幸福的食谱

江协易 台湾

216

热门

台湾创价学会会员江协易在台北君悦饭店担任主厨,他在此回顾创造事业佳绩前,尝过的酸甜苦辣。


江协易炒菜时,熊熊烈火从瓦斯炉中冒出

从小我跟着母亲一起参加国际创价学会(SGI)。然而,升上高中后的我变得叛逆,让家人非常担心。母亲总是耐心地鼓励我要持续修行佛法,然而我总是左耳进、右耳出。

2001年,进入位在台北的君悦饭店担任厨师。工作3年后,跳槽到其他餐厅。新餐厅的薪水虽然比君悦高,但营运情况并不稳定,加上我爱玩车、玩音响,22岁时即负债150万(折合约5万美金)。

直到此时,我才深深明白母亲的鼓励意义有多深,于是我重新回到佛法的轨道。我认真唱题祈求,正视自己问题的根源,努力转变。5个月后,得以顺利重返君悦工作,薪水还是之前的两倍。不但顺利解决负债问题,后来更有能力购置新房。

2009年,我发生严重车祸,左脚伤势严重,差一点被截肢。开刀过程中,母亲与许多SGI会员全程为我唱题祈求。大家的真心付出让我非常感动,立下决意要成为带给他人幸福的人。

原本主治医生评估我至少要进行10次手术,且很有可能会引发感染,终生无法久站。幸而后来我只进行7次手术,伤口完全没有感染。在进行完最后一场手术的一个半月后,即能够下床走路,很快地顺利出院。

小任务大道理

江协易

我满怀热情重返职场,但此时却遇到更大的挑战。宴会厅内共有5个炉子,按照资历我原本负责第三炉,但复职后已被其他厨师取代,我只能到处打杂。厨师工作繁忙需要久站,让我的脚总是疼痛不已。此外,面对他人的眼光,内心的压力难以言喻,让我很想要放弃这份工作。

此时,母亲鼓励我:“无论多么不起眼的工作,都要全力以赴!”让我重新审视自己的态度,放下身段,怀抱“别人不愿意做的我都能做”的心,成为支援同事最强力的后盾。

长达两年的时间,我从最简单的洗碗、切菜开始,逐一认真学习。因为SGI的培育,让我能够重视第一线、贯彻幕后奋战。得以在不起眼的工作中,发现精进的奥妙,这段打杂的经验反而成为让我彻底接受磨炼、脱颖而出的契机。并从中体会到在厨房中的每个环节,都会成为影响食物味道的重要关键。

用心聆听

相关文章 “变毒为药”的信心 “变毒为药”的信心 林诗盈  台湾 我们家认真信仰日莲佛法的一个契机,是因为1997年的夏天,爸爸经营二十多年的室内设计公司,在一夕之间被人纵火,整栋大楼全部烧毁,不但蒙受严重的财物损失,楼上跳楼逃生的住户,以及把大楼租给我们的房东都想要告我们,跟我们索赔。那个时候我们陷入困境不知所措,妈妈只好每天努力唱 2012年,负责第二炉的资深师傅离职,我主动向主厨争取机会。一开始主厨并没有答应。后来,他看到我凡事积极主动,终于同意。经过一年磨炼,我的表现受到肯定,顺利晋升为副主厨。

接任副主厨之后,我在工作上开始挑战许多崭新的尝试,首先是客制化菜单。饭店宴会厅的菜单通常是固定的,无法随客人喜好调整,但我决心强化与客人的沟通。在我看来,饭店业有许多传统,但时代不断进步,所以我们不能停止学习及发展。

与客人沟通并倾听他们的意见后,我们尝试结合不同国家的料理方式、更换食材、加强托盘美感。在大家共同努力下,宴会厅的满意度不断提高,我们更创下饭店最高营业额的纪录。

凝聚向心力

厨房工作环境闷热又辛苦,同事间很容易起冲突。过去出菜大家总是各做各的,最后再结合起来。但我决心要打破这种方式,出菜前、后我都会召集大家开会,事先明确各部门的责任与分工,强调每个人都肩负重要使命。结束后,除了检讨并感谢大家的努力。透过对话,团队的向心力提高,大家都慢慢地找到成就感。

2015年9月我被擢升为宴会厅主厨。2016年3月,我获选为饭店的年度最佳经理人。在该年5月,我们承办总统府宴请外交使节的重要国宴。

SGI会长池田大作说:“经过困难的磨砺,我们的生命就会闪耀着福德的光辉。未经磨砺的宝石,无论多么贵重,也是黯淡无光的。这道理也适用在我们身上。”回想一路走来,感谢母亲一路以来的鼓励,感谢SGI教导我如何将逆境的“毒”转变为成功的“药”。

〈消息来源:2016年6月3日台湾创价学会刊物《创价新闻》;照片来源:江协易〉

─── 其他文章 ───


返回页首

A Recipe for Happiness

by Hsieh Yi Chiang, Taiwan

736

popularity

Taiwan Soka Association member Hsieh Yi Chiang, a head chef at the Grand Hyatt Taipei, looks back on a rocky path to a successful career.

