佛教哲學──人類幸福的照明燈

川田洋一 東洋哲學研究所顧問

384

熱門

以下是東洋哲學研究所(Institute of Oriental Philosophy,簡稱IOP)顧問川田洋一的訪談內容。IOP由國際創價學會(SGI)會長池田大作於1962年創辦,位於日本東京,是個非營利基金會。其成立是為了推廣亞洲文化和思想傳統的研究,並且通過學術研究,來剖析佛教的精髓和其普世通用的價值觀。


位於日本東京的IOP位於日本東京的IOP

請描述東洋哲學研究所(IOP)的目標及IOP為了這目標在做些什麼。

在成立IOP時,創辦人池田大作對其提出了三個方針。那就是研究現代亞洲的宗教、文化與傳統;鑽研佛教並著重於《法華經》中的教義;為世人呈獻佛教的人本主義與和平主義的理念,全球問題的解決起到領頭作用。

我們根據這些方針,一直鑽研《法華經》的三大思想:在《法華經‧方便品》所闡述的「皆成佛道」、「久遠元初」即生命為永恆的概念,以及菩薩道。 我們正在努力尋找與其他宗教哲學、學科的相關性,與其建立聯繫,以確立彼此的共同點,從而解決威脅人類的國際問題。

最近,IOP以日文出版了10冊系列標題為《大乘佛教的挑戰》的書籍。我們根據創價學會三任會長的構思推出本次出版,希望藉此建立一個哲學框架,從佛教思想的角度,協助解決環境問題、衝突及暴力等全球問題。第9冊和第10冊特別把主題定為跨文化、跨宗教對話。

除了出版刊物,研究所還舉辦了一系列研討會和講座,邀請各學科學者參加。我們於2015年與伊斯蘭教、東方基督教和天主教的研究人員及學者進行了20多次的研討會,目的就是為了促進跨文化、跨宗教對話。

關於跨宗教的對話,您的見解為何?

池田SGI會長表示,跨宗教對話的目的是與其他宗教合作,共同解決緊迫的全球問題。例如,在伊斯蘭教方面,我們在2012年與馬來西亞的馬來亞大學共同舉辦了一次關於建設和平、保護環境,以及人權與尊嚴的專題研討會。這是IOP第一次在伊斯蘭國家舉行研討會,也促成了佛教和穆斯林學者之間非常有趣和坦誠的對話。

IOP與牛津大學佛教研究中心聯合舉辦論壇,題為「佛教能提供給人類未來的可能性」(©IOP)IOP與牛津大學佛教研究中心聯合舉辦論壇,題為「佛教能提供給人類未來的可能性」(©IOP)

2007年6月,作為佛教的代表,我參加了由瓦希德研究所(Wahid Institute)、西蒙‧維森塔爾中心寬容博物館(Simon Wiesenthal Center’s Museum of Tolerance)和國際公共圖書基金會(LibForAll Foundation)合辦的跨宗教會議。當時出席的人員也包括了其他宗教的代表,如伊斯蘭教、猶太教及基督教。會議上,我有幸與已故阿卜杜勒-拉赫曼‧瓦希德(Abdurrahman Wahid)博士交談。他說伊斯蘭教愛好和平,以溫和的方式傳教。擁護甘地主義且堅決主張非暴力的瓦希德博士解釋說,「聖戰」(jihad)一詞有時會被誤解,但實際上有「盡心盡力」 且 「遵照伊斯蘭教義,以誠意處事」 之意。

聖戰分為「大聖戰」及「小聖戰」。來自伊朗的和平學家馬基德‧德拉尼安(Majid Tehranian)博士曾在他與池田SGI會長的對話集《21世紀的選擇》中解釋說,唯有在自衛的情況下伊斯蘭教才允許使用武裝。這是所謂的「外在聖戰」或「小聖戰」,而「內在聖戰」或「大聖戰」則被看成一個更加艱難的過程,其中包括淨化心靈,使其不受貪婪、攻擊性、邪惡等汙垢沾染。

在斯里蘭卡舉辦《法華經》展(©IOP)在斯里蘭卡舉辦《法華經》展(©IOP)

同樣的,大乘佛教中有「煩惱即菩提」的概念,其中描述了克服生命中「三毒」,即貪瞋癡的過程。若能克服「三毒」,就能展現生命中佛界的特徵,如慈悲、勇氣及智慧。佛教和伊斯蘭教分別闡釋的生命變革概念,有許多共通之處。

人們常把聖戰與恐怖主義畫上等號。身為宗教人士,我們有義務破除這樣的偏見,給人正確的理解與認知。

作為佛教學者的代表,我在會議中引用了《法華經》和其他佛教經文來提出佛教的觀點。我們根據各自宗教信仰的主要教義交換意見,從中加深了彼此對宗教界如何為圍繞和平、保護環境、維護人權而進行的討論作出貢獻的理解。

