標,我們必須竭盡全力來脫離六個較低的生命境界。

佛法中還描述了三個高於六道的境界:聲聞、緣覺及菩薩界。聲聞及緣覺都是部分得道的境界,悟得萬物的無常及六道生命的不定。聲聞境界的人是透過聽聞佛法教義而得此領悟,而緣覺的人們是靠自己悟得。菩薩界的人同樣追求真理,但會更進一步地以慈悲的行動為他人的幸福作出貢獻。

《法華經》指出,佛界與其他九界一樣,都存在於每個人的生命中,是每個人於今世擁有的潛能。相對於《法華經》的這個說法,其他經典教示,凡夫必須歷經一世又一世的艱苦修行才能逐漸修得佛的德行。

十界互具

《法華經》跟其他佛教經典的另外一個不同處,在於闡述了十界互具的法理,說明十界中的每一界同時包含了其他九界。這裡指出,生命並不是固定在某一境界,而是任何時刻都可能顯現其他的任何一界。這個原理闡明,我們有可能改變自己的生命境界,因為儘管看起來像身處於某一特定境界,但其他九界卻儼然存在於我們生命中,雖然是冥伏的狀態。

相關文章 執著與解脫 執著與解脫 但凡為人,就難免抱有執著。我們有求生欲,我們有關心牽掛的人、有希望取得成功的事業,我們各有所好――雖說這種種執著均有可能帶來煩惱與痛苦,但從另一個角度來看,執著本身不正是為人的象徵嗎?畢竟,缺乏酸甜苦辣的菜肴難以入口,缺乏喜怒哀樂的人生亦乏味不充實。 在某一瞬間顯現出十界中的哪一個境界,取決於我們對周遭環境的反應。人的生命境界固然會在每一瞬間有所改變,但是從比較寬廣的角度來看,我們的活動總是圍繞著一個或某些特定的境界打轉,最終還是會回到同樣的境界。

十界互具的法理意味著每個人在任何時刻都有可能顯現佛界。透過不間斷的佛道修行,為自己及他人的幸福努力,捨棄自己的成見及錯誤的想法,淬鍊自己內在本有的慈悲及智慧,我們就能鞏固生命中本有的佛界。佛界並不是一個抽象的概念,它會在我們的日常行為中展現為慈悲、智慧與為自他幸福的努力。

成佛並不意味著徹底根除其他九界,而是指在生命本有的佛界影響之下,九界中的正面特質會顯現出來,繼而為構築自身及他人的幸福做出貢獻。

十如是

除了十界以及十界互具,組成三千諸法的另一部分是「十如是」。十界法理描述的是生命各種不同的表現,十如是則列舉了在所有生命狀態都共通存在的層面,解釋了因果法則如何觸發十界中的任何一界。

不管呈現出來的是十界中的哪一個境界,所有生命都擁有同樣的十個元素,分別為:(一)相、(二)性、(三)體、(四)力、(五)作、(六)因、(七)緣、(八)果、(九)報、(十)本末究竟等。

前三個如是「相、性、體」描述生命的基本結構,也就是顯現十界的實體。接下來的六如是「力、作、因、緣、果、報」闡述因果法則如何在生活中運作,以及十界藉什麼方式在實體上顯現。生命的實體包含了可以被感官察覺的屬性(相)以及不能被察覺的屬性(性)。

第十個如是「本末究竟等」闡述十如是在十界中的任何一界都具有一致性。最重要的是,這意味著佛界此一不受動搖的幸福境界本來就存在於生命中,並且作為內在的因,當我們接觸到一個觸動此內在因的外緣時,就能充分展現並發揮生命中的佛界。

三世間

三千諸法的最後一部分是三世間的法理,這裡從三個不同的觀點來分析我們的生命,並說明每個人在現實生活中的存在方式。

相關文章 女人成佛 女人成佛 每一個人都具有達到無比幸福的潛力及權利是《法華經》的中心思想。 三世間指的是:(一)五陰世間(包括色、受、想、行、識。色是構成生命的物質面,其他四項是生命的精神面)、(二)眾生世間(眾生是由五陰暫時和合而成,顯示或經歷十界中的任何一界),以及(三)國土世間(支持眾生生存的環境)。

