為求生存的堅定決心

杰爾娜・納倫格 11月26日孟買恐怖襲擊的生還者

634

熱門

杰爾娜・納倫格

2008年11月26日,10名恐怖分子於印度孟買各地發動一系列經計劃的槍擊及爆炸案,前後長達四天,造成超過160人死亡,數百人受傷。泰姬瑪哈酒店遭到襲擊及圍攻之際,印度創價學會會員杰爾娜・納倫格(Jharna Narang)當時正與家人在酒店中用膳。她的父母和弟弟遭受槍擊,不幸當場喪生。而她的胃部、手臂及臀部連中四槍。

在之後的兩個月內,19名來自不同專業的醫生持續與彼此討論要如何拯救杰爾娜,而杰爾娜亦在加護病房(ICU)中,拼命與死亡對抗。此事件雖然導致她的腎臟壞死、脊椎受傷致使雙腳無法活動、神經嚴重受損、大量失血和內出血,有隨時引發敗血症的可能。不可思議的是,子彈沒有傷及她所有重要的器官,她在8個月後便出院了。

該襲擊事件的7年後,亦即於2015年,接受此項採訪的杰爾娜近乎完全康復,而且雙腳也可以再次行動。談論該恐怖襲擊事件時,杰爾娜談到更多的是自己如何能夠向前看以及了解到寬恕的真諦。


可否告訴我們當時的情形?

這一切在頃刻間發生。當我們正在泰姬瑪哈酒店的餐廳用餐,為我的弟弟貢金(Gunjan)慶祝32歲的生日之際,突然被告知需要立刻離開現場。因此我們便跟隨工作人員穿過廚房,走到位在該酒店的最深處的私人宴會廳裡,躲藏了多個小時。工作人員亦盡力為大家提供水、餅乾,和讓我們蓋在身上的桌布。無人知曉當時的情況的嚴重性。酒店裡的其他人從四面八方前來,躲在這三、四間宴會廳內。

雖然曾一度宣布安全,並被告知可以離開酒店,但當我們踏出酒店時,槍聲又再響起。我被子彈擊中,血流不止。而在我身邊的母親則中槍後當場身亡。我流血流得全身都是,時而昏迷,時而清醒。由於當時恐怖分子依然在開槍,因此我便繼續躺著裝死。

我清楚記得當時心想:「我不能死,因為我的工作尚未完成!」於是我不斷呼救。

我相信正因為我內心這份堅定的決心,所以撼動了整個宇宙來拯救我的生命。我是第一批被救出並送往醫院的傷者。雖然我沒有身分證件,甚至連醫生幾乎也無法感覺到我的脈搏,儘管如此他們都沒有放棄搶救我(後來我的主治醫生告訴我,他也不知是什麼原故驅使他選擇救治我,畢竟當時還有很多傷者陸續湧進醫院)。之後,我記得曾將自己的名字告訴醫院,但他們弄錯了我的名字。後來,當我感覺我的耳環被摘下時,便意識到自己即將要做手術。

其他的家人的情況如何?

弟媳和她的父母都安全逃走。他們在不同的停屍間找到我的父母和弟弟的遺體,但卻找不到我的蹤影。由於受害者被送往不同的醫院,再加上急救人員把我的名字弄錯,致使親戚們拼命找也找不到,甚至在新聞上登尋人啟事,標題寫著「杰爾娜你在哪裡?」最後,他們終於在孟買醫院找到了我。

我昏迷了一個多月後才恢復意識,但對我來說,就像是昨天或幾天前的事情一樣。我睜開雙眼的時候,依稀知道好像發生了什麼事,但卻不記得到底是什麼,就在那時,我才得知父母和弟弟都已不在人世。

杰爾娜的父母

對於親人的離開,想必是件難以去面對的課題。

我起初感到疑惑不已:究竟自己做了什麼而招來如此悲慘的宿命?對於父母離開的方式,我感到心亂如麻、寢食難安──他們是遭到槍殺的,完完全全就是被子彈奪走了性命。我向學會幹部說出了我的煩惱,他幫助我明白,我們無法看透一個人的宿命。

我們不能僅從事情的表面來看宿命這種概念。此外,他鼓勵我,佛法教示人生的勝敗不是取決於生命的長短或過世的形式,而是取決於在世時,如何徹底奮鬥過來。那位幹部亦表示,我的父母和弟弟的生命並沒有被白白犧牲。那句話打動了我。他們的逝世讓世界關注恐怖主義,並改變了這個國家的宿命。任誰也無法忘記11月26日這一天。我深切地感受到他們自願背負這個國家的宿命。而且,他們很快就走了,並沒有受到痛苦的折磨。

我漸漸地打從心底感受到,不論我的父母和弟弟身在何處都很快樂。日蓮佛法教導,只要我們透過努力實踐佛法以推進和平,功德便會流傳到家族世世代代。我相信我在佛法實踐中所積累的功德都會惠及他們,這讓我非常安心!此外,我也確信日蓮在他的著作中所教導的,那就是我來世也將會出生在家人身邊。在那之前,我要好好完成我這輩子的使命!我想以自己的人生為範例,激勵世界採取具體的行動。因此,我沒有任何要埋怨的。

你有否對恐怖分子懷有怪罪或怨恨之意?

