成功不怕被拒

克萊頓‧薩拉特 美國

2922

熱門

克萊頓‧薩拉特

我從美國芝加哥的德保羅大學(DePaul University)戲劇學院畢業之後,和當時的未婚妻搬到紐約市。她從事燈光設計,我則懷抱著成為劇場專業演員的夢想。當時,我已經信仰日蓮佛法約5年了,抵達紐約後,很快就和當地的學會員取得聯繫。4個月之內,我已經跟一個職業劇團在巡迴公演的旅途上了。

巡迴演出結束之後,我邀集了幾位共事的演員、劇作家以及導演,成立了一個小劇團。然而,初試啼聲的劇團票房慘澹,入不敷出,未婚妻又在此時白血病復發,我必須照顧她,還兼了一份服務生工作以求餬口。

在這個時候,有位當時自己也在對抗癌症的SGI(國際創價學會)會員來看我,鼓勵我不要放棄,給予溫暖無比的關懷。我們便一起唱題來面對這個黑暗時期。但是,未婚妻終究還是病逝了。

未婚妻過世後的幾年間,沉重的悲傷揮之不去,但是從SGI這個大家族的鼓勵以及SGI會長池田大作的著作中,總是能得到慰藉。

池田會長曾經寫道:「我可以深刻地體會你所承受的莫大痛苦及悲傷。但是,佛法擁有可以轉變苦難成為幸福的力量,你流的一滴滴眼淚,都能轉變成一顆顆輝耀著福運的珠玉。曾經哭得最傷心的人有權利成為最幸福的人。」

陌生領域

相關文章 戰勝聽覺障礙,開拓勝利天地 戰勝聽覺障礙,開拓勝利天地 羅盛堂  台灣 我由一歲開始就幾乎失去了聽覺。父母帶我去求醫,但醫生無法診斷出原因,令我父母感到非常震驚。他們不知如何將我撫養成人,對我的未來感到憂心忡忡。為了想讓我有個幸福的未來,他們決定入信日蓮佛法...... 我持續編撰舞台劇給自己和同事演出。直到有一天,察覺到自己即將動手寫的下一部作品應該製作成電影,而不是舞台劇。在有點天真且完全不知道怎麼賣出電影劇本的情形下,我毅然決然踏入完全陌生的領域,一頭栽入,勇往直前。

我心裡非常清楚:如果想要成功,就一定要以信心為基礎。因此認真唱題,祈求在大銀幕上獲得佳績。同時作為壯年部幹部,全心投入所在區域裡的SGI活動。

我努力學習劇本的架構,寫了一部又一部的草稿來增進技巧。逐漸有一些跡象顯示自己正走在正確的道路上。但同時我也明瞭,我必須成功打進市場。為此,好萊塢經紀人及莫大的福運必不可少。

接著,我做了一件有生以來最大膽的事──向SGI會員宣布自己將會賣掉一部劇本,並成為職業劇作家。既然告訴了所有人,我就非得成功不可!

專心致志

這場挑戰持續了將近兩年。這段期間內,我時常細細回味日蓮《御書》中,自己很喜歡的一段話,這裡談到的是「堅持」的重要性:「譬如由鎌倉至京,計程十二日,若行十一日,至最後一日而止步不前,何得而詠都城之月乎?」

當我決意要肯定自己的價值時,就發覺必須從內在開始展開改變,必須拒絕成為自怨自艾、受環境箝制的人。

費盡心思,完成一部嘔心瀝血之作後,便開始寄信給登記在好萊塢編劇、經紀人名錄上的製作人,請他們讀一讀我的作品。我寄了數百封信出去,也收到數百封拒絕的回函。大多數的製作人連看都不看一眼我的作品,只因為他們從來沒聽說過我這個人。但是,我並沒有因此而放棄或是受到打擊。

在唱題時,腦海中時常會出現令人洩氣的念頭,告訴自己夢想是不可能實現的,像是:「我的年紀太大了!」、「我不夠有才華!」或是「我沒有任何人脈!」之類,這才是真正的奮戰。當我決意要肯定自己的價值時,就發覺必須從內在開始展開改變,必須拒絕成為自怨自艾、受環境箝制的人。

突破重圍

雖然被拒絕數百次,但我知道,只要有一個肯定的回覆,我就可以繼續前進。在持續唱題中,終於有一位出版商的主管對我的作品產生興趣,甚至幫我安排了一位經紀人,而那位經紀人成功賣出了我的劇本!

一夕之間,我成為圈內人,也成為人們想要約見的人物。開始會常飛去洛杉磯,和高層製作人開會,也與這個行業中的決策者交流往來。

相關文章 木偶星球 木偶星球 萊斯莉・巴特勒  英國 給人帶來歡樂是我開始修行佛法的動機之一。開始後,我很快就發現改變應該由我自身開始,因為我疑心病重,任何事都抱著悲觀的態度...... 其中有次與某知名製作人的交流特別值得一提:他盯著我,說我完成了不可能的任務,因為以一個圈外人的身份,能成功賣出劇本根本是前所未聞的事!

在我打進好萊塢數年後的今天,我和妻子擁有美滿的婚姻,經濟上也領受了極大的功德。我再也不需要為餬口而兼差,而是可以盡情投入創作以及SGI活動,尤其可以在身處的區域裡,鼓勵青年部會員。這些年輕人,有的曾經無家可歸,有的曾經因藥物濫用以及暴力而受苦,但今天他們的生活狀況都已經得到改善,並給其他人帶來莫大的鼓舞。當我看到年輕人戰勝逆境,而譜寫他們人生新篇章時,我心中感受到的喜悅無與倫比。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

Clayton Surrat

After graduating from the Theatre School at DePaul University in Chicago, my college sweetheart and I moved to New York City. She was in lighting design, and I had dreams of working as a professional actor in the theater. I had been practicing Nichiren Buddhism for around five years and quickly made contact with the local SGI-USA members. Within four months of arriving, I was on tour with a professional company.

After that tour, I started a small theater company with some fellow actors, writers and directors. But the fledgling theater did not pay the bills. My fiancée suffered a relapse of leukemia, and I became her caregiver and worked a survival job as a waiter.

At this time, an amazing SGI member who was battling cancer herself visited and encouraged me to never give up, and we chanted together to battle this dark period. My fiancée, however, eventually passed away from her disease.

The years after her passing were filled with deep sorrow, but I always had my SGI family and SGI President Daisaku Ikeda’s words of encouragement to comfort me.

In one of his writings, President Ikeda says: “I can deeply appreciate how much pain and sadness you must feel. However, this Buddhism has the power to transform your suffering into happiness, to change the tears you have shed into glittering jewels of good fortune. Those who have wept the most bitterly have the right to become the happiest people of all.”

Out of My Comfort Zone

related article A Great Human Revolution A Great Human Revolution by  Daisaku Ikeda SGI President Daisaku Ikeda discusses the concept of Human Revolution in this excerpt from Discussions on Youth—For the Protagonists of the Twenty-first Century. I continued to write plays for both myself and my fellow actors to perform in, but I reached a point where I knew the next story I wanted to write would be best as a movie and not a stage play. I determined to reinvent myself and so, somewhat naively and without the slightest idea how I would sell a screenplay or get it made, I plunged in and moved forward.

I knew I would have to root myself in faith if I was to succeed. I abundantly chanted Nam-myoho-renge-kyo to somehow achieve screenplay success and exerted myself in my role as the SGI men’s leader for my area.

I studied how to structure a script and wrote draft after draft to learn my craft. I began to see signs that I was on the right path, but I also knew that I was going to need a big, big break. I was going to need a Hollywood agent. I was going to need tremendous good fortune.

The next thing I did was one of the scariest things I had ever done—I announced to my fellow SGI members that I would sell a screenplay and therefore become a professional screenwriter. Now that I had told everyone, I had to succeed!

Determined Effort

It was a battle that would go on for nearly two years! During this time, I would reflect on one of my favorite Nichiren quotes on the importance of persistence: “The journey from Kamakura to Kyoto takes twelve days. If you travel for eleven but stop with only one day remaining, how can you admire the moon over the capital?”

As I fought to recognize my own value, I had to make an internal change and refuse to be a victim of my circumstances.

When I finally had a screenplay that was as good as it could possibly be, I started to send out query letters to producers I found in the Hollywood directories of producers and agents, asking them to read my script. I sent hundreds of letters and got hundreds of rejections. Most producers refused to even look at my material because they had never heard of me. But I did not let that stop me or discourage me.

Many times when I was chanting, discouraging thoughts would pop into my mind telling me that my dream was impossible. Ideas like: “I’m too old,” “I’m not talented enough” and “I don’t have any connections.” This was the real battle. As I fought to recognize my own value, I had to make an internal change and refuse to be a victim of my circumstances.

A Breakthrough

Even though I was getting hundreds of noes and rejection after rejection, I knew I only needed one yes to move forward. I continued chanting and persevering and finally was able to impress a literary manager who went on to land me an agent who sold my screenplay!

Instantly, I was an insider, and people wanted to meet with me. I was suddenly flying out to Los Angeles, going to pitch meetings with high-level producers and mixing with decision makers in the industry.

related article SGI Members in Singapore and Paraguay Perform at Anniversary Celebrations SGI Members in Singapore and Paraguay Perform at Anniversary Celebrations On August 9, some 640 members of Singapore Soka Association (SSA) performed during Singapore's National Day Parade 2014. Themed "Our People, Our Home" and held at the Marina Bay Floating Platform, the parade celebrated the 49th anniversary of the country's independence and was viewed by some 27,000 spectators including Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and President Tony Tan Keng Yam. One meeting with a well-known producer was particularly notable, he looked at me and said that what I had done was impossible. He told me that selling a screenplay like mine from outside the system just never happens.

Today, several years after my big break into Hollywood, I am happily married to my amazing wife, and we enjoy tremendous financial fortune. I no longer work a survival job and can devote my time fully to my creative writing projects and SGI activities, especially to encouraging the young people in my local SGI area. Some have fought homelessness, drug abuse and violence and were able to completely transform their situations and encourage others. Nothing compares to the joy I feel watching young people battle their circumstances and win, rewriting the scripts of their own lives.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top