回一覽表

座談會

「如今,在全世界各地,每個月都有SGI的座談會在進行,會場大多在會員住家。與會者中,男女老幼皆有,大家來自社會各個領域,教育程度與經濟背景也不盡相同。」

在人們加深對佛法的瞭解及領悟的過程之中,與人對話、交流和討論一直是一個重要的環節。

大型聚會或許是傳播訊息的有效方法,印刷品及其他媒體也同樣是資訊及靈感的重要來源;然而,這些方法卻有可能成為單向溝通管道。尤其是在宗教活動中,即使懷著最善意的出發點,單向傳達還是會讓人感受到,教導者和受教者之間存在著階級的區分,最後可導致信仰者失去自主性,產生對幹部或是導師的依賴。如果宗教的最終目的是讓人們享有最高的幸福,就一定要儘量避免這樣的情形發生。

Discussion Meetings小型討論會為與會者提供發問的機會,讓他們道出心中的疑點、尋求解答。這是一個共同學習的場所,它讓人安心參與,從中受惠。由佛教人本主義的角度來看,真理並不專屬於某個特定的人或團體,而是人人都可以平等地分享的。真理在人們互相交流的過程中得到彰顯,也在這麼一個彼此扶持的人際網絡之中得以流傳。這種平等的交流,是鍛鍊人性的熔爐。

國際創價學會(Soka Gakkai International,簡稱SGI)的活動源自於日蓮(1222-82)的教義。日蓮本身十分重視這種形式的對話和學習。由他的著作可以清楚地看到,日蓮的弟子們時常聚在一起,廣泛地研讀佛教經典。日蓮了解到,這方面的學習和討論,是把教義正確無誤地流傳於世的關鍵所在。在遭到嚴重迫害的時期,他於某封信的開頭寫道:「有志諸人,來集一處,可共聽聞。」

自1930年代以來,小型座談會就一直是創價學會的基礎。即使當時宗教自由受到軍國政府的壓制,創價學會初任會長牧口常三郎仍然走遍日本國內各地參加座談會。單單在過世前兩年,他便出席了大約240場座談會。

如今,在全世界各地,每個月都有SGI的座談會在進行,會場大多在會員住家。與會者中,男女老幼皆有,大家來自社會各個領域,教育程度與經濟背景也不盡相同。

基本上,座談會是根據地區劃分來舉辦。在現今人際關係日漸淡薄的都會生活環境中,人們即便長年比鄰而居,也可能彼此視同路人,然而在座談會上,他們卻可認識自己地區的其他居民。座談會公開給所有人前來參加,讓原本可能永遠碰不到面的人有機會聚集在一起。包括孩童,以及不習慣於在眾人面前說話的人,每個人都被鼓勵發言、提供意見或是分享他們的感想。

舉辦座談會的一個主要目的,是讓會員發表信仰的體驗,敘述自己如何透過佛道修行,來改變人生。對於正在與現實問題奮戰的人而言,沒有比他人成功克服挑戰的經歷更振奮人心,最理想的座談會也必定洋溢著互相鼓勵的明朗氣氛。佛法學習則是另一項重要的特色:由某位會員或一組人發表事先已準備好的主題或佛法用語,以供全體與會者進行進一步的討論,也鼓勵新朋友或是有心進一步瞭解佛法的人發表意見或提出問題。

SGI會長池田大作曾經談論過座談會於現代社會的意義:「唯有在聲音與聲音的交流中、人性與人性的坦誠相對中,以及生命與生命的接觸中,才可鑄造出士氣高昂、意志堅韌的庶民文化。現今社會充斥著沒有生命的訊息,正因如此,若要建設健全的社會,那麼人們就必須開口對話,以脈動著生命活力的言語進行交流。」

<摘自2007年4月《SGI季刊>

回頁首

Top
Back to list

Discussion Meetings

"SGI discussion meetings are held in all corners of the globe, usually on a monthly basis. The meetings are held in local neighborhoods, and give people the opportunity to develop the kind of relations that are increasingly rare in contemporary urban environments--where people may live for years as neighbors without developing any personal connection."

Discussion MeetingsDialogue, interaction and discussion have always been crucial to the process by which people come to a deeper understanding and appreciation of Buddhism.

Large gatherings may be an effective means of transmitting information; likewise, print and other media can provide important sources of information and inspiration. But they also hold the risk that they will become one-way avenues of communication. Within religious movements, in particular, even with the best of intentions one-way communication can establish a sense of hierarchy--between those who teach and those who learn. The result can be the disempowerment of believers, who become reliant on their leaders or teachers. If the true mission of religion is to enable people to enjoy the highest happiness, it is vital to make efforts to avoid such outcomes.

Small group discussions provide an opportunity for questioning, for voicing and responding to doubts. This is a shared process of learning that proceeds at the pace that is genuinely comfortable and effective for all the participants. From the perspective of Buddhist humanism, truth is not the exclusive possession of a select individual or group. Rather, truth is something to which all people have equal access. It is discovered through our committed engagement with our fellow human beings and is shared and transmitted through an expanding web of empathetic connection among people. Such interactions, on the basis of equality, are the crucible in which our humanity is forged.

Nichiren (1222-82), the Buddhist reformer whose teachings inspire the SGI's activities, valued this form of dialogue and study. From his writings, it is clear that his disciples gathered on a regular basis to study a wide range of Buddhist texts. Nichiren saw such discussion as crucial for the correct transmission of his own intent. He begins one letter written at a time of severe persecution with these words: "Those resolved to seek the way should gather and listen to the contents of this letter."

Small group discussion meetings have been the foundation of the Soka Gakkai since the 1930s. Founding president Tsunesaburo Makiguchi traveled widely throughout Japan to participate in such meetings, attending some 240 small group discussions during a two-year period near the end of his life, even as religious freedom was being suppressed by the militarist authorities of his day.

Today, SGI discussion meetings are held in all corners of the globe, usually on a monthly basis. The vast majority of these are held in the homes of members who make them available for this purpose. Participants are women and men, children from all walks of life, educational and economic backgrounds.

The meetings are held in local neighborhoods, and give people the opportunity to develop the kind of relations that are increasingly rare in contemporary urban environments--where people may live for years as neighbors without developing any personal connection. Discussion meetings are open to all and bring together people who might never otherwise encounter each other in societies divided along various seen and unseen lines. Everyone, including children or those for whom speaking in front of others does not come easily, is encouraged to speak, to offer their comments or reactions.

The sharing of faith experiences--the transformation in people's lives realized through Buddhist practice--is a central element of discussion meetings. There is perhaps nothing more heartening for people struggling with problems than the example of others who have successfully confronted and overcome their own challenges. The best discussion meetings are filled with a bright mood of mutual encouragement. Buddhist study is another important feature; an individual or group of individuals may prepare a presentation on a theme or concept, which then sets the stage for further discussion. Guests or others interested in learning more about Buddhism are encouraged to comment and question.

SGI President Daisaku Ikeda has described the significance of the modern-day discussion meeting in these terms: "The culture of the spirited, resilient common people is found in the exchange and interaction of voice with voice, the coming together of people in their raw humanity, the contact of one life with another. Contemporary society is a flood of soulless information. It is for just this reason that sharing of living language, the actual voices of people, can make a crucial contribution to the health of society."

[Courtesy April 2007 SGI Quarterly]

View related video

▲ Back to top