變毒為藥

2218

熱門

(© Gary Waters/Ikon Images/Getty Images)

我們都希望得到快樂。無論我們會否意識到,但幾乎我們做的所有事都是源自這種欲望。然而,不管我們有多努力和目標如何遠大,我們的行動與處事態度最終可能會產生完全相反的效果。

這在衝突或誤解,破壞性的愛情糾葛或賭博成癮等極端的情況下最能察看得到。但人的一生中總會有高低起伏,即使沒有上述的事情那麼戲劇化,我們的想法和處事態度也會影響自己的性格和生活質素。

我們會以自己的習慣來應對生活中的各種事情,經常避免一些富挑戰性或令人難受的事情。而當困難出現時,也會感到絕望或擔憂。

認清自身生命的真實

從佛法的角度來看,我們生命中的負面傾向,如傲慢、貪婪和懦弱,這些都是苦惱的根源。這些負面的傾向使我們失去認清現實的能力,使我們屈於環境和條件,對自身的幸福作出讓步,也使我們的行為傾向消極。歸根結柢,所有這些傾向都源於我們不能相信自身以及他人生命的尊嚴和可能性。

當我們意識到自身的廣闊生命時,就能夠胸懷自信和包容精神來面對自己的處境。這能夠使我們湧現出勇氣、智慧和慈悲這些本有的潛能,讓我們能夠將情況轉往一個更正面的結果。智慧讓我們作出能夠導至好轉的反應和行為,而勇氣能賦予我們能力,使我們堅持不懈地面對各種處境直到取得突破。慈悲使我們透過理解他人的痛苦,包括那些與自己持不同見解的人,來拓展和加強我們的行動目標。國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)的會員稱這種過程為「變毒為藥」。

惡性的循環

使我們的苦惱加深和延續的惡性循環,在佛法上稱為煩惱、業、苦「三道」。它們被稱為「道」,是因為它們息息相關,一個引致下一個的發生。這裡所說的「煩惱」不單純是指渴望,而是所有因缺乏智慧而產生的欲望、衝動和迷惑,並因此而引致苦惱的發生。要脫離苦惱的欲望會引致我們採取行動。但當那行動是基於對生命與現實的根本迷惑時,我們可能會做出不明智的抉擇,而使問題更加惡化。這就是煩惱、業、苦三道的惡性循環。

一些佛教宗派教導信徒們以消除欲望的方式來打破這種循環。但是,日蓮認為這種消除欲望的修行不會帶來結果,因為事實上有一些欲望會創造價值和支撐生命。

日蓮教導說,《法華經》的信仰能將煩惱、業、苦三道轉變為佛的三德,即法身(真理)、般若和解脫。

《法華經》的良藥

日蓮領悟到在各種佛經中,只有《法華經》教導所有人的生命中都具有佛性,包括那些被認為無法成佛的人。日蓮引用於公元三世紀著名佛教經典所寫的「《法華經》為『變毒為藥的大藥師』」來印證此事。換句話說,《法華經》教導說我們每個人根本都具有佛的智慧、勇氣,和其他特質。

當我們懷著自信地面對困難,相信自己擁有能跨越困難的能力時,就開始了「變毒為藥」的過程。

在日常生活中,當我們懷著自信面對困難,相信自己擁有能跨越困難的能力時,就開始了「變毒為藥」的過程。問題之所以成為問題,是因為我們懷疑自己克服問題的能力。但當我們面對挑戰時,相信自身具有的佛性有著無限的可能性,就會轉變自己的生命狀態和改變對煩惱的態度。這就是日蓮所教導的良性循環中的「法身」。從這確信湧現使我們能認清處境的智慧,湧現能面對困難和在困難中奮鬥的勇氣。通過這種方式,我們能夠確實地轉變自身的環境和感受日益增長的自由(解脫)。這種經驗又會加深我們對自身內在佛性的確信。

SGI會長池田大作說,「變毒為藥」是指即便是大惡亦能轉變為大善。一不會簡單地變回零,一個人其實能夠從看似毒藥般的經驗中獲益。如日蓮所言:「毒藥變為甘露,勝於眾味多矣!」

在某種意義上來說,日蓮佛法強調的唱誦「南無妙法蓮華經」(Nam-myoho-renge-kyo),就是確信我們內在佛性的修行。這份確信能讓我們化困難為機會,加深對自己的理解,加強勇氣和慈悲,增強生命力和智慧,而最終體現到無限廣闊的生命境界。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

Changing Poison into Medicine

43960

popularity

[© Gary Waters/Ikon Images/Getty Images]

We all want to be happy. Whether we are conscious of it or not, almost everything we do is motivated by that desire. Yet, despite our best efforts and intentions, our actions and the ways in which we respond to situations can end up having the opposite effect.