Flames coming from the wok as Hsieh Yi Chiang tosses the stir-fry ingredients.

I grew up practicing Buddhism with my mother, but when I started high school I became rebellious, causing my family to worry about me. My mother patiently encouraged me to continue my Buddhist practice, but I ignored her.

In 2001, I began working as a cook at the Grand Hyatt Taipei. After three years, I left to work at another restaurant. Although my new salary was higher, the business was not stable. In addition, I had a passion for high-end speakers and buying and customizing cars, so by the age of 22, I was in debt to the extent of 1.5 million Taiwanese dollars (approx. US$50,000).

It was at this point that my mother’s encouragement found fertile soil, and I picked up my Buddhist practice again. Through my practice, I faced up to the root of my problems and made efforts to change. Five months later, I was able to return to the Grand Hyatt with a salary that was double what it had previously been. Not only was I able to pay off my debts, I was also able to purchase a new home.

In 2009, I had a serious car accident, badly injuring my left leg, which almost had to be amputated. My mother and many SGI members chanted Nam-myoho-renge-kyo for me during the surgeries. I was deeply moved by everyone’s warm care. I decided I wanted to become someone who could also sincerely care for others and bring them happiness.

Initially, the attending physician said I would have to undergo at least 10 operations and that there was a high likelihood of infection. I was also told that for the rest of my life I would probably have difficulty standing for long periods of time. Fortunately, in the end, I only had 7 surgeries, and the wound did not become infected. Six weeks after the last surgery, I was able to walk and was discharged from hospital.

Small Tasks Matter

Hsieh Yi Chiang

I returned to work full of enthusiasm. However, a new challenge awaited me. Based on my qualifications, I was expecting to take up the role of head of the third stove in the banquet hall kitchen. However, the job had been given to another chef, and I was left to do menial tasks. My leg was constantly in pain because of having to stand in the kitchen for long periods of time. I felt ashamed and wanted to quit and walk away from the job.

Again, my mother encouraged me, telling me to do my best no matter how humble the work might be. Her words caused me to reexamine my attitude. I swallowed my pride and determined I would gladly take on the tasks other people didn’t want to do and become a strong support for my colleagues.

For two years, I did the most basic tasks in the kitchen, such as washing dishes and cutting vegetables, with the attitude of learning everything anew. I determined I would put into practice the spirit I learned in the SGI of taking responsibility, contributing wholeheartedly and working hard behind the scenes. I later realized that these efforts are what enabled me to develop significantly and stand out as a chef. I came to understand that every procedure in the kitchen plays an important part in the eventual taste of the food.

Hearing the Customers

related article Creating Happiness through Games Creating Happiness through Games by  Che-Yu Lin,  Taiwan Che-Yu Lin’s passion for education, which was sparked by a teacher who recognized his potential as a child with ADHD, led him to become a social worker and promoter of the World Peace Games in Taiwan. In 2012, the senior chef who was responsible for the second stove left, so I summoned up the courage to ask the head chef if I could take his place. At first, the head chef was reluctant to give me the responsibility, but having seen my enthusiastic attitude toward work, he agreed. After a year of training, on the basis of my performance, I was promoted to assistant head chef.

After taking over the position, I began to attempt new challenges. The first was the customization of the banquet hall menu, which is usually fixed and cannot be adjusted to guests’ requests. I was determined, however, to open up communication with the guests. My attitude has been that while our industry has its strong and enduring traditions, we should continue to learn and develop as society progresses.

Based on dialogue with the guests and carefully listening to their feedback, we experimented with combining cooking methods of different countries, changing ingredients and enhancing presentation. Through these joint efforts, the banquet hall received better and better feedback. We even broke the hotel’s record for the highest-ever turnover.

Building Unity

As a work environment, the kitchen is hot and challenging, so it’s easy for the chefs to experience conflict with one another. In the past, people worked in isolation and only at the end would they join forces to put things together. I determined to change this way of doing things. I began a practice of getting everyone together before the meal service. I would designate responsibilities to the various departments and stress that everyone had a crucial role to play. When work was complete, we convened again for a reflection session, and I made sure to express my appreciation to everyone for their efforts. Through this type of dialogue, the team’s sense of solidarity improved, and slowly but surely, everyone found a sense of mission and accomplishment.

In September 2015, I was promoted to banquet hall head chef, and then in March 2016, I was chosen as the hotel’s Manager of the Year. In May that same year, the president of Taiwan selected our banquet hall to host an important diplomatic banquet.

SGI President Daisaku Ikeda writes: “Hardships forge and polish our lives, so that eventually they shine with brilliant fortune and benefit. If left in its raw, unpolished form, even the most magnificent gem will not sparkle. The same applies to our lives.” I am who I am today thanks to my mother, who never gave up on encouraging me, and thanks to the SGI, where I learned the spirit of turning the “poison” of adversity into the “medicine” of success.

[Adapted from an article in the June 3, 2016, issue of Soka Press, Taiwan Soka Association; photos courtesy of Hsieh Yi Chiang]

─── other articles ───

our story

page top