請說說IOP的獨特之處。

相關文章 反核武器倡言(摘要)
全民一心,共建無核武器世界
--為紀念恩師戶田城聖一百一十歲冥壽
池田大作,國際創價學會會長 為紀念恩師戶田城聖一百一十歲冥壽,SGI會長池田大作發表「全民一心,共建無核武器世界」一文
IOP的獨特之處就在於,它積極與其他宗教信仰的學者進行對話,同時牢牢扎根於《法華經》的哲學,以及創價學會三任會長,特別是IOP創辦人池田大作的思想。這些學術交流可以建立對彼此宗教哲學的相互理解,並且糾正錯誤的信念與偏見。

IOP的研究人員也扮演了重要角色,為各宗教哲學思想和經文提供了學術見解。2016年4月,IOP在法國巴黎的聯合國教育、科學及文化組織總部,舉辦了「佛教經典 世界的精神遺產──從寫本與圖像看《法華經》」展覽。展覽內容來自IOP研究人員和這領域專家的研究成果。

IOP所關注並且會鼓勵我們的讀者去關注的全球問題有哪些?

在IOP成立50週年之際,池田SGI會長捎來口信,他說人類如今所面臨的問題分為三方面。第一是氣候變化和環境問題,第二是社會、政治及經濟的挑戰,第三是人類精神方面的危機和道德倫理的退化。

說穿了,這最後的問題是其他兩個問題的根源所在。那是導致暴力的根本因素。無論是環境、社會、政治或經濟方面的問題,關鍵就在於我們如何應對這最後的問題。在這個意義上,我們所關注的便是所有全球問題。

Yoichi Kawada

川田洋一於1988年擔任東洋哲學研究所所長,2007年3月,就任該研究所顧問。在任所長期間,川田博士負責監督研究所多方面的研究計畫,這些研究計畫探討東亞哲學和現代全球問題的交接點,這包含了人權、環境保護和生物倫理等問題。他是一位獲得日本京都大學免疫學博士學位的醫生。川田博士也是知名佛教醫學史權威,他在生物倫理學、醫學和臨床實驗等問題上提出了佛教的見解。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

The Guiding Light of Buddhist Philosophy

by Yoichi Kawada, advisor, The Institute of Oriental Philosophy

4281

popularity

The following is an interview with Yoichi Kawada, advisor at the Institute of Oriental Philosophy (IOP), located in Tokyo, Japan. The IOP, a nonprofit foundation, was founded by SGI President Daisaku Ikeda in 1962 to promote research on the cultural and philosophical heritage of Asia and expose Buddhism to scholarly inquiry so as to clarify the essentials of Buddhism and its universal values.

The Institute of Oriental Philosophy, TokyoThe Institute of Oriental Philosophy, Tokyo

Please describe the aims of the Institute of Oriental Philosophy (IOP) and how it is working toward the achievement of these aims.

When the IOP was established, our founder, Daisaku Ikeda, provided three guidelines for the institute. These were to study religious cultures and traditions in modern Asia, to study Buddhism, focusing on the teachings expounded in the Lotus Sutra, and to offer the humanistic and pacifist philosophy of Buddhism to the world and lead the way in solving the global issues facing humanity today.

Based on these guidelines, we have been pursuing the study of the three major thoughts presented in the Lotus Sutra, which are the universal enlightenment elaborated in the “Expedient Means” chapter, the perpetuity of life—the idea of time without beginning or end—and the Bodhisattva way of life. We are working to find relevance and develop connections to other religious philosophies and disciplines in order to establish common ground from which we can tackle the global issues threatening humanity together.

Recently, the IOP completed the publication in Japanese of a 10-volume series of books titled Daijo bukkyo no chosen (A Challenge for Mahayana Buddhism). Based on the ideas of the first three presidents of the Soka Gakkai, we tried to build up a logical framework of Buddhist philosophy that offers solutions to global issues such as environmental problems, conflict and violence. The ninth and the tenth volumes in particular focus on the themes of intercultural and interfaith dialogue.

In addition to publications, the institute has hosted a series of discussions and lectures with scholars from various disciplines. In 2015, we held more than 20 such discussions with researchers and academics of Islam, Eastern Christianity and Catholicism in order to facilitate intercultural and interfaith dialogue.

What is your general approach to interfaith dialogue?

President Ikeda has stated that the purpose of conducting interreligious dialogue is to work together with people of other religious affiliations and to collaborate in solving urgent global issues. With regard to Islam, for example, in 2012, we co-organized a joint symposium with the University of Malaya, Malaysia, on the topics of peacebuilding, environmental preservation and human rights and dignity. This was the first joint symposium the IOP held in an Islamic country and it facilitated very interesting and open dialogue between Buddhist and Muslim scholars.