This is easiest to observe in extreme circumstances—a conflict or misunderstanding, a destructive romantic entanglement or a gambling addiction. But the same dynamics play out over the course of a lifetime, often in less dramatic fashion, shaping the character and quality of our lives.

We respond in habitual ways to the events in our lives, often trying to avoid what is challenging or uncomfortable. And when difficulties arise, we may suffer from a sense of hopelessness or fear.

Perceiving the Reality of Our Lives

From a Buddhist perspective, it is the negative tendencies within our lives, such as egotism, greed and cowardice, which are the root of the problem. These distort our ability to clearly perceive our reality, causing us to respond to our environment and circumstances in ways that compromise our own happiness and lead us to become entrenched in negative patterns of behavior. Ultimately, all such tendencies can be traced to a lack of belief in the dignity and potential of our lives and the lives of all others.

When we are rooted in a sense of the expansiveness of our lives, we can face our circumstances squarely with confidence and an embracing spirit. This unleashes innate qualities of courage, wisdom and compassion, enabling us to steer the situation toward a more positive outcome. Wisdom enables us to choose the kinds of responses and courses of action that will lead to positive change, while courage gives us the ability to confront situations and persevere until we create a breakthrough. Compassion expands and deepens our motivation by making us aware of the suffering of others, including those involved with us in a challenging situation. This is a process that SGI members refer to as “changing poison into medicine.”

A Negative Cycle

The negative cycle in which we exacerbate or perpetuate our suffering is defined in Buddhism as the “three paths of earthly desires, karma and suffering.” They are known as “paths” because one leads to the other. “Earthly desires” here indicates not simply cravings but all desires, impulses and delusions that arise in the absence of wisdom and thus lead to suffering. The desire to escape suffering drives our actions. But when that action is based on delusions about the true nature of life and reality, we may make unwise choices and further compound our problems. This is the negative cycle of deluded impulses, negative karma (action) and suffering.

Some schools of Buddhism guide practitioners to eliminate desires as the means to break this cycle. Nichiren recognized, however, that the effort to eliminate desires is ultimately a fruitless pursuit, as some desires, in fact, create value and sustain life.

In his writings, Nichiren describes how faith in the Lotus Sutra transforms the three paths of earthly desires, karma and suffering into the three virtues of the Buddha—the Dharma body (truth), wisdom and emancipation.

The Medicine of the Lotus Sutra

Nichiren perceived that among the Buddhist sutras, it is the Lotus Sutra that teaches that Buddha nature is inherent in the life of absolutely everyone, including those normally thought incapable of attaining Buddhahood. To this end, Nichiren quotes an influential third-century Buddhist text that states that “[the Lotus Sutra] is like a great physician who can change poison into medicine.” The Lotus Sutra teaches, in other words, that each of us already possesses the wisdom, courage and other qualities of the Buddha.

Changing poison into medicine begins when we face difficulties with the confidence that we have within us the full resources to overcome them.

In the context of our daily lives, the process of changing poison into medicine begins when we face difficulties with the confidence that we have within us the full resources to overcome them. Problems are problems precisely because we doubt our ability to surmount them, but when we confront challenging circumstances with faith in the unlimited potential of our innate Buddha nature, we change our life state and transform our deluded responses. This is what Nichiren refers to as the “Dharma body” in the positive cycle described above. From this confidence arises the wisdom to clearly perceive our circumstances and the courage to face and fight on in the midst of difficulties. In this way, we are able to concretely transform our circumstances and experience a growing sense of freedom (emancipation). Such experiences, in turn, reinforce our faith in our inherent Buddha nature.

As SGI President Daisaku Ikeda states, to change poison into medicine is “to transform even the greatest evil into the greatest good.” One does not simply return to zero as it were, but one actually gains from the experience that once seemed so poisonous. In the words of Nichiren, “Poison turns into sweet dew [amrita], the finest of all flavors.”

The Buddhist practice taught by Nichiren, centered on chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, is, in one sense, the practice of affirming faith in our inherent Buddhahood. This faith makes it possible for us to turn difficult experiences into opportunities to deepen our self-understanding, to strengthen and develop our courage and compassion, to grow in vitality and wisdom and ultimately to realize a limitlessly expansive state of life.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top