韩国:和平对话

36

热门

“大学和平活动”(UNIPEACE)是由韩国国际创价学会(SGI)学生部发起的全国性大学学生和平自治会,其目的在于提高民众对和平的关注,并驱使学生理解与接纳全球公民的理念。


2017年,UNIPEACE学生义工在梨花女子大学导览(©和光新闻)2017年,UNIPEACE学生义工在梨花女子大学导览(©和光新闻)

1998年,SGI会长池田大作访问韩国首尔的庆熙大学,并接受该大学授予的名誉博士称号。为纪念这个重要时刻,就读庆熙大学和10所全国各地大学的韩国SGI学生部会员在各自的校园内举办一连串推广和平的活动,如人权摄影展、影片放映会和工作坊等。

活动之后,那些学生部会员继续举办类似的活动提升大众意识,就读其他大学的韩国SGI学生部会员也群起效法。直至2012年,活动已发展至一般学生也参与其中的程度,并以“UNIPEACE”的名称重新推出。时至今日,“UNIPEACE”活动已推广至韩国国内超过2百所大学。

诱发对话

UNIPEACE的重点活动是一年一度的和平展览。因为展览能够以平易近人的方法向人传递信息,并在短时间内引起不同人的关注,所以被视为一项有效的传播媒介。这些和平展览大多于易引起民众注意和激发讨论的户外公共空间展出。

UNIPEACE的成员担任导览员,扮演着重要的角色。担任过韩国SGI学生部负责人的崔智艺表示:“展览或许没有和电视与网络同样的影响力,但是就算这些单向的媒体无远弗届,在另一方面,当中所包含的讯息却容易被遗忘。观展的体验是从参观者和导览员的邂逅开始,双方进而透过对话深化交流。这种面对面的交流能够引起共鸣和产生变革,而这些个人的变革凝聚起来会在世界中产生真正的改变。”

和平友谊

相关文章 新加坡创价学会举办“贫穷由我来改变”学生和平演讲 新加坡创价学会举办“贫穷由我来改变”学生和平演讲 杜强博士 2月7日,新加坡创价学会(Singapore Soka Association,简称:SSA)在其总部举行第10回年度SSA学生和平演讲,主题为“贫穷由我来改变”,吸引了大约600人出席。 主讲人是新加坡管理大学政治学副教授杜强(John Donaldson)博士,他在演讲中说明,贫穷是一个已跨越经济范畴的课题。他表示:“贫穷 由决定主题到制作展版,所有准备工作都由学生负责。每年,学生都会在池田SGI会长发表的《和平倡言》中选取展览的主题。这些倡言探讨全球社会面临的种种紧迫问题,并就那些问题提出解决方法。UNIPEACE的成员会研读倡言,从中选出展览的主题,并讨论如何将这个主题推广给大众。

例如,池田SGI会长在2017年的《和平倡言》──“集青年之力 创希望黎明”中提出,青年的凝聚力在开启全新的和平大道上不可或缺,而这种凝聚力能够透过扩大友情产生。因此,2017年UNIPEACE展览以“青年‧盛开友情之花”为主题,探讨青年的友情、团结与和平之间的关系。

前一年的主题探讨生命尊严与个人潜力的关联性,并认为两者能够带来正面的影响。第一面展版回顾如马丁‧路德‧金(Martin Luther King Jr.)和甘地(Mahatma Gandhi)等历史上的例子,展版上引用了这句话:“一个人潜藏无限的可能性。当人察觉自己的潜力,并开始与他人进行交流,和平浪潮就此掀起。”

凝聚动力

2016年,UNIPEACE活动在庆熙大学传递和平的讯息(©和光新闻)2016年,UNIPEACE活动在庆熙大学传递和平的讯息(©和光新闻)

展览的目的是让民众觉得和平建设与他们息息相关,和鼓励他们在日常生活中实践。这是使到UNIPEACE每年都能够有显著的扩大,甚至是新闻媒体报导的主要原因。无论是来参观的民众还是投入此活动的学生,获得的回响持续增长。于2017年,有接近11万人接触此活动,当中包括3千6百名导览员。

在活动中担当导览员的学生Kim Jin-young表示:“我深受UNIPEACE中‘和平并非遥不可及,而是从改变自己的意识开始’的讯息所感动。我接受朋友的邀请,为和平展览担任导览员。我从池田SGI会长的《和平倡言》中学习到很多,并努力向人传达他深邃的哲学和我得到的启发。”学生们透过展览认识到这些新的价值观,并自然地与年龄相若的人分享和进行讨论。

全球公民日益增加

在展览的筹备过程中,邻近大学的学生会一起准备,并互相支持和学习。因此,UNIPEACE为学生提供一个成长的机会。一位统筹UNIPEACE的工作人员朴奫珍表示:“在展览会之后,我有场与梦寐以求的非政府组织的面试机会。我当时紧张不已,但当面试考官问及我有什么专业能贡献给大家时,我自信地讲述UNIPEACE的经验。最后,我成功通过最终面试并获得该工作。”

韩国SGI会员崔智艺表示:“展览为青年提供良好机会,让通常只关心未来就业情况或个人烦恼的年轻人思考自己所居住世界,鼓励他们成长为全球公民,肩负未来。”指出UNIPEACE的最大价值在于能鼓励学生成为关心社会的公民。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回页首

UNIPEACE is a nationwide university peace union launched by the Korea SGI (KSGI) Student Division that is raising public awareness around peace and helping students embrace the values of global citizenship.

