因果俱时

1178

热门

(© Masahiro Makino/Getty Images)

佛法阐明因果法则存在于一切森罗万象运作的背后。积极的思想言行,对自己的人生产生积极影响,导向幸福。相反地,消极的、有损生命尊严的思想言行,会导致不幸。这是因缘果报的原理。

《法华经》以外的佛典,认为佛道修行是一段渐进的转换历程。怀有各种宿业的凡夫,须要经过生生世世的历劫修行,来逐渐使自身升华至完美无缺的境界──佛界。这个完善自我的过程需要非常艰苦的修行,一面积聚善因,一面消除过去恶因所积聚的恶果,和避免造成新的恶因。

但是在日莲佛法上,支配成佛的是在《法华经》里教示的一种更深奥的因果法则。

以我们凡夫的姿态

《法华经》对人及成佛提示出一个完全不同的看法。《法华经》指出,迷和悟,或凡夫和成佛,是人生命本来具有的两个层面、两种可能性,而生命本身是中立和没有偏向的。即使迷误可能是人之常情,但显现佛性并不须要从根本改变我们的本质。事实上,以为佛界是远离我们平凡现实的这个想法本身才是迷误。

相关文章 佛法概念精选 佛法概念精选 何谓行菩萨道?如何培养慈悲心?南无妙法莲华经又含有什么意义?以下文章探讨这些问题,以及几个佛法生命观中的重要概念。 《法华经》与之前的其他经典在悟达看法上的差异,也可透过十界论来加以解释。这个概念是以从地狱界至佛界这十界,来形容随着我们的人生取向、对环境的反应时时刻刻不断变动的生命境界。《法华经》之前的经典认为,凡夫在九界(因)中进行佛道修行,最后达至成佛(果),九界随之被佛界取代而完全消失。

相对地,《法华经》明言,佛界和其他九界同时潜在于每一瞬间的生命中。信仰和修行时,佛界从冥伏中涌现,九界便退入冥伏状态。因果俱时的概念,表达出这个对成佛的革新看法。实际上九界(因)和佛界(果)是在我们生命中同时存在、同等具备的本有潜质。莲华是同时长出花(象征凡夫)和果(象征成佛)的植物,正好象征因果俱时。

立时就地

这两个对成佛看法上的分歧,也可以用电视游戏的比拟来作说明。一直以来对悟达过程的传统看法,就好像电视游戏的主角,要一步步克服种种本身的不足,集合各种力量和有用的道具,才能成功地进展至更高阶段。

而《法华经》对悟达的观点,就是游戏的主角一开始就已经拥有全部可以具备的力量,所需要的只是将之启动的手段。

日莲佛法的修行让我们得以立时就地显现潜在于生命中的佛性。

怀着确信自身本有佛性此信念唱念“南无妙法莲华经”(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo)这句题目,就好比输入“密码”来启动这潜能一般。日莲佛法的修行让我们得以立时就地显现潜在于生命中的佛性。

实际上,只要我们发挥出自身的佛性这本有潜能,自然能够跨越任何困难,开拓幸福和胜利的人生大道。再者,当我们的人生变成朝着希望和慈悲这个基本方向走时,甚至连我们的弱点和失败也能产生积极作用,化为能够体谅和关怀别人的力量根源。可是,这并不表示我们完全地、终于超脱本身可能产生的迷误。

涌现自身的佛界──即勇气、智慧、慈悲和生命力的悟性,使我们从而能够全面对应人生的种种问题、改善现实和实现悟达。

从这意义来说,难题、考验能让我们实在地展示出自身悟性的力量,藉此鼓励他人,让他人也可以仿效。佛法教导我们如何能够立时就地过着充满自信、悠然自得的人生,关键在于确信自身本有的悟性。

当我们完全确信自身拥有佛性和能够转换、战胜任何苦恼的能力时,各种难题就不再是逃避的对象,转而成为乐于接受的挑战。正面面对困难的这份持续的信心和决心本身就是佛性的显现,根据因果俱时的法则,必定会带来胜利的人生。

来源: 2013年4月号《SGI季刊》

─── 其他文章 ───


返回页首

The Simultaneity of Cause and Effect

29129

popularity

[© Masahiro Makino/Getty Images]

Buddhism teaches that the law of cause and effect underlies the workings of all phenomena. Positive thoughts, words and actions create positive effects in the lives of individuals, leading to happiness. Negative thoughts, words and actions on the other hand—those that in some way undermine the dignity of life—lead to unhappiness. This is the general principle of karma.

