在古巴弘扬佛法

若阿内‧德尔加多 古巴SGI

23

热门

古巴SGI理事长若阿内‧德尔加多(Joannet Delgado)分享她修行日莲佛法的历程,以及日莲佛法如何在古巴扎根。


古巴SGI理事长若阿内‧德尔加多 古巴SGI理事长若阿内‧德尔加多(©圣教新闻)

我和家人因姐姐而邂逅日莲佛法。姐姐与一位日籍创价学会会员结婚,在1974年成为会员。姐姐移居日本横滨,积极参与当地的学会活动。

有一次,姐姐在当地会馆召开的妇人部会议中,发表了她的体验,分享6年以来,修行佛法如何改变她的人生。当时,国际创价学会(SGI)会长池田大作的夫人池田香峯子也出席了会议。会议结束后,池田夫人得知姐姐与家人当时正面临经济问题,给予她温暖的鼓励:“当你认真地修行佛法时,就能拓展你的生命境界,拥有能随时往返日本和古巴的经济能力。”

大概一个星期后,姐姐在同一间会馆遇到池田会长。池田会长倾全力鼓励姐姐,告诉她,他从夫人的口中了解了她的情况,并说她是拥有重要使命的宝贵人才。这次的会面成为了姐姐人生中的转折点。1984年,姐姐在移居日本10年后第一次回古巴,并与母亲分享修行佛法的体验。母亲听了姐姐的体验后深受感动,决定修行日莲佛法。一年后,父亲也开始唱诵“南无妙法莲华经”。

信心开始发芽

1990年,姐姐的经济状况好转,与姐夫邀请了父母到日本探望他们;在那里,他们加深了对日莲佛法的认识。然而,当时我对佛法还没产生兴趣。我毕业自哈瓦那大学(University of Havana)的生物化学系,当时是一名研究员。姐姐告诉我,只要唱诵“南无妙法莲华经”,便能够转换一切,但我不太相信。

相关文章 牧口常三郎“创价教育学”理念 牧口常三郎把他的一生奉献于创造一套完整而有系统的教育学,开启学生的潜能,促使他们能够过着健全有创造性的生活。在探讨教育的目的性当中,牧口更进一步深究人生的目的性。 母亲从日本带回池田会长所撰写的佛法书籍的英文版本,问我是否能将书籍翻译成西班牙文。在翻译的过程中,我开始对佛法深奥的哲学产生兴趣。姐姐之前一直用心良苦地想要教导我“人性变革”(人间革命)的道理,现在我终于开始明白这其中的涵义了。

我决定开始唱诵题目,得到第一个功德就是在1993年,我有机会出席一个在厄瓜多尔举行的国际科学会议,很成功地发表了我的研究内容。然而,对我而言最重要的是,能很幸运地与厄瓜多尔的SGI会员们见面、聊天。我觉得他们好像一个温暖的大家庭;通过他们,我更加了解、感激SGI。

我回到古巴之后,与许多同事分享佛法。古巴是一个社会主义国家,但我们享有宗教信仰自由。不过,大多数的古巴人信奉基督教或本土的宗教,所以对佛法这样一种东方的哲学感兴趣的人不多。

池田会长到访古巴

池田SGI会长会见总统菲德尔‧卡斯特罗 SGI会长池田大作于1996年,在哈瓦那会见总统菲德尔‧卡斯特罗(©圣教新闻)

1996年,古巴与美国的关系再度恶化。在如此紧张的政治局势下,发生了令人难以置信的事。我们得知池田会长将访问古巴。所有的媒体都报导了这件事。电视台直播池田会长抵达机场、在哈瓦那大学的演讲,以及获赠费利克斯‧巴雷拉一等勋章的仪式。尤其令人感到惊讶的是,看到总统菲德尔‧卡斯特罗以一身笔挺的西装会见池田会长。我从没见过他穿着军装以外的衣服!

池田会长在访问古巴期间,出席了许多重要的活动,却仍然抽出时间真挚地鼓励每一位SGI会员。他邀请我的父母到他所住的饭店,给予他们温暖的拥抱和鼓励。在为期三天的访问中,池田会长让分布在全国各地的古巴会员们心中充满希望。从那时候开始,古巴SGI开始团结起来。我们一步一步地努力取得社会的信赖,以模范公民的身份于古巴宣扬佛法。

奠定基础

古巴的公共交通系统不完善,要搭上一辆巴士经常需要等几个小时。因此,我们需要付出很大的耐心,才能准时出席学会的活动。为了鼓励住在远处的会员们,我们必须租用车子。这不是一件轻而易举的事,因为许多人也想要租车。为了确保能够使用车子,我们必须不断协商,唱诵很多的题目。每当我们成功租到车子时,就会充分利用车子,能拜访多少会员就去拜访多少会员,总路程经常超过2500公里。透过会员们的努力与坚持,古巴政府在2007年1月6日,即池田会长访问古巴10周年之际,承认古巴SGI为正式的宗教团体。

于古巴哈瓦那举办的座谈会 于古巴哈瓦那举办的座谈会(©圣教新闻)

如今,佛法所教导的和平哲学,在古巴社会中越来越受到重视。例如,在2015年10月,古巴SGI连同其他22个宗教团体,参与了在哈瓦那举行的跨宗教对话与世界和平国际会议。我们所举办以废除核武器为议题的展览,得到参观者的热烈回响。最近,总统劳尔‧卡斯特罗在古巴国会讨论宗教时,给予古巴SGI高度评价,称赞古巴SGI对国家的安稳及和平,做出巨大的贡献。

古巴SGI在1996年时,只有7户,如今已发展成拥有超过1000名会员的团体。

2015年,古巴和美国恢复邦交。在这个重要时刻,我们决意努力引导国家迈向和平及幸福之道。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回页首

Buddhism in Cuba

by Joannet Delgado, general director, SGI-Cuba

4289

dummy

popularity

Joannet Delgado, general director of SGI-Cuba, shares her journey of discovering Nichiren Buddhism and how it took root in her country.