相關文章 友情的力量 友情的力量 佩妮娜‧阿奇恩格-金德伯格  英國 當時,西非的伊波拉疫情嚴重,造成難以言喻的痛苦,並引起國際關注。我訂下此目標:與一個優秀工作團隊在同年3月底之前,透過籌辦慈善晚宴,順利籌足1萬英鎊。我們計畫以每張50英鎊的價錢售出120張票,所有的支出希望皆能得到外面的公司、社區組織、商家或個人的贊助。 他們穿著短褲和T恤,看起來應該是只有約16、17歲,頂多18歲的年輕男孩。他們根本不知道自己在做什麼,只是被選中,然後送到訓練營受訓,而他們的家人可能也以為自己的孩子會受到照顧。他們看起來真的十分年輕。並非是天生的殺人犯,只是他們受到了擺布。

我們所處的時代如此動盪不安,這是你親身經歷過的。有鑑於此,你希望如何度過今後的人生?

我想起日蓮在其著作《日蓮大聖人御書全集》裡的<立正安國論>中提到的一節:「汝其早改信仰之寸心,速歸實乘之一善。若然,則三界皆佛國,佛國焉衰?」

這段文字是在描述每一個的人性變革迫在眉睫。不是每個人都可以成為聯合國的一分子,參與救援活動。我們每一個人都能做的是戰勝生命中消極的傾向,且努力珍惜自己眼前的這一個人。

杰爾娜・納倫格

無論是我內心的怨恨,還是陷入絕境的心情等,只要是讓我意志消沉的念頭,我必須一一戰勝。我明白到透過自身內心的轉變,可以製造漣漪效應。這就是國際創價學會會長池田大作常提及的「一個人的力量」。重點是,我必須相信自己有這樣的能力,我必須挖掘出那股力量,使之湧現出來。倘若我可以做到這一點的話,便可成為他人的榜樣。

對於和你有相似遭遇的人,仍難以面對未來的人們,你會給予什麼鼓勵呢?

對於我自己而言,我採取「每天一點點」這樣的措施。每天一點點也好,往前踏一步。相信自己,然後努力奮鬥。我不知道為什麼,但自從那天的恐怖襲擊後,彷彿有一股聲音在告訴我:「前進吧!每一天前進一點也好!」儘管非常艱辛、痛苦,不知為何,我依然能夠相信自己。「我會做到!我要活下去!」這樣的決心、透過修行佛法鍛鍊出來的鬥志,幫助我衝破一切障礙。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

A Fierce Determination to Live

by Jharna Narang, survivor of the 26/11 Mumbai attacks

46726

dummy

popularity

Jharna NarangJharna Narang

Ten terrorists carried out a series of coordinated shooting and bombing attacks across Mumbai, India, lasting four days from November 26, 2008, killing over 160 people and leaving hundreds wounded. Bharat Soka Gakkai (SGI-India) member Jharna Narang was dining with her family at the Taj Mahal Palace Hotel when it was attacked and placed under siege. Her immediate family members—parents and brother—were killed in the shootings, while she sustained four bullet wounds to the stomach, arms and hips.

For the next two months, 19 doctors from different disciplines worked in constant consultation with each other as Jharna fought to stay alive in the ICU. Her kidneys had failed. She was unable to move her legs because of damage to the spinal cord. There had been extensive nerve damage, blood loss and internal bleeding, and the threat of septicemia was constant. Mystically, the bullets had missed all her vital organs. She was discharged after eight months of hospitalization.

In this interview, which took place in 2015, seven years after the incident, Jharna, who is almost fully recovered and has regained the use of her legs, talks about the incident, but more so about moving on and the nature of forgiveness.

Can you tell us what happened on that day?

It happened in a split second. We were having dinner, celebrating my brother Gunjan’s 32nd birthday, at a restaurant in the Taj Hotel when we were told we needed to evacuate. We followed the staff through the kitchen and deep into the inner chambers of the premises where there were private banquet rooms. We hid there for many hours. They provided whatever they could manage, some water and crackers, tablecloths to cover ourselves. Nobody knew how serious it was. People from many parts of the Taj gathered, hiding in three or four banquet rooms.

