為東日本大地震進行的救援工作

橋元太郎 日本

17

熱門

東北地震後,創價學會的義工為受災者提供協助。 東北地震後,創價學會的義工為受災者提供協助。(©聖教新聞)

2011年3月11日,東日本大地震發生時,我在日本西岸的新潟縣。當時感受到的強烈震動使我們連站著都十分困難。我們在晚些時候接獲通知,在東北災區的個個創價文化中心內的救援食品和用來產生電力的燃油儲備幾乎耗盡。另外,媒體亦報導由東京前往東北的道路已經封閉。

十年前,新潟縣亦曾發生大型地震,我們從中汲取了很多經驗。鑒於新潟的地理位置及我們的過往經驗,我們意識到從新潟展開救援工作對於能否及時提供援助起著關鍵性的作用。我們立刻聯絡新潟的創價學會會員,尋求他們的協助。

翌日,第一輛載有燃油的卡車於正午從新潟出發。下午較遲時分,我們收到5500個自製飯糰、水、救援食品、可攜式廁所,及其他救援物資。這一切有賴會員的熱心支持。晚上8時,我乘坐載有救援物資的卡車從新潟出發,於13日的清晨到達600公里外的創價學會東北文化會館。

相關文章 日本創價學會捐款支援中國雲南省地震災區 日本創價學會捐款支援中國雲南省地震災區 我依然清楚記得當時東北的生還者見到我們時,臉上流露出的寬慰和喜悅。他們在絕望中到文化會館避難,除了身上穿的衣服外,什麼都沒有,只能在恐懼和混亂中等待,不知道接下來會發生什麼事。

支援網絡

之後,創價學會在幾個受災的主要城市成立災後復原中心,並派出醫療人員和青年志願者到受災城市協助救援工作。透過與當地的民眾接觸,我們了解到平復精神和情感上的創傷的重要性。例如,自地震發生後,無法跟上學業進度的兒童人數增加。

另一方面,一些報告指出,在擁有完善社區網絡的地方,人們不僅較快恢復,患上如創傷後壓力症候群等精神疾病的機率亦較低。即使政府和公共部門在受災的社區推出復興災區、幫助受災者復原的項目,要建立如上述社區網絡般的社會資本絕非易事,遑論為生還者提供精神和情感上的支持。我們認為擁有社區網絡,以信仰為基調的組織能夠填補這關鍵的空白,於是開始籌備活動為需要精神和情感支持的生還者提供協助。

東北地震後,創價學會的義工為受災者提供協助。 (©聖教新聞)

這些活動包括在每個嚴重受災的城市所舉辦的免費音樂會(預計於明年結束巡迴)、向26所學校捐贈約7000本書,以及舉辦「復興青年大會」,邀請年輕的生還者分享他們的經歷和對未來抱持的希望。不少人表示他們從這些分享中得到鼓勵,為自己的故鄉感到更加自豪。

創價學會亦記載生還者的經歷,並透過學會的雜誌和每日發行的報紙與民眾分享這些經歷。我們認為這些經歷鼓舞了生還者,對災區的復興產生正面影響。它們讓生還者看到社區和個人固有的、能夠跨越任何困難的潛能和力量。

我們的活動背後的信念是,個人自強與加強凝聚力對於讓社區產生希望非常重要。如國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)會長池田大作所言,扮演此重要角色的是每日在基層互相交流,珍惜、鼓勵彼此的人際網絡。

橋元太郎

橋元太郎是SGI的青年部長,現居於日本東京。這篇文章源自他在一場關於人道救援的國際研討會上所發表的演講。該研討會於2014年3月21日,在美國佐治亞州(或稱喬治亞州)的肯尼索州立大學舉行。(©聖教新聞)

<創價學會國際廣報局譯自2014年10月號《SGI季刊》>

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

All photos: Soka Gakkai volunteers helping in the aftermath of the Tohoku Earthquake [© Seikyo Shimbun]

When the March 11, 2011, Great East Japan Earthquake occurred, I was in Niigata Prefecture, on Japan’s west coast. We felt huge tremors to the point that it was difficult to remain standing. Later that day, we were informed that emergency food supplies and fuel for power generation stocked at our culture centers in the affected Tohoku area were nearly depleted. Also, the media reported that transportation routes from Tokyo to Tohoku were blocked.

Ten years ago, Niigata was also hit by a huge earthquake. We learned many lessons from that disaster. In light of Niigata’s geographical location, and based on past experience, we realized that actions taken in Niigata would be critical to the provision of timely aid and relief. We immediately contacted the local members of the Soka Gakkai in Niigata to garner their support.

The following day, the first truck loaded with fuel left Niigata at noon and by late afternoon, thanks to the kindness of our members, we had received 5,500 homemade rice balls, water, emergency food supplies, portable toilets and other relief goods. I departed Niigata around 8 pm that night on one of the trucks, arriving at the Soka Gakkai Tohoku Culture Center, a distance of over 600 kilometers, early in the morning of March 13.

I vividly recall how the faces of the survivors in Tohoku lit up with relief and joy when they saw us. They had evacuated to the culture center in desperation, with nothing but the clothes they were wearing, waiting in fear and bewilderment, not knowing what was going to happen next.

Support Networks

related article Treasuring Diversity Treasuring Diversity Daisaku Ikeda has written, "The Buddha's teaching begins with the recognition of human diversity.... The humanism of the Lotus Sutra comes down to the tenet of treasuring the individual." The Soka Gakkai subsequently established post-disaster recovery centers in some of the major affected cities. We dispatched members to cities who were healthcare professionals, as well as youth volunteers. Through our engagement with the local people, we realized the importance of mental and emotional recovery. For example, since the earthquake, there has been an increase in the number of children struggling to keep up at school.

On the other hand, reports show that where well-established local community networks exist, people are not only recovering rapidly, but have also experienced fewer incidences of mental health ailments such as posttraumatic stress disorder. Even if the government and the public sector implement programs to support recovery efforts in disaster-affected communities, it is no simple task to nurture social capital such as the aforementioned local networks, let alone provide mental and emotional care to survivors. We felt that faith-based organizations with local networks could fill that critical gap and began to plan activities to assist those requiring mental and emotional care.

These included free musical concerts, which will have taken place in every town in the disaster-stricken areas by next year; donations of some 7,000 books to 26 schools; and “Restoration Youth Speech Conference” events, in which young survivors are invited to share their experiences and hopes for the future. Many people commented that they were encouraged by such testimonials and were able to renew their pride in their hometowns.

We are also recording the experiences of survivors and sharing them with the public through the Soka Gakkai’s magazines and daily newspaper. We feel that these initiatives are boosting the spirits of survivors and contributing to the region’s recovery. They have reminded survivors of the inherent potential and power within their communities and within individuals to overcome the greatest of hardships.

Underlying our activities is our belief in the importance of empowering each individual and strengthening networks of solidarity to establish a sense of hope in the community. As SGI President Daisaku Ikeda notes, it is the human network of individuals interacting, treasuring and encouraging each other every day at the grassroots level that plays the key role in this.

Taro Hashimoto is the SGI youth division leader and lives in Tokyo, Japan. This article is based on a speech he delivered on March 20, 2014, at Kennesaw State University in Georgia, USA, at an international conference on humanitarian responses to crisis.

our story