In Buddhist teachings other than the Lotus Sutra, Buddhist practice is understood as a gradual journey of transformation. This is a process in which, over the course of many lifetimes, the essentially flawed and imperfect common mortal gradually molds and transforms him- or herself into a state of perfection—Buddhahood. It is a process of self-perfection that requires painstaking efforts to accumulate positive causes while striving to extinguish the effects of past negative causes and avoiding new negative causes.

In Nichiren Buddhism, however, the attainment of Buddhahood is governed by a more profound principle of causality, as revealed in the Lotus Sutra.

As We Are

The Lotus Sutra offers a radically different view of the human being and of the attainment of Buddhahood. In the perspective of the Lotus Sutra, delusion and enlightenment—the common mortal and the Buddha—are the two aspects, or possibilities, that are equally inherent within life, though life itself is in essence neutral. While the “default” human condition may be that of delusion, manifesting our Buddhahood does not require a fundamental change in our nature. In fact, the idea that Buddhahood is somehow remote from our ordinary reality is itself a delusion.

related article Courage Courage What may to one person seem a simple problem may be experienced by another as overwhelming and insurmountable. But the process of summoning up the courage required to take action is always the same regardless of how seemingly big or small the challenge. This difference between the pre-Lotus Sutra and Lotus Sutra views of enlightenment can also be explained with reference to the concept of the Ten Worlds. This concept describes our inner state of life at any moment in terms of ten “worlds,” from hell to Buddhahood, which we move between constantly depending on how we direct our life and respond to our environment. In the pre-Lotus Sutra view, common mortals carry out Buddhist practice in the nine worlds (cause) and eventually attain Buddhahood (effect). The nine worlds disappear completely, replaced by the world of Buddhahood.

The Lotus Sutra, on the other hand, clarifies that Buddhahood and the other nine worlds are each eternally inherent possibilities of life at each moment. Through faith and practice, the world of Buddhahood, which is otherwise dormant, is brought forth and the nine worlds retreat into a state of dormancy. This revolutionary perspective on “attaining” Buddhahood is expressed in the concept of the simultaneity of cause and effect. The nine worlds (“cause”) and the world of Buddhahood (“effect”) are in fact equally inherent potentialities existing simultaneously in our lives. The concept is symbolized by the lotus plant, which bears flowers (symbolizing the common mortal) and fruit (symbolizing Buddhahood) at the same time.

Here and Now

The difference between these two views of Buddhahood could be described using the analogy of a video game. The conventional view of the process of enlightenment is like a game character who gradually overcomes an array of inherent flaws, accumulating various powers and useful tools while successfully passing through to the advanced stages of the game.

In the Lotus Sutra’s view of enlightenment, the game character is from the beginning already in possession of all the full powers possible, and only requires a means to unlock them.

The practice of Nichiren Buddhism is one of manifesting the potential of Buddhahood here and now.

Chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo with faith in one’s inherent Buddhahood could be compared to activating the “code” that unlocks this potential. The practice of Nichiren Buddhism is one of manifesting the potential of Buddhahood here and now.

In real terms this means that when we harness the inherent power of our Buddhahood, we can surmount any difficulty and establish a happy and victorious path of life. Furthermore, as the fundamental orientation of our life becomes one of hope and compassion, even our weaknesses and failings can function positively, becoming a source of understanding and thoughtfulness toward others. This does not mean, though, that we completely and finally transcend our capacity for delusion.

Bringing forth one’s enlightened nature—characterized by courage, wisdom, compassion and life force—one is then equipped to engage fully with the problems of life, change reality for the better and make enlightenment an actuality.

Problems and challenges, in this sense, serve as a means for us to demonstrate the strength and reality of our enlightened nature and to inspire others to do the same. Buddhism is about living confidently and expansively here and now. The key component in this is faith in our inherently enlightened nature.

When we have full confidence in our Buddha nature and our ability to transform and triumph over any kind of suffering, problems become challenges to be welcomed rather than avoided. This sustained sense of confidence and determination in the face of difficulties is itself a manifestation of our Buddha nature and, in accordance with the principle of the simultaneity of cause and effect, assures our success in life.

Adapted from an article in the April 2013 issue of the SGI Quarterly.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top