At one point, it was declared safe to leave. We literally stepped out when the firing started again. I was shot and bleeding like a tap. My mom was under me, and she died immediately. I was bleeding all over the place, passing in and out of consciousness. At one point, I pretended to be dead. They were still shooting.

I distinctly remember thinking, “I cannot die, my work is not finished yet!” And I shouted and shouted for help.

I believe this fierce inner determination resulted in the whole universe working to save my life. I was among the first few to be rescued and taken to the hospital. Although I had no identification and doctors could barely feel my pulse, they didn’t give up. (My main surgeon recounted later that he didn’t know what had made him take a chance on me, there were so many people coming in.) I remember giving them my name in the hospital, but they didn’t get it right. I then felt someone removing my earrings and knew they were going to operate immediately.

And the rest of your family?

My sister-in-law and her parents escaped safely. They found my brother’s and parents’ bodies at various morgues, but I was nowhere to be found. Victims had been taken to different hospitals, and the emergency crew had gotten my name wrong. Desperately looking for my whereabouts, my relatives even put it on the news—the headlines read, “Jharna where are you?” They finally found me in Bombay Hospital.

When I regained consciousness more than a month had passed, but to me it felt like yesterday or just a few days ago. I opened my eyes and knew something had happened, but I didn’t quite know what. That’s when I was told that my parents and brother had not made it.

Jharna NarangJharna's parents

It must have been really tough to come to terms with their deaths.

Initially, I wondered, “What did I do to incur such negative karma?” I was very bothered about the way my parents died. They were shot dead, literally had their lives taken away like this. I was very disturbed about it and shared my concerns with a leader in the SGI who helped me to understand that it is impossible to fathom one’s karma.

The concept of karma is not something that can be understood at a superficial level. Further, Buddhism teaches that it isn’t how long we have lived or how we die that determines the victory or failure of our lives; rather it is how we live out our lives while we are alive that matters. The leader went on to share with me that my parents and my brother did not die in vain, and this has stuck with me. Their deaths helped make the world aware of terrorism and transform the karma of the land. No one can forget 26/11. They took on the karma of the land. I truly feel that. Moreover, they died quickly and did not suffer.

Gradually, I have come to feel an inner certainty that my parents and brother are happy wherever they are. Nichiren Buddhism teaches us that the benefits of our efforts to advance peace through our Buddhist practice extend to countless generations of our family. I believe that the benefits of all the causes I create in my Buddhist practice will reach my parents and brother, and that’s very reassuring! I also believe what Nichiren promises in his writings—that I will be born together with them again. In the meantime, I must do my life’s work! I want to use my life as an example to motivate the world to concrete action. So then there is nothing to complain about.

Do you harbor any feelings of blame or resentment toward the terrorists?

related article The Deepest Loss The Deepest Loss by  Aiko Matsumura,  Japan Aided by her Buddhist practice, Soka Gakkai member Aiko Matsumura deals with her adult son's suicide through writing and forming a network of mothers called the Cherry Blossom Group. They were kids. They were wearing shorts, T-shirts—they were young boys, maybe 16, 17 or 18 at most. They didn’t know what they were doing. They are picked up, taken to camps and trained. Their families are probably told that their children will be taken care of. I saw how young they were. They were not born murderers. They were programmed.

Having experienced in such close proximity the insecurity of the times we live in, how do you wish to live your life moving forward?

A passage from Nichiren’s treatise “On Establishing the Correct Teaching for the Peace of the Land” comes to mind: “You must quickly reform the tenets that you hold in your heart . . . If you do so, then the threefold world will become the Buddha land, and how could a Buddha land ever decline?”

It’s about the sense of urgency in doing our human revolution. Not everyone can be part of the UN or go out there and do relief activities. What we can all do is win over our negative tendencies and work toward treasuring the person in front of us.

The resentment I feel in my heart, the feelings of being trapped, whatever is pulling me down—these are what I have to win over. Through the change in my heart, I know I can create that ripple effect. This is the “power of one” that SGI President Ikeda always talks about. But the thing is, I’ve got to believe in the power of my life. I’ve got to believe and activate and bring forth that power of my life. And if I can do it, I can be an example for others.

Jharna Narang

What might you share with those who have survived similar circumstances and are struggling to face the future?

I personally apply: one day at a time. One day at a time, move forward. Believe in yourself. Fight. I don’t know how, but since that day there has been this constant inner voice that says: “Okay, move forward. Take it one day at a time.” However hard, however painful, somehow I was able to believe in myself. “Yes. I will do it! I will live!” This kind of determination, this fighting spirit that I have forged through my Buddhist practice can break through all barriers.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top