A student guide volunteers at Ewha Womans University during UNIPEACE 2017A student guide volunteers at Ewha Womans University during UNIPEACE 2017 [© HwaKwangShinMun]

In 1998, SGI President Daisaku Ikeda visited Kyung Hee University in Seoul to receive an honorary doctorate. To mark the occasion, Korea SGI (KSGI) Student Division members at Kyung Hee University and 10 other universities around the country undertook a range of peace promotion activities on their campuses, including a human rights photo exhibition, film showings and workshops.

Following this initial activity, the Student Division members continued to hold such awareness-raising activities, and their counterparts at other universities followed suit. By 2012, the initiative had grown to include members of the general student body, and in that year, it was launched afresh as UNIPEACE. Today, it is established in more than 200 universities.

Sparking Conversation

The central activity of UNIPEACE is an annual peace exhibition. Exhibitions are seen as an effective medium because they present issues in an accessible manner and attract a variety of people in a short period of time. These peace exhibitions are usually held outdoors in public spaces where they can grab people’s attention and spark discussion.

UNIPEACE members play a vital role as exhibition guides. As Choi Ji-ye, a former KSGI Student Division group leader, comments: “An exhibition may not have the impact of television or the internet, but while such one-sided media are effective in reaching a vast audience, the message may be forgotten just as easily. The exhibition experience is a story sparked by the meeting of a viewer and an exhibition guide. It unfolds through the conversation between the two. Such face-to-face encounters can strike a chord and trigger change; it is the cumulative effect of such change in individuals that creates real change in the world.”

Friendship for Peace

related article Young Plants of Peace: Making Dignity Personal in Thailand Young Plants of Peace: Making Dignity Personal in Thailand by  Chanikarn Mint Wongviriyawong,  founder of Young Plants of Peace Young Plants of Peace (YPP) is a group of youth members of Soka Gakkai Thailand working toward creating a culture of peace based on respect for the dignity of life. All logistics, from deciding the theme to creating the exhibition panels, are undertaken by students. Each year, a single theme is selected from an annual peace proposal published by President Ikeda. These proposals examine pressing issues facing global society and suggest steps to address them. Members of UNIPEACE study the proposal, extract a theme for the exhibition and discuss how best to present it to the public.

In his 2017 proposal, “The Global Solidarity of Youth: Ushering in a New Era of Hope,” for example, a central idea put forward by President Ikeda was that solidarity among youth is integral to opening new paths to peace and that such solidarity is created most simply through the expansion of friendship. Thus, under the theme “Youth and the Blossoming of Friendship,” the 2017 UNIPEACE exhibition explored the relationship between youthful friendship, solidarity and peace.

The previous year, the exhibition looked at the link between human dignity and the individual’s sense that they are able to effect positive change. A quote from the opening panel, which recalls the historical example of individuals such as Martin Luther King Jr. and Mahatma Gandhi, reads: “A single person contains infinite possibilities. When one becomes aware of this and begins to reach out to others, a movement toward peace begins.”

Gaining Momentum

Passing on the message of Peace at Kyung Hee University during UNIPEACE 2016Passing on the message of Peace at Kyung Hee University during UNIPEACE 2016 [© HwaKwangShinMun]

The exhibitions aim to make peacebuilding something everyone can relate to and act upon in their daily lives. This is a key reason for the remarkable expansion of UNIPEACE year by year, which includes coverage in news media. There is growing appeal both to members of the public who view the exhibitions and students to get involved. In 2017, almost 110,000 people engaged with the exhibition, including 3,600 exhibition guides.

Kim Jin-young, a student who became involved as an exhibition guide, comments: “I was very impressed with the message of UNIPEACE—that peace is not something far away, that it starts with me, from a change in my awareness. A friend invited me to join, and I worked as a guide for the peace exhibition. I learned a lot from President Ikeda’s peace proposal and tried my best to convey his deep philosophy and how inspired I was.” Students awakening to these new values naturally begin to share and debate them with their peers.

Growing Global Citizens

In hosting the exhibitions, students of neighboring universities work together, support and learn from each other. In these ways, UNIPEACE has also been a great opportunity for students’ personal development, as Park Yun-jin, a UNIPEACE coordinator, describes: “After the exhibition, I had a job interview with an international NGO I hoped to work for. I was nervous, but when the interviewer asked me what skills I would be able to offer, I was able to confidently talk about my experience with UNIPEACE. I passed the final interview and got the job.”

KSGI’s Choi Ji-ye sees the ultimate value of UNIPEACE as empowering students to become engaged citizens: “The UNIPEACE exhibition serves as firm ground, offering youth—who are often occupied by the stresses of securing future employment and other personal concerns—opportunities to think about the world in which they live as well as encouragement to grow as global citizens and take responsibility for the future.”

─── other articles ───

our story

page top