Sean SGI-Cuba General Director Joannet Delgado [© Seikyo Shimbun]

My family encountered Buddhism when my older sister married a Japanese Soka Gakkai member and herself became a member in 1974. My sister relocated to Yokohama, Japan, where she became actively engaged in Soka Gakkai activities.

On one occasion, at a women’s meeting at a local Soka Gakkai center, she shared her experience of how six years of Buddhist practice had changed her life. The meeting was attended by Kaneko Ikeda, SGI President Daisaku Ikeda’s wife. After the meeting, Mrs. Ikeda learned of the financial difficulties my sister and her family were going through and warmly encouraged her saying, “When you practice Buddhism earnestly, you will develop a life state that will enable you to travel back and forth between Japan and Cuba whenever you wish.”

About a week later, my sister had an encounter with Mr. Ikeda at the same center. He encouraged her wholeheartedly, telling her he had heard all about her from his wife and that she was an invaluable person with an important mission in life. This encouragement became a turning point for my sister. In 1984, she visited Cuba for the first time in 10 years. While there, she shared her experience of practicing Buddhism with my mother, who was so deeply touched that she too decided to start practicing. A year later, my father began chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo as well.

Stirring Interest

In 1990, having transformed their financial situation, my sister and her husband invited our parents to visit them in Japan, where they were able to learn more about Buddhism. At the time, however, I wasn’t really interested in it. I had studied biochemistry at the University of Havana and was working as a researcher, and I wasn’t convinced when my sister said that you can change anything if you chant Nam-myoho-renge-kyo.

related article The Development of SGI in India The Development of SGI in India Introducing the Bharat Soka Gakkai and its development. My mother then gave me the English translations of some of Mr. Ikeda’s books on Buddhism, which she had brought from Japan, and asked me if I could translate them into Spanish. As I was translating them, I found myself becoming interested in the profound philosophy of Buddhism. I finally began to understand what my sister had been trying so hard to teach me about the philosophy of human revolution.

I decided to start chanting and received my first benefit: I was able to attend an international scientific conference in Ecuador in 1993, and the presentation that I gave there on my research turned out to be a great success. But for me, above all, it was my great good fortune to be able to meet and talk with the SGI members in Ecuador. I found them to be like a warm family, and through them I began to deeply appreciate the SGI.

When I returned to Cuba, I spoke to many of my colleagues about Buddhism. Although Cuba is a socialist country, freedom of religion is guaranteed. However, most people are either Christian or practice indigenous religions, so not many were interested in an oriental philosophy like Buddhism.

President Ikeda’s Visit to Cuba

PresidentSGI President Daisaku Ikeda meets Cuban President Fidel Castro in Havana, 1996 [© Seikyo Shimbun]

In the meantime, in 1996, Cuba’s relations with the US worsened again. In the midst of this tense political situation something unbelievable happened. We heard that President Ikeda would visit Cuba. His visit was announced in all the media. The TV aired live scenes of his arrival at the airport, his lecture at the University of Havana and the ceremony at which he was presented with the Order of Félix Varela of the First Grade. One especially surprising thing was seeing President Fidel Castro wearing a suit when he met with Mr. Ikeda—I had never seen him wearing anything other than a military uniform!

In between the series of important events in Cuba, Mr. Ikeda made time to genuinely encourage SGI members. He invited my parents to his hotel and warmly embraced and encouraged them. During his three-day visit, Mr. Ikeda filled the hearts of the Cuban members, who were scattered around the country, with hope. It was from this time that SGI-Cuba began to gel. Step-by-step we exerted ourselves to earn trust and disseminate the philosophy of Buddhism in our country as model citizens.

Covering Ground

The public transport system in Cuba is very poor. Often one has to wait hours to catch a bus. It took a lot of patience to make it to SGI meetings on time. To be able to encourage members living far away we had to rent a car, which was no easy task, because so many people wanted to rent cars. We had to negotiate over and over to secure a car, and for this we had to chant a lot. Finally, when we had rented a car, we would make full use of it by visiting as many members as possible, often covering more than 2,500 kilometers. Through such steadfast efforts, on January 6, 2007, 10 years after President Ikeda’s visit, SGI-Cuba was officially recognized by the Cuban government as a religious organization.

SeanAt an SGI discussion meeting in Havana, Cuba [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Today, the philosophy of peace taught in Buddhism is coming to be appreciated more and more by Cuban society. In October 2015, for example, SGI-Cuba was one of 23 religious groups that participated in the International Meeting for Interfaith Dialogue and World Peace in Havana. Our exhibition on the abolition of nuclear weapons was met with great enthusiasm by those who viewed it. Recently, during a discussion on religion in the Cuban parliament, President Raúl Castro spoke highly of the SGI, saying that it was contributing greatly to the stability and peace of the nation.

The SGI in Cuba has grown from seven households in 1996 to a membership of more than 1,000 people today.

In 2015, Cuba and the US resumed diplomatic relations. At this crucial time for our nation, we are determined to do our best to direct our beloved country toward peace and happiness.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top