三世間代表的是人們生存的現實世界,不是分別存在,而是統合為一個整體,同時顯現十界中的任何一個境界。

人們在某一瞬間的生命境界因此由三個因素決定:十界互具(十界乘以十界等於百界)、十如是以及三世間。世間諸法的總數就是由這些因素相乘而得,即三千,這也意味著所有生命瞬間都有三千個可能的表現方式。

每個人都擁有無限的可能性

一念三千的哲學體系為人們帶來希望,因為它主張,我們每一瞬間的生活現實都是我們生命境界的作用,當生命境界有所改變時,現實也會展現新的面貌。此外,這樣的理念鼓勵人們關懷他人、投入現實生活裡挑戰,並給予人們勇敢堅定地面對和超越困難的力量。

生命是不斷變化的,每一瞬間都包含了無數可見及不可見的可能性。最重要的是,佛界存在於每個人的生命中,一旦在現實中顯現佛界,生命中無限的可能性以及人類最崇高的願望,都變得觸手可及。

日蓮將一念三千的法理視為佛陀教導的核心法理,並確立了一種修行方式來讓眾生在日常生活中就可以體驗佛的境界:確信自己的佛性並唱念「南無妙法蓮華經」,這樣的修行方式讓人們在生活中實現了一念三千的法理。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

Three Thousand Realms in a Single Moment of Life

39119

popularity

[© DrAfter123/DigitalVision Vectors/Getty Images]

Each person’s life contains infinite potential; this is the core belief of Nichiren Buddhism. The Buddhist concept of “three thousand realms in a single moment of life” serves to give us some idea of quite how much possibility exists in each instant of our lives.

While it may be possible to accept this idea of infinite potential in theory, in reality we tend to feel limited in our possibilities, often resulting from a narrow view of ourselves and the world. Our sense of values or purpose, what we tend to focus our energies on or how we define happiness all affect how we perceive and experience our environment. We can exist quite comfortably within a limited view of ourselves and the world, but when challenged by a problem or obstacle, we may suffer as a result of feeling overwhelmed, helpless or afraid.

Three thousand realms in a single moment of life is an analytical explanation of how differences in values, sense of purpose and view of happiness appear as differences in one’s environment. It is a teaching that expounds how the quality of one’s environment is determined in response to what one considers happiness to be and the kinds of desires one holds.

The practice of Nichiren Buddhism enables us to draw on inexhaustible inner reserves of courage, hope and resilience to surmount challenges and go beyond what we thought was possible. We are also able to help others do the same. “Buddhahood” describes this dynamic, compassionate life condition, and a Buddha is someone who has firmly established this condition as their predominant life state. Most people, however, are unaware of this possibility or how to actualize it.

The Lotus Sutra reveals the ultimate truth of Buddhism, that everyone can attain this state of Buddhahood. Based on its teachings, the sixth-century Chinese Buddhist teacher Zhiyi (the Great Teacher Tiantai, or T’ien-t’ai) developed a philosophical system to explain why this is possible, which he termed “three thousand realms in a single moment of life” (Jpn. ichinen sanzen). The principle reveals that each individual life is a microcosm of the universe and the life condition of an individual at any point in time is reflected in all aspects of their life, including the society in which they live and the natural environment.

The number three thousand refers to the multitude of laws through which the ultimate reality is manifested.

Ten Worlds

related article Courage Courage What may to one person seem a simple problem may be experienced by another as overwhelming and insurmountable. But the process of summoning up the courage required to take action is always the same regardless of how seemingly big or small the challenge. The first component of the three thousand realms is the principle of the Ten Worlds, which describes the state or condition of our lives. They are, in ascending order of the degree of free will, compassion and happiness one feels: the worlds of (1) hell, (2) hungry spirits, (3) animals, (4) asuras, (5) human beings, (6) heavenly beings, (7) voice-hearers, (8) cause-awakened ones, (9) bodhisattvas, and (10) Buddhas.

