立正安国──为民众确立和平

2019

热门

照片来源:联合国图片/Andrea Brizzi/CC BY-NC-ND

1260年7月16日,日莲以《立正安国论》为题──意为“树立正确的思想以带来国家的安稳和平”──向当时的执政者提出了他最重要的谏书。这篇谏书激切地呼吁回归到佛法的初衷,也就是为人们确立和平与幸福。对日莲而言,只有透过坚定主张每个人都拥有无穷尊严及潜力的哲学,才能达成这个目标。

如果我们真正相信生命本有的尊严,一定会珍视自己以及他人的生命,并视解决苦难及消除暴力为人类最重要的课题。但是这个世界却充斥着本可避免的灾难、不平等及不公义的现象。日莲主张,要改变世界,必须由改变个人内心做起。

在日莲的时代,日本社会遭受一连串灾难之苦,包括地震、水患、瘟疫及火灾。一般的老百姓苦不堪言。日莲决心要找出这些灾难及混乱的根本原因,进而针对社会的基本信仰结构进行研究分析。在《立正安国论》中,日莲提出了他的结论。

日莲主张,要改变世界,必须由改变个人内心做起。

日莲特别注意到,虽然国内的佛教寺庙及僧侣比比皆是,但是他们的祈祷及行动并不能为民众带来和平及安稳的生活。

他认为社会上显现出来的混乱反映人心内在的失序,他写道:“是三毒强盛之一国,如何能得安稳?”日莲特别强调人性中的毁灭性冲动面与弥漫在社会上的战乱、饥荒与疫病具有因果关系。

他深信唯有佛法才能让人们有力量克服自己心中的毒。但是在广泛地钻研佛法之后,他得到的结论是,当时人们信仰的佛法只会让人们变得被动而容易受到这些毒的动摇,根本无法使人们变得坚强到足以抵抗它们。

现世安稳

相关文章 佛法概念精选 佛法概念精选 何谓行菩萨道?如何培养慈悲心?南无妙法莲华经又含有什么意义?以下文章探讨这些问题,以及几个佛法生命观中的重要概念。 日莲特别反对当时一般人对于佛教的看法,就是佛教能使人死后到极乐世界,而对今世的辛劳悲痛只有死心强忍。日莲相信,佛教的宗旨应该是带给人们更好的境遇:这辈子就可以得到的幸福及快乐。

日莲深信,佛法真正的目的在《法华经》中表达得最为直接明确,也就是使人们觉知,众生皆有无穷的潜力,与生俱来便是坚强并有智慧的,而且总是有能力将自身的环境及社会朝更好的方向转变。正确的佛道修行应该能在我们的生命深处带来正面的转变,这种生命内部的改变能让我们的慈悲心超越负面的冲动面以及想凌驾他人的自私欲望,也让人们有能力改变环境,最终甚至能将人类社会转变成一个理想与和平的国度。

《立正安国论》是以对话的形式,写出主人与客人针对国家动荡状况进行的讨论。客人代表当时日本最高的掌权者北条时赖,他描述当时社会如下:“死亡之辈,既超大半,敢无一人不为其悲恸者!”在主人与客人探讨造成社会混乱原因的过程中,代表日莲立场的主人指出,佛典中早已提出警告,如果情况未能获得改善,国家将会因内部的武力冲突以及外国的侵略而持续衰落(日莲的预言成真,1272年日本国内发生政变,1274年蒙古大军试图入侵日本,后者是前所未有的外患)。

日莲主要的动机源自于他对庶民的悲惨情况感受到的沉痛共鸣。他曾经誓愿要引导自己及他人共同获得幸福,而这意味着要努力使人们觉醒所具备的挑战命运的能力。日莲这番直言不讳的决意,如同他在文中写道:“不可不言,不可不恐”,为自己带来直至今日仍然颇受争议的声誉。

和平哲学

相关文章 《法华经》中的宝塔,生命中的宝塔 《法华经》中的宝塔,生命中的宝塔 在写给一名信徒的信中,日莲论及这宇宙至高的法则到底存在何处。诚如日莲所写的:“持《法华经》之男女,其身之外,别无宝塔也”(〈与阿佛法师书(阿佛房御书)〉《日莲大圣人御书全集》1371页),那其实是在人人生命深处。 在一段重要的文句中,日莲要求执政者“早改信仰之寸心”。以现代的表达方式来说,就是改变我们自身以及我们内心深处对生命本质的信念。

池田大作在谈论这项改革时提到:“重要的是,如何在整个社会中活用‘万人皆佛’此《法华经》的和平大哲学。以社会层面而言,就是要让‘立正’所标榜的‘敬人’哲学与‘生命尊严’的理念,确立能成维系及左右社会的原理。”

今天,许多人活在困惑、空虚以及绝望感中。无论对于改变自身的生命、或是改变社会,他们都感到无能为力。

任何宗教或是哲学,本都应该带给人们力量,让他们不论在面对从生命内部产生的或是外部社会带来的绝望、疏离感以及破坏作用时,都能够获得胜利。

为了创造一个以生命为最高价值的和平世纪,最重要的是我们要怀抱一种主张生命美好、尊严以及具有无限潜力的哲学。这就是日莲的《立正安国论》所要传达的最终讯息。

来源: 2003年7月号《SGI季刊》

─── 其他文章 ───


返回页首

Rissho Ankoku—Securing Peace for the People

20179

popularity

[Photo by UN Photo/Andrea Brizzi/CC BY-NC-ND]

On July 16, 1260, Nichiren presented his most important treatise, titled Rissho Ankoku Ron, literally “On Establishing the Correct Teaching for the Peace of the Land,” to the political ruler of the day. This was a passionate cry for a return to the original purpose of Buddhism—securing the peace and happiness of the people. For Nichiren, this was an objective that could only be achieved through a philosophy that rigorously upholds the infinite dignity and potential of each individual.