Participants at a symposium titled “The Possibility of Buddhism for the Future of Humankind” co-organized by the IOP and the Oxford Centre for Buddhist Studies in 2016Participants at a symposium titled “The Possibility of Buddhism for the Future of Humankind” co-organized by the IOP and the Oxford Centre for Buddhist Studies in 2016 [© IOP]

In June 2007, as a representative of the Buddhist faith tradition, I attended an interfaith conference cosponsored by the Wahid Institute, the Simon Wiesenthal Center’s Museum of Tolerance and the LibForAll Foundation. Representatives from the Islamic, Jewish, Christian, Hindu and Buddhist faith traditions participated in the conference. On that occasion, I was afforded the opportunity to speak directly with the late Dr. Abdurrahman Wahid. He said that Islam is a peaceful religion and was propagated peacefully. Dr. Wahid, a Gandhian and firm supporter of nonviolence, explained that the term “jihad,” which is sometimes misunderstood, means “to strive or make an effort” and “to act with sincerity in accord with the Islamic Law.”

There are two types of jihad, greater jihad and lesser jihad. In his dialogue with President Ikeda—Global Civilization: A Buddhist-Islamic Dialogue—Dr. Majid Tehranian explains that taking up arms has been allowed in Islam only in self-defense. This is external jihad, or lesser jihad. He also stresses that internal jihad, or greater jihad, is considered far more difficult and consists of purifying the soul of the impurities of greed, aggression and evil.

The Lotus Sutra Exhibition in Sri Lanka, 2011The Lotus Sutra exhibition held in Sri Lanka, 2011 [© IOP]

Similarly, in Mahayana Buddhism the concept of “earthly desires are enlightenment” describes the process of overcoming the “three poisons” of greed, anger and foolishness. In successfully challenging these, one reveals one’s inherent enlightened nature that is characterized by compassion, courage and wisdom. There is a strong connection between these two concepts of life transformation expounded respectively in Buddhism and Islam.

As religious individuals, I believe it is incumbent upon us to dispel the prejudicial view of jihad as being linked to acts of terror and to convey an accurate understanding.

As a representative of Buddhist scholars, I presented ideas from the Buddhist perspective at the conference, quoting passages from the Lotus Sutra and other Buddhist scriptures. Through such exchanges of ideas based on the essential teachings of our respective religions, we expanded our understanding of how each religious community can contribute to the discourse on peace, environmental preservation and human rights protection.

What do you think makes the IOP unique?

related article The Practice of Dignity The Practice of Dignity by  Mitch Bogen, Ikeda Center for Peace, Learning, and Dialogue Mitch Bogen describes the ethos and activities of the Ikeda Center and explains how the 2015 Ikeda Forum for Intercultural Dialogue offers a window into the center’s history. What is unique about the IOP is that it is actively conducting dialogue with scholars of other religious faiths while basing itself firmly on the philosophy of the Lotus Sutra and the thinking of the first three presidents of the Soka Gakkai, particularly our founder, Daisaku Ikeda. Through these kinds of academic exchanges, mutual understanding on the level of religious philosophy can be developed, and misguided beliefs and prejudice can be dispelled.

The IOP’s researchers have also been instrumental in offering academic insight into various religious philosophical foundations and scriptures. In April 2016, the IOP cosponsored the exhibition “Buddhist Sutras: A universal spiritual heritage—manuscripts and iconography of the Lotus Sutra” at the UNESCO Headquarters in Paris. The content of this exhibition was informed by the work of our researchers and experts in the field.

What are some emerging global issues the IOP is focused on and would encourage our readers to take an interest in?

On the 50th anniversary of the institute’s founding, President Ikeda sent us a message in which he stated that the global issues facing humanity today could be categorized into three areas. The first is climate change and environmental problems, the second is social, political and economic challenges, and the third is a crisis of the human spirit and a degeneration of ethics and morals.

Ultimately, the last of these is the source of all the other problems—therein lies the fundamental cause of violence, holding the key to solving all issues confronting humanity, be they environmental, social, political or economic. In that sense, our focus is on addressing all global issues.

Yoichi Kawada

Yoichi Kawada served as director of the Institute of Oriental Philosophy (IOP) from 1988 and was appointed as an advisor in March 2017. During his tenure as director, Dr. Kawada oversaw the institute’s wide-ranging research programs into the intersection of East Asian philosophical outlooks and contemporary global issues such as human rights, environmental protection and bioethics. He is also a medical doctor with a PhD in immunology from the University of Kyoto, Japan, and is a recognized authority on the history of Buddhist medicine, bringing the insights of Buddhism to bear on contemporary issues of bioethics, medical and clinical practice.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top