At one time, it was thought that these were ten distinct and separate places into which people were born. The first six of the Ten Worlds derive from the idea of the “six paths,” an ancient Indian paradigm concerning reincarnation. It was thought that the particular world or state of life into which people were born was fixed for a lifetime and determined by the things they had done in past lifetimes and that people endlessly repeated the cycle of birth and death confined within these six worlds.

Buddhism refined the concept of the six paths, explaining that they exist not as external worlds but as internal states. For example, the world of animals represents a world ruled solely by instinctive desires devoid of reason and a sense of morality. Likewise, the states of life corresponding to the six lower worlds can be characterized as the states of: hell, hunger, animality, anger, humanity, and heaven (or rapture).

The world of hell indicates a state of misery and suffering, devoid of all freedom. The world of hungry spirits is governed by insatiable desire. The world of animals is described above. The world of asuras is marked by animosity, anger and perversion. It is a condition dominated by ego and the need to surpass others. The world of human beings is a state in which we strive to control our desires and impulses through reason and aspire for a higher state of life. The world of heavenly beings is a condition of contentment and joy, though temporary because dependent upon circumstances.

Our propensity to dwell in particular life states is a result of the causes we have made in the past, in accordance with the law of cause and effect, which spans past, present and future existences. Moreover, we experience the world around us in accordance with our life state at that moment. Therefore, even though different people may exist in the same physical place, the inner state of their heart, or the lens through which they perceive reality, can differ greatly.

Buddhism teaches that if we can achieve the requisite wisdom and insight to comprehend the true nature of our lives, we can manifest the life state of Buddhahood—the supreme state of life characterized by infinite compassion, wisdom and courage that is inherent in the depths of our being. To do this, we have to make strenuous efforts to transcend the life states of the six lower worlds.

Buddhism identifies three further, “higher” worlds: the worlds of voice-hearers (or learning), cause-awakened ones (or realization), and bodhisattvas. The worlds of voice-hearers and cause-awakened ones are characterized by partial enlightenment, an awareness of the impermanence of all things and the instability of a life lived in the six paths. Those in the world of voice-hearers come to this awakening through listening to Buddhist teachings, while those in the world of cause-awakened ones awaken to these truths on their own. Similarly, those in the world of Bodhisattva seek after truth but go one step further by compassionately working for the happiness of others.

The Lotus Sutra clarifies that the world of Buddhahood, as with the other nine worlds, is equally inherent in the lives of all people and thus is a potential open to all within this lifetime. This is in contrast to teachings other than the Lotus Sutra, which state that individuals have to carry out strenuous practices over countless lifetimes in order to gradually acquire the attributes of a Buddha.

Mutual Possession of the Ten Worlds

The Lotus Sutra is distinct from other teachings also because it expounds the mutual possession of the Ten Worlds, clarifying that each of the Ten Worlds encompasses all of the other worlds. This indicates that life is not fixed in one of the Ten Worlds but at any moment can manifest any one of them. Because of this principle, it is possible for us to change our state of life, for although we may “inhabit” a particular world, the other nine are present, though dormant, in our lives.

related article The Ten Factors of Life The Ten Factors of Life Underlying the astounding diversity of life’s manifestations are ten common elements. Buddhism calls these the “Ten Factors of Life.” Which of the Ten Worlds will manifest at any given moment depends on our response to the influences in our environment. One’s life state may fluctuate from one moment to the next, but from a broader perspective, there is always one state or several states around which our activities revolve and to which we are most likely to revert.

