日蓮

8627

熱門

一位藝術家畫的日蓮畫像(©聖教新聞)

國際創價學會(SGI)會員信奉日蓮(1222-1282)所創立的佛法。日蓮在日本的社會及宗教史上扮演了獨特角色,他敢於對日本各大佛教宗派及國家權貴顯要直言不諱,另一方面,從他寫給弟子們的書信中可得知,他在性格上是個古道熱腸、人情味十足的人。正是出於他對一般民眾的深切關懷,他才堅守立場,嚴厲對待當時有腐敗、欺壓百姓傾向的社會制度。

古代日本的封建社會以服從權勢為重,日蓮在這樣的社會受盡鎮壓迫害,渡過了坎坷的人生。他為傳揚《法華經》的教義奉獻一生,期待透過此教義,為人解開苦惱的枷鎖,同時亦為建設以民眾的尊嚴為基礎的平等社會,製造必要的條件。在現今社會,SGI及其會員的活動,亦遵照相同理念展開。

幼年時代

日蓮出生在13世紀日本的一個沿岸小村落,家庭以捕魚為業,在當時階級分明的社會屬於最底層。12歲時在當地一所寺院清澄寺學習,16歲時正式剃度出家。日蓮從家鄉鄉民困苦的生活中,體會到民眾處境的艱難,為此牽腸掛肚。這是驅使他從諸多佛典中尋找佛教真義的一大動力。他在一篇寫給門下弟子的書信中表示,自己自小就「願作日本第一智者」。

出家後,日蓮開始深入鑽研各佛教宗派及各佛典,足跡遍布日本各大名剎及佛學中心。

傳教而受迫害

日蓮32歲時回到清澄寺,於1253年4月28日開壇演講,以公佈他的研究成果。他宣稱釋迦牟尼所悟得的真理,盡包含在《法華經》中。他將此定義為「南無妙法蓮華經」,指明這是眾生成佛唯一之道,從中否定了當時的主要佛教宗派。

相關文章 牧口常三郎 牧口常三郎 牧口常三郎(1871-1944年)是一名教育家、作家和哲學家,曾擔任小學校長。他在1930年創立了「創價教育學會」(創價學會的前身)。 此舉觸怒了這些宗派的僧人及其門人,其中許多是掌控權勢的政府官員。由那時起,日蓮一直遭到騷擾及迫害。

1260年,一連串的天災釀成無數傷亡及病患,針對這社會現象,日蓮書寫了他著名論著《立正安國論》。他強調,基於《法華經》的信仰,敬重生命的尊嚴,完善人格,國家社會才會和平安穩,免受天災人禍所害。日蓮如此解釋他為何直言不諱:「何能見佛法衰微,不起哀惜心情?」

他把論著呈交日本當時最高政權,要求與各佛教宗派代表進行佛學辯論。日蓮的要求被拒,他本人也被流放到伊豆半島。日蓮之後也多次提出相同的要求,卻無一被接受。

重大轉折

描繪日蓮被流放到佐渡時,遇到大雪的19世紀作品,由歌川國芳所畫(照片來自公有領域)

被流放後的數年,日蓮駁斥並推翻了其他教派學說,招來這些教派及政府官員一波接一波的迫害,這包括遭埋伏,受武器攻擊,被流放,甚至還幾乎在龍口(地名)被斬首。根據日蓮本身的敘述,當劊子手手上的劍即將落下的一刻,天際劃過一顆發光體,在場的官員感到震驚不已,最終決定取消處決。在那之後,日蓮被流放到荒涼的佐渡島,在衣食住行極度簡陋短缺的情況下,繼續說法傳教,撰寫論著,寫信鼓勵弟子們。

安然跨越龍口的難,此事對日蓮具有非凡意義。他以凡夫之身,展現了佛的本質,懷著宣揚南無妙法蓮華經的使命,為眾生明示掙脫苦難束縛的根本之道。日蓮開始為信徒圖繪御本尊

入居身延山

1274年,日蓮被赦免回返鎌倉。那是日本的政治中心。他第三次勸諫國家政權捨棄錯誤的思想與學說,但他的忠言依舊被當成耳邊風。日蓮於是決定離開鎌倉,在身延山山腳一帶定居。他開始培養弟子,確保在自己身後他們會繼續宣揚其教義。

相關文章 執著與解脫 執著與解脫 但凡為人,就難免抱有執著。我們有求生欲,我們有關心牽掛的人、有希望取得成功的事業,我們各有所好――雖說這種種執著均有可能帶來煩惱與痛苦,但從另一個角度來看,執著本身不正是為人的象徵嗎?畢竟,缺乏酸甜苦辣的菜肴難以入口,缺乏喜怒哀樂的人生亦乏味不充實。 在那期間,日蓮的弟子致力於傳教,迎來許多人皈依日蓮的教義,迫害的矛頭開始指向這些弟子。1279年,20名弟子被冠上莫須有罪名遭逮捕。他們受到嚴苛的拷問,被逼迫放棄信仰,其中3名還被處決。

這些都是俗家農民弟子,即使面對要被處刑的恐嚇,信仰還是嵬然不動。這事件讓日蓮相信,在他過世後,他的教義會流傳到未來。

不久後,日蓮完成其一生使命,於1282年10月13日安詳逝世,享年61歲。他高舉以人類尊嚴至上的哲學,為眾生確立唱念南無妙法蓮華經的修行,敞開擺脫苦惱的幸福之道。

相關文章:池田會長著作「關於日蓮」

─── 其他文章 ───


返回頁首

An artist’s rendition of Nichiren [© Seikyo Shimbun]

Nichiren (1222–82), the priest who established the form of Buddhism practiced by the members of the SGI, is a unique figure in Japanese social and religious history. An outspoken critic of the established Buddhist schools and the secular authorities, he was also a person of great warmth and humanity, as is evident in the content of the numerous letters he sent to his followers. It was this deep concern for the welfare of ordinary people that made him such an unrelenting opponent of the often corrupt and oppressive social structures of his time.

