十界

7682

热门

(© Vilhjalmur Ingi Vilhjalmsson/Getty Images)

日复一日,每时每刻,我们的生命状态都转变不停。早上睡醒时或许因为意识到周末即将到来而感到雀跃、期待不已,然而心情可能在上班途中因遇到交通状况而变差,上班迟到又害怕见到上司不愉快的脸色,最后还因接了一份突如其来的工作,为整个周末都要花在处理一大叠文件上,而感到郁闷与懊恼。但在见到同事有烦恼时,我们尝试协助和开导他,心情可能稍微好转。

佛法将人的生命状态归类为十界。透过这个实用的概念,我们可以理解情绪波动、性格秉性的本质。更重要的是,我们可从这概念中体会到,生命在每时每刻都含有无限的可能性。

十界在佛教的人生观中占有核心地位,根据主导自己人生的能力、慈悲心及幸福等的强弱程度,由最低到最高的境界排序为(一)地狱、(二)饿鬼、(三)畜生、(四)修罗、(五)人、(六)天、(七)声闻、(八)缘觉、(九)菩萨、(十)佛。

在古印度,这曾经被看成不同的世界,芸芸众生会因前世所行的善或恶,而诞生在这些世界之中。根据当时的思想,这些世界只有六个,从地狱至天,合称六道,人们一旦诞生在某个世界,就会无休止地在那里生死轮回。

佛法是在这样的社会思潮中出现,其目的是让众生摆脱这六道的束缚。

在佛法的诸多教义中,《法华经》更改进了这想法,把十界定义为每个生命每一刻都完全具备的十个状态。

相关文章 佛法概念精选 佛法概念精选 何谓行菩萨道?如何培养慈悲心?南无妙法莲华经又含有什么意义?以下文章探讨这些问题,以及几个佛法生命观中的重要概念。 《法华经》之前的经典劝勉人们行善、修行佛法,以求以更高的生命境界诞生于世。这些经典教导,善行可以抵销恶行的积累。

《法华经》却阐释,每个人的生命是十界俱全的,这也包括佛界。生命在每一刻都展现其中一界,而每一界之中又另外具有十界,这就是十界互具的法门。这就意味着,人在任何一刻在接触到外在的机缘或因素时,都可以显现包括佛界在内的十界中任何一界。

显现佛界的外在因素,就是阐述成佛真意、一生成佛的教导,日莲用汉字将这至理绘制成一幅御本尊,教导向御本尊唱念南无妙法莲华经,深信自身的佛界,就可将其显现,发挥佛的品德,如智慧、慈悲及无畏的精神。

由地狱界至佛界

地狱界的人深受痛苦束缚无法自拔,生活本身就是一种煎熬,映入眼帘的一切,都带有不幸与悲惨的色彩。饿鬼界的人对精神或物质的欲望有无止境。畜生界的人愚昧,言行举止仅凭本能,只关心眼前的利益,无道德伦理可言。由于地狱界、饿鬼界和畜生界是三个代表了痛苦的境界,因此有三恶道的统称。

在古印度的宗教观中,阿修罗是一种凶悍的恶神。修罗界的人处于一种怒火中烧的状态,这样的人自高自大,非把别人比下去而不快,另一个扭曲的心理,就是会为了目的阿谀奉承别人而隐藏自己的真实感受。

相关文章 《法华经》中的宝塔,生命中的宝塔 《法华经》中的宝塔,生命中的宝塔 在写给一名信徒的信中,日莲论及这宇宙至高的法则到底存在何处。诚如日莲所写的:“持《法华经》之男女,其身之外,别无宝塔也”(〈与阿佛法师书(阿佛房御书)〉《日莲大圣人御书全集》1371页),那其实是在人人生命深处。 人界是个平静无波的状态。处于这境界的人理解到因果的法则,在某种程度上,有能力分辨善与恶。但这境界容易受外在不良因素影响,缺乏自力更生、孜孜不倦的精神,难以维持。

在古印度,人们相信善行有善报,下一世可以以天人的身分诞生在天界。在佛法看来,天界是欲望得到满足时所感到的喜悦。这种喜悦是短暂的,随着时间的推移或情况的改变而烟消云散。

由地狱到天的境界合称六道,这六道的生命没有真正的自由或自主,佛法鼓励人们超越六道,透过佛法修行,建立一个幸福由自己掌握的境界。

声闻界的人是听闻佛的说法而得到某个程度的领悟,缘觉界的人则是凭自己之力透过观察得到领悟。这两个生命境界的人理解因果法则,也领悟到生命无常的道理。有了这样的领悟就可了解到,如果从执着中取得解脱,就不会受痛苦束缚。

声闻和缘觉这两个境界有个缺陷,那就是那样的人以自我为中心,一味沉浸在自我陶醉中。在大乘佛教的诸经中,释尊严斥这些弟子,说他们只满足于自己肤浅的领悟,不愿为真正成佛的目标发愤图强。

菩萨界的目标是成佛。佛界本身就是一个为从苦难中解救众生,自强不息的境界,这是菩萨界的人想要达成的理想,也是菩萨界与其他境界最大的区别。菩萨界慈悲为怀,济苦救难,这样的人能发挥同苦心,一心一意为痛苦挣扎中的人伸出援手,让他们心感欢喜。

佛界是生命所能够展现的最高境界。真正的佛与一般人对佛所持有的形象有别,并非什么脱离常理的超然存在。佛是“觉者”之意,佛领悟了妙法的根本意义──生命无比尊贵,人人都有其有待发掘的潜力,为自己积累善德,也造福周遭环境。这意味着,妙法是每个生命的根本,领悟这点并以此领悟为出发采取行动的人,就是展现佛界的人。

相关文章 感恩 感恩 感恩的心宛如一把钥匙,让人敞开充实人生的门扉,指向更崇高的心境,拥有更广阔的视野。 尽管佛界是每个人的生命中都存在的潜能,要在日常生活中展现出来依然极其困难。日莲为此确立了唱念“南无妙法莲华经”的修行,为众生打开成佛的大门,让他们无论处于任何环境,都可展现佛界。

如果用现代语言来形容佛界的话,那就是一个在任何情况中,无论遭遇任何困难,均享有绝对不崩溃幸福的境界。这并不表示在那样的境界,人们完全无需面对问题或痛苦,相反的,他们充满朝气、有源源不绝的生命力、可以发挥无限智慧,欣然面对一切问题与痛苦。更重要的是,诚如池田大作所说的那样,佛界代表了“在心中立下为自他幸福奋力不懈的宏愿”,那样的人怀抱着希望,心感大满足。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回页首

Ten Worlds

43557

popularity

[© Vilhjalmur Ingi Vilhjalmsson/Getty Images]

From day to day, moment to moment, our state of life is susceptible to change. We may wake up feeling full of joyful anticipation at the thought of the approaching weekend, only to be thrown into a state of rage in the traffic on the way to work. Arriving late at the office, we cower at the thought of our boss’ disapproval. Then, saddled with an unexpected work assignment and the thought of our weekend disappearing under a pile of paperwork, we begin to feel trapped and resentful. But noticing the stress and unhappiness of a colleague, we offer them encouragement and assistance and begin to feel better ourselves.

Buddhism categorizes this seemingly infinite range of life states into ten inner “worlds.” This concept of the “Ten Worlds” offers a useful framework for understanding both the changeable nature of our moods and the basic nature or tendencies of our character. More significantly, it provides us with a sense of the great possibility inherent in life at each moment.

The principle of the Ten Worlds forms the foundation of the Buddhist view of life. The worlds are, in ascending order of the degree of free will, compassion and happiness one feels, the worlds of: (1) hell, (2) hungry spirits, (3) animals, (4) asuras, (5) human beings (6) heavenly beings, (7) voice-hearers, (8) cause-awakened ones, (9) bodhisattvas, and (10) Buddhas.

At one time in ancient India, it was thought that these were distinct, separate and fixed realms into which beings were born, in accordance with the good or evil they had performed in past lifetimes. It was thought that they endlessly repeated the cycle of birth and death confined to one of the first six worlds (from the world of hell to heavenly beings), also known as the “six paths.”

Buddhism developed in this context as a practice offering the possibility of transcending and freeing oneself from these six paths.

Among the teachings of Buddhism, the Lotus Sutra further revolutionized this paradigm, teaching that the Ten Worlds are ten states of life equally inherent within each living being at each moment.

related article Courage Courage What may to one person seem a simple problem may be experienced by another as overwhelming and insurmountable. But the process of summoning up the courage required to take action is always the same regardless of how seemingly big or small the challenge. The pre-Lotus Sutra teachings taught that it is possible to be born in a higher or more enlightened life state depending on one’s actions, specifically by carrying out acts of good and practicing the Buddha way. By accumulating good acts, one offsets the balance of evil acts one may have accumulated.

The Lotus Sutra, by contrast, teaches that the life states of all of the Ten Worlds, including that of Buddhahood, are inherently present in one’s life. Life at each moment manifests one of the Ten Worlds. And each of these worlds possesses the potential for all ten within it (the principle of “the mutual possession of the Ten Worlds”). Therefore it is possible to open up any of these life states, including Buddhahood, at any moment through contact with an external stimulus that enables one to do so.

The stimulus that opens the world of Buddhahood is the teaching that expounds the truth of the Buddha’s enlightenment, namely that it is possible to immediately open this world within oneself. Nichiren embodied this teaching and principle in the physical object of the Gohonzon—a scroll inscribed with Chinese characters. He taught that by chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo to the Gohonzon with faith in our inherent Buddhahood, we are able to open the world of Buddhahood within us and harness the Buddha virtues such as wisdom, compassion and courage.

From Hell to Buddhahood

The world of hell is a life state in which one is imprisoned by suffering and completely lacking in freedom. Living is itself painful, and everything we see is colored by our unhappiness and misery. The world of hungry spirits, or the life state of hunger, is a state where one is spiritually and physically tormented by insatiable craving. The world of animals, or the life state of animality (reflecting the ancient Indian conception of the nature of animals) is characterized by foolishness in the sense of being moved by impulse and concerned only with immediate benefit and gratification. In this condition, the ability to make moral and ethical judgments is lacking. Because the worlds of hell, hungry spirits and animals all represent conditions of suffering, they are collectively known as the Three Evil Paths.

In ancient Indian mythology asuras were contentious demons. A characteristic of the world of asuras, or the life state of anger, is an obsession with personal superiority or self-importance, a tendency to always compare oneself to others and want to be better than them. Another characteristic of this life state is the “perversity” of concealing one’s true feelings in order to ingratiate oneself with others.

related article The Ten Factors of Life The Ten Factors of Life Underlying the astounding diversity of life’s manifestations are ten common elements. Buddhism calls these the “Ten Factors of Life.” The world of human beings, or the life state of humanity, is a calm, composed, humane state. People in this condition understand the principle of cause and effect and are rational enough to know the difference between good and evil. This state of life is, however, susceptible to negative external conditions and cannot be sustained without a constant effort toward self-improvement and personal development.

In ancient India, it was believed that those who performed good acts in their present life would be reborn as deities in the heavenly realm. In Buddhism, the world of heavenly beings, or the life state of heaven, is regarded as a condition of joy or rapture experienced when our desires are fulfilled. However, such joy is not lasting. It fades and disappears with the passage of time and as situations change.

The worlds from hell to heavenly beings—the “six paths”—are easily influenced by external circumstances, so these life states are not truly free or autonomous. Buddhism encourages people to transcend the six paths and develop a self-determined state of happiness through Buddhist practice.

The world of voice-hearers is the life state attained by those who gain a partial awakening through hearing the Buddha’s teachings, while the world of cause-awakened ones refers to the life state attained by those who gain a partial awakening through their own observations and effort. These two life states are characterized by an awareness of the principle of cause and effect and the truth that nothing in life is permanent. This is the basis of the realization that attachment to various things is a source of suffering and that to do away with attachment leads to liberation.

The limitation of these life states is a tendency toward self-centeredness and self-absorption. In the Mahayana Buddhist scriptures, such disciples were criticized by the Buddha for a kind of self-satisfaction that made them unwilling to extend themselves past the limits of their partial awakening to strive for the full enlightenment of the Buddha.

People in the world of Bodhisattvas strive to attain the enlightenment of the Buddha. What distinguishes them is their aspiration for the enlightened life state manifested by their mentor, the Buddha, who works tirelessly to free people from suffering. Bodhisattvas are characterized by compassion and altruism—an empathy for the pain and sorrow of others and a desire to help relieve them of that suffering and find joy.

Lastly, the world of Buddhahood, describes the most supremely noble state of life that a living being can manifest. It is not, however, a superhuman or supernatural state of being. The term “Buddha” means “awakened one.” What a Buddha is awakened to is the underlying principle of the “Mystic Law”—that all life possess intrinsic, irreplaceable value, that all living beings are capable of harnessing unique strengths and creating good within themselves and the environment. In other words, each living being is itself a manifestation of the Mystic Law. Those who awaken to this and take action based upon it are Buddhas.

related article The Treasure Tower The Treasure Tower "In a letter to a follower, Nichiren explains where the ultimate reality exists. It is in the depths of the lives of all people. He writes, 'No treasure tower exists other than the figures of the men and women who embrace the Lotus Sutra.'" Although the life state of Buddhahood is originally inherent in each of us, it is difficult to manifest in our daily lives. The Buddhist practice established by Nichiren (that of chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, or devotion to the Mystic Law) is revolutionary in that it provides a means for all people to bring forth the world of Buddhahood at any time, regardless of their circumstances.

This life state of Buddhahood can be described in contemporary terms as a state of absolute and indestructible happiness unaffected by circumstantial changes or difficulties. Although this does not imply freedom from sufferings and problems, it does indicate possession of a vibrant, sturdy life force and abundant wisdom to challenge and overcome all the sufferings and difficulties we may encounter. Most importantly, however, in the words of SGI President Ikeda, attaining Buddhahood means “to solidify in our lives a spirit of yearning for the happiness of oneself and others, and to continuously take constructive action with that spirit.” It is a life state of ultimate hope and fulfillment.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top