美国SGI:聚焦于为他人服务的领袖精神与以对话为根本的教学

威廉‧艾肯  美国SGI公关事务主任

25

热门

这篇文章转载自美国的宗教网站“Patheos”网,为该网“Patheos公共平台”的《信仰在美国的未来:东方宗教》特辑中的一篇文选。威廉‧艾肯在文中指出宗教活动因应时代转变作出改变的需要。

宗教的焦点主要集中于永恒的、不受外界转变影响的根本存在上。特别在危机密布和动荡不安的时代,这种永恒不变的性质,可以安抚和激励人心,给人带来慰藉。虽然宗教的本质永恒不变,但这并不代表宗教界与宗教团体就无须时刻检讨,到底如何才可确保自己宗教的根本智慧、活力、慈悲心和创意,不与这个瞬息万变的世界脱节。这种时刻保持联系的必要,与《法华经》中的一节相通,释尊这样教导:

照片来源:Michael Coghlan / CC BY-SA

“每自作是念
以何令众生
得入无上道
速成就佛身”

换句话说:“要如何才能帮助众生了解我教义的精要所在?”这问题代表着佛崇高的精神。佛思想灵活,在济苦救难中不受教条所束缚,相反地,他根据听众的需要和状态,以匠心独具的说法打动他们的心,循循善诱他们至悟达。他为现在所有的宗教领袖作了很好的示范。

美国SGI(国际创价学会)由俗家佛教徒组成,其信仰根本为《法华经》及日莲的理念、其确立的修行,源头追溯至一个于1930年由数名思想进步日本教育家创办的团体。历任会长一直强调,佛道修行的存在是为应对错综复杂的日常生活,我相信这是我们的长处。有了这基本认识,我接着想介绍我们的理念和活动。这虽非我们独有的,但却代表了美国宗教界的未来趋势。

以人为本

相关文章 反核武器倡言(摘要) 池田大作,国际创价学会会长 为纪念恩师户田城圣一百一十岁冥寿,SGI会长池田大作发表“全民一心,共建无核武器世界”一文 首先,宗教需要以人为本。在原教旨主义的世界,教义与信仰这些抽象的概念被视为超然绝对之物,人则屈居于高高在上的神明及宗教理念和目的之下。依附于抽象的概念会导致强烈的排外心理。我相信,这是扭曲了人性中原本美好的宗教情怀。我的人生导师SGI会长池田大作曾说过:“重要的是以人为本,而非以抽象的概念为本。”换句话说,宗教是为人而有的,人非为宗教而活。宗教使人变强还是变弱?宗教让人心变善还是变恶?有了宗教,人会更上进、更有智慧否?

第二点,宗教需要从牧羊人与羊、信者与教主的模式,演变至更平等的导师与修行者的模式。《法华经》的普遍性备受推崇,释尊在该经中对他的弟子说:“舍利弗当知,我本立誓愿,欲令一切众,如我等无异(舍利弗,你应知道,我本来已立下誓愿,希望众生与我无异)”。换而言之,佛最大的心愿,是所有人,不管他们是佛教信徒与否,皆能成佛。因此,为了给教徒提供心灵上的全面支持,宗教领袖应该放下无所不知、高高在上的架子,与信徒一起成长,为他们服务,而且承认自己也同样在修行的途中,透过指导别人,磨练自己的品德和能力。我清楚记得,在见到教宗方济各(Pope Francis)首次在圣伯多禄广场上与民众见面时,受到的感动。他当时没有如之前的教宗般,立刻进行宗座祝福。相反,他要求聚集在圣伯多禄广场的民众为他祈求,希望他能够胜任教宗的职务。

对话的基础

于美国纽约举行的座谈会 于美国纽约举行的座谈会(©圣教新闻)

要符合为人服务的领袖的形象,我相信需要调整宗教教义的传授方式,从单向的说教形式演变至双向的对话形式。佛是一位对话的专家,在他的教义中包含了很多与不同人的交流。同样,自成立以来,创价学会的活动一直以座谈会为主。这些座谈会通常在会员的家中举行,聚集10至20人,参加者一起祈求、学习佛法,并分享信仰的体验,讲述自己如何在日常生活中应用日莲佛法。我们认为个人的信仰体验是佛道修行的重点,甚至相信每个人的信仰体验有如活生生的佛法譬喻故事。这些把痛苦化为成长与幸福的体验,肯定了当事人生命的尊严,也是学会关注的重点。与60年代每月只有数个座谈会相比,美国SGI现在已发展至每月于全国举行超过3千场座谈会的规模。

当然,在正确传达佛的教义和理解如何在日常生活中有效应用佛法理念方面,由有经验前辈负责的佛法讲座与指导亦扮演着重要角色。但最终只有人的经历和人的行动,才能构筑一个可以培育他人、鼓励他人,并让人希望投身其中,以及为社会作出正面贡献的信仰环境。

威廉‧艾肯

威廉‧艾肯于1968年开始修行佛法,现在是美国SGI的公关事务主任。他在跨宗教的对话和合作的领域中有丰富的工作经验,曾担任2015年5月于美国华盛顿举办的“第一届美国白宫佛教领袖会议”主办人。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回页首

Soka Gakkai in America: Focused on Servant Leadership and Dialogic Teaching

by William Aiken, director of public affairs, SGI-USA




In an article originally published at Patheos as part of the Patheos Public Square on the Future of Faith in America: Eastern Religions, William Aiken considers the need for religious movements to adapt and respond to changing times.

Religion’s focus is mainly on the eternal, those fundamental things that don’t change no matter how much the world may change. It is in the unchanging that many find refuge, solace, and inspiration, especially in times of crisis and transition. But just because religions are rooted in the unchanging, that doesn’t mean that religious traditions and communities shouldn’t always be reflecting on how they are able to connect the core wisdom, vitality, compassion and creativity of their tradition to the ever-changing needs of the moment. This need to be ever connecting relates to a phrase from the Lotus Sutra, in which the Buddha says,

[Photo by Michael Coghlan CC BY-SA]

At all times I think to myself:
How can I cause living beings
to gain entry into the unsurpassed way
and quickly acquire the body of a buddha?

It’s another way of saying, “How can I reach out to these people and help them connect with the heart of my teaching?” It’s a worthy question, and the Buddha was an example of someone of great flexibility who in his quest to alleviate human suffering would not be constrained by dogma but rather taught according to the needs and capacity of his listeners, using skillful means to reach their hearts and minds and encourage them toward their awakening. He provides a great model for all religious leaders today.

My community, Soka Gakkai International-USA, is a lay Buddhist sangha, founded by progressive Japanese educators in 1930 and rooted in the teachings and practices of the Lotus Sutra and the 13th-century Japanese priest, Nichiren. The process of applying Buddhist practice to the many complexities of daily living has always been the focus of our successive leaders, and, I believe, is one of the strengths of our community. With this in mind, I want to lift up some emphases and practices from our community that, while certainly not unique to us, speak to the future trends for religion in the US.


related article Dialogue in Buddhism Dialogue in Buddhism The practice of dialogue expresses a central tenet of Buddhism--faith in human beings, in their limitless dignity and potential as possessors and embodiments of universal truth. First, religion needs to center on the human being. In the world of fundamentalism, abstract principles—creeds and beliefs—are treated as absolutes, while humans are seen as subordinate to these greater gods, ideas and purposes. This adherence to abstract absolutes makes it possible to think in terms of annihilating the “other.” I believe this is a perversion of that wonderful human capability for religious sentiment. In the words of my teacher SGI President Daisaku Ikeda, “What is required is that people—and not abstract principles—be accorded centrality.” In other words, religion exists for the sake of the people and not vice versa. “Does religion make people stronger, or does it weaken them? Does it encourage what is good or what is evil in them? Are they made better and more wise—or less so—by religion?”

And this brings me to my second point: religion needs to move from the model of shepherds and sheep, believers and the believed toward the more egalitarian model of teachers and practitioners. In the Lotus Sutra, the ancient Buddhist scripture celebrated for its universality, the Buddha addresses a senior disciple saying, “Shariputra, you should know that at the start I took a vow, hoping to make all persons equal to me, without any distinction between us.” In other words, the Buddha’s great wish is for all to become Buddhas, not just believers in or followers of the Buddha. It follows that in supporting the full spiritual agency of their congregants, leaders must become less know-it-all “Lord” Leaders and more let’s-discover-together “Servant” Leaders, acknowledging that they too are walking the path and that through their role as teachers they hope to strengthen their own spiritual virtues and gifts. I remember feeling moved by Pope Francis, who in his first appearance from the balcony overlooking St. Peter’s Square, did not immediately regally bestow his blessing in the manner we’ve seen before. Rather, he asked the people gathered there to pray for him and to bless him as he embarked on this responsibility.

A Foundation of Dialogue

A discussion meeting in New York [© Seikyo Shimbun]

In keeping with this notion of servant leadership, I believe a change is needed in how religious teachings are imparted, moving from didactic to dialogic methods. The Buddha was said to be a master of dialogue, and his teachings consist mainly of his encounters with others. Likewise, since its formation, the Soka Gakkai’s central activity has been the neighborhood discussion meeting where 10–20 people gather, usually in someone’s home, to pray, study and share experiences of how they are applying Nichiren Buddhism in their lives. We consider personal experiences to be central to our practice, going so far as to refer to them as the living Buddhist parables. It is also a way of affirming the dignity and the centrality of each person’s struggle to transform their sufferings into growth and happiness. For the SGI in the US, we have grown from a handful of such meetings in the early 1960s to more than 3,000 of these gatherings each month throughout the US.

Of course, authoritative study lectures and guidance from seniors also play an important role in conveying what the Buddha taught and how it may be skillfully applied. But in the end it is human experience and human behavior that builds nurturing and encouraging faith communities that people want to be a part of and that contribute in positive ways to the life of our societies.

William Aiken, a practicing Buddhist since 1968, is the director of public affairs for SGI-USA. He has worked extensively in the area of interfaith dialogue and cooperation, serving as the lead organizer for the First White House–US Buddhist Leaders Conference, which was held in May 2015 in Washington DC.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top