The mutual possession of the Ten Worlds implies that all individuals have the potential to manifest Buddhahood at any given moment. Through continuing effort in Buddhist practice—practicing for the happiness of oneself, dismantling one’s prejudices and mistaken beliefs, polishing the inherent qualities of wisdom and compassion—we can solidify the world of Buddhahood inherent within our life. Buddhahood is not an abstract idea; it reveals itself tangibly in our daily behavior in the form of compassion, wisdom and our efforts to establish happiness for ourselves and others.

Attaining Buddhahood does not mean eradicating the lower nine worlds. Instead, under the influence of our inherent Buddhahood, the positive aspects of these worlds become manifest, contributing to the construction of happiness for ourselves and others.

The Ten Factors of Life

Together with the Ten Worlds and their mutual possession, the next component of the three thousand realms is the principle of “the ten factors of life.” While the Ten Worlds describe life’s differing expressions, the ten factors describe elements common to all things. It explains how the law of cause and effect activates any of the Ten Worlds.

All life equally possess the same ten factors, regardless of which of the Ten Worlds it manifests. The ten factors are (1) appearance, (2) nature, (3) entity, (4) power, (5) influence, (6) internal cause, (7) relation, (8) latent effect, (9) manifest effect, and (10) consistency from beginning to end.

The first three factors (appearance, nature and entity) describe the life entity, which manifests the Ten Worlds. The next six (power, influence, internal cause, relation, latent effect and manifest effect) describe the law of cause and effect—the way in which the Ten Worlds become manifest in the entity. Thus, a life “entity” has attributes that can be perceived by the senses (appearance) and attributes that cannot (nature).

The tenth factor, consistency from beginning to end, means that the ten factors are consistent for each of the Ten Worlds. Most saliently, this means that Buddhahood, a life state of unwavering happiness, is inherently present in our lives as an internal cause, and when we come in contact with a “relation” that opens that internal cause, we fully flower and harness the workings of the world of Buddhahood in our lives.

The Three Realms of Existence

The final component of the three thousand realms is the principle of the “three realms of existence.” This concept views life from three different standpoints and explains the existence of individual lives in the real world.

related article The Treasure Tower The Treasure Tower "In a letter to a follower, Nichiren explains where the ultimate reality exists. It is in the depths of the lives of all people. He writes, 'No treasure tower exists other than the figures of the men and women who embrace the Lotus Sutra.'" The three realms are (1) the realm of the five components (form, perception, conception, volition, and consciousness; form corresponds to the physical aspect of life, the other four components to the spiritual aspect), (2) the realm of living beings (the individual living being, formed of a temporary union of the five components, that manifests or experiences any of the Ten Worlds), and (3) the realm of the environment (the individual environment that supports the existence of the living being).

The three realms, then, represent the actual world of the individual. They are not separate but, rather, are an integrated whole which simultaneously manifests any of the Ten Worlds.

In this way, one’s life condition at any given moment is determined by three elements: the mutual possession of the Ten Worlds (10 worlds × 10 worlds = 100 worlds), the ten factors of life and the three realms of existence. Therefore, the dimensions that exist in this world are the number that results from multiplying these elements, or 3,000. This also means that any single life has the potential to express 3,000 dimensions.

The Boundless Possibilities of Each Person

The philosophical system of the three thousand realms in a single moment of life provides a basis for hope, for it posits that our reality at each moment is a function of our life state, that when our life state changes, the world itself appears in a new light. Furthermore, it is a philosophy that promotes engagement with others and with the challenges of society and empowers one to squarely face and surmount obstacles.

Life is dynamic—each moment is rich with myriad seen and unseen possibilities. Most crucially, the world of Buddhahood is universally inherent in all beings, and when this becomes our manifest reality, life’s most profound possibilities, humanity’s most sublime hopes, come into reach.

Nichiren described the principle of three thousand realms in a single moment of life as the heart and core of the Buddha’s teachings and established a practice to enable all people to experience the life state of Buddhahood in their daily lives. This practice of chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo with faith in our inherent Buddha nature actualizes the principle of three thousand realms in a single moment of life in the life of the practitioner.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top