If we truly believe in the inherent dignity life, we would value our own lives and those of others. Addressing suffering and preventing violence would become the highest priorities of humankind. Instead, our global community is rife with preventable misery, inequality and injustice. Nichiren understood that change in the world must begin with change in the hearts of individuals.

During his lifetime, a series of disasters—earthquakes, floods, pestilence and fire—had devastated the country. The sufferings of ordinary people were enormous. His determination to uncover the fundamental causes of this misery and turmoil drove him to study and analyze the underlying belief structures of society. This treatise is a presentation of his conclusions.

Nichiren understood that change in the world must begin with change in the hearts of individuals.

Specifically, Nichiren was aware that although the country was filled with Buddhist temples and priests, somehow their prayers and actions were failing to produce results in the form of peace or security for the people.

He felt that the disorder evident in the world reflected disorder within human beings. As he wrote, “In a country where the three poisons [of greed, anger and foolishness] prevail to such a degree, how can there be peace and stability?” He highlighted the causal relationship between these destructive human impulses and the pervasive realities of conflict, famine and epidemics.

He was convinced that only Buddhism could give people the strength to overcome these spiritual poisons in their lives, but as a result of wide-ranging study, he concluded that Buddhism as it was being practiced in his time was encouraging a passivity that left people vulnerable to the sway of these poisons rather than empowering them to overcome them.

Happiness Now

related article Courage Courage What may to one person seem a simple problem may be experienced by another as overwhelming and insurmountable. But the process of summoning up the courage required to take action is always the same regardless of how seemingly big or small the challenge. Nichiren specifically rejected the prevailing belief that all Buddhism could offer was the hope of comfort after death, and that the best attitude to take toward life was one of patient enduring. He passionately believed that Buddhism as originally taught had something much better to offer: the possibility of happiness and fulfillment in this present life.

It was Nichiren’s conviction that the true intention of Buddhism, as represented most directly by the teachings of the Lotus Sutra, is to awaken people to the truth that all that human beings have unlimited potential, are inherently strong and wise and always able to change their circumstances and society for the better. Correct Buddhist practice should create a positive transformation in the depths of our lives, effecting an inner transformation that makes our compassion stronger than our negative impulses and our egotistical desire to win over others. Such a change empowers people with the strength to transform their circumstances and ultimately change human society itself into an ideal and peaceful land.

Nichiren’s treatise is in the form of a dialogue between a host and his visitor about the troubled state of the nation. The visitor, representing Hojo Tokiyori, the most politically powerful figure in Japan, describes the conditions in society at the time: “Over half the population has already been carried off by death, and there is hardly a single person who does not grieve.” As the two explore the causes of the turmoil, the host, representing Nichiren, points to Buddhist scriptures that warn of the country suffering furthering decline in the form of internal armed conflict and war with foreign invaders if the situation remains unremedied. (Nichiren’s predictions were borne out with the eruption of a political rebellion in 1272 and the unprecedented attempted invasion of Japan by Mongol forces in 1274.)

Nichiren’s prime motivation was a wrenching sense of empathy for the people’s plight. He had taken a vow to lead himself and others to happiness, and this meant struggling to awaken and empower people to challenge their own destiny. His outspoken determination earned him a controversial reputation that persists to this day. “I cannot keep silent on this matter,” he wrote. “I cannot suppress my fears.”

Philosophy of Peace

related article The Ten Factors of Life The Ten Factors of Life Underlying the astounding diversity of life’s manifestations are ten common elements. Buddhism calls these the “Ten Factors of Life.” In a key passage, Nichiren calls on the leaders to “reform the tenets that you hold in your heart.” In today’s terms this means transforming ourselves and our most deeply held beliefs about the nature of life.

Commenting on the nature of that transformation, SGI President Ikeda says, “What matters is that the spirit of the great philosophy of peace expounded in the Lotus Sutra [with its teaching that all people are Buddhas] be given full play in society as a whole. On a societal level, ‘establishing the correct teaching’ means establishing the concepts of human dignity and the sanctity of life as principles that support and move society.”

Many people today live with a sense of confusion, emptiness and despair. They feel powerless to effect change either within their own lives or society as a whole.

The function of any religion or philosophy should be to give people the strength to successfully struggle against the forces of despair, division and destruction within our own lives and the larger social realm.

To create an age of peace, one in which life is given supreme value, it is vital for us to have a philosophy that upholds the wonder, dignity and infinite potential of life. This, ultimately, is the message of Nichiren’s “On Establishing the Correct Teaching for the Peace of the Land.”

Adapted from an article in the July 2003 issue of the SGI Quarterly.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top