In a feudal society that relied on obedience to authority, Nichiren’s life was one of hardship and persecution. It was a life dedicated to propagating a teaching that could liberate people from their individual sufferings and create the conditions for a society based on respect for the fundamental dignity and equality of all people. This same aspiration inspires the activities of the SGI and its members today.

Early Years

Nichiren was born in a small coastal hamlet to a family engaged in fishing—people on the lowest rungs of the strict social hierarchy of 13th-century Japan. At the age of 12, he began his schooling at a local temple called Seicho-ji and formally entered the priesthood at the age of 16. Nichiren was moved by the plight of ordinary people, which he saw personified in the daily hardships of the people of his village. This concern for human suffering was a profound motivational force in his efforts to grasp the heart of Buddhist doctrine. In one of his letters he describes how, from the time he was a small child, he had prayed “to become the wisest person in Japan.”

Following his entry into the priesthood, Nichiren embarked on a period of intense study of the Buddhist sutras and the various schools of Buddhism, traveling to the major centers of Buddhist learning in Japan.

Establishing His Teaching, Encountering Persecution

At the age of 32, he returned to Seicho-ji where, on April 28, 1253, he announced the conclusion of his studies in a lecture. He declared that the heart of Shakyamuni’s enlightenment is to be found in the Lotus Sutra, which encapsulates the Mystic Law, or truth, to which the Buddha had awakened. Nichiren defined this Law as “Nam-myoho-renge-kyo” and, challenging the major Buddhist schools of his day, proclaimed this to be the sole teaching capable of leading all people to enlightenment.

related article Daisaku Ikeda Daisaku Ikeda The President of the Soka Gakkai International is Daisaku Ikeda (1928- ). Based in Tokyo, Japan, Ikeda is a leading Buddhist philosopher, peace builder and educator. Nichiren’s refutation of the established teachings aroused deep animosity from the priests of those schools and their followers, among them influential government officials. From that time on, Nichiren was subjected to constant harassment and persecution.

In 1260, in the wake of a series of devastating natural disasters, Nichiren wrote his most famous treatise, “On Establishing the Correct Teaching for the Peace of the Land.” In it, he developed the idea that only by reviving a spirit of reverence for the sanctity and perfectibility of human life through faith in the Lotus Sutra could peace and order be restored and further disaster forestalled. He described his motivation in speaking out as follows: “How could I observe the decline of the Buddhist Law and not be filled with emotions of pity and distress?”

He presented this treatise to the highest political authorities of Japan and urged them to sponsor a public debate with representatives of other schools of Buddhism. The call for public debate—which Nichiren would repeat throughout his life—was ignored, and he was banished to the Izu Peninsula.

A Decisive Crisis

A 19th century depiction of Nichiren in the snow during his exile on Sado Island by Utagawa Kuniyoshi [Public Domain]

During the years that followed, his pointed criticism of other Buddhist doctrines invited a series of persecutions from the other schools and from the government authorities. These included armed attacks, ambushes, further banishment and ultimately an attempt to execute him at Tatsunokuchi. By his account, moments before the executioner’s sword was to fall, a luminous object traversed the sky with such brilliance that the terrified officials called off the execution. Nichiren was banished to Sado Island where, amidst extreme deprivation, he continued to share his teachings, writing treatises and letters of encouragement to his followers.

Nichiren’s triumph over this persecution at Tatsunokuchi was extremely significant for him. It confirmed that, while he remained an ordinary being, his true and original identity was that of a Buddha with the mission of spreading the teaching of Nam-myoho-renge-kyo, providing the means for people to free themselves from suffering at the most fundamental level. It was after this that he began to inscribe the Gohonzon for his followers—a scroll inscribed with Chinese characters that embodies the Mystic Law to which he was enlightened.

Taking Up Residence at Mount Minobu

In 1274, Nichiren was exonerated and returned to Kamakura, the political center of Japan. He once again remonstrated with the government authorities to discontinue their reliance on erroneous teachings, but, for a third time, they declined to heed his advice. He decided then to leave Kamakura and took up residence in the foothills of Mount Minobu where he devoted himself to fostering disciples who would carry out the work of spreading the teaching after his passing.

related article The Meaning of Nam-myoho-renge-kyo The Meaning of Nam-myoho-renge-kyo Nichiren declared that to chant Nam-myoho-renge-kyo was to activate its promise of universal enlightenment; he was establishing a form of practice that would open the way to enlightenment for all people--regardless of class or educational background. During this period, the propagation efforts of his disciples convinced many people to begin following Nichiren’s teachings. This also provoked harassment and persecution. In 1279, in the village of Atsuhara, 20 converts were arrested on trumped-up charges. They were harshly interrogated to the point of torture and pressed to renounce their faith. Eventually, three were executed.

These lay believers—peasant farmers—remained steadfast in the face of the ultimate threat. For Nichiren, this signaled a crucial point, inspiring his confidence that his teachings would live on and spread after his passing.

Not long after this, on October 13, 1282, at the age of 61, Nichiren died from natural causes having fulfilled his life’s mission: to open the way for the liberation of all people from suffering through the establishment of the teaching of Nam-myoho-renge-kyo and its philosophy of human dignity and empowerment.

Read more: On Nichiren by SGI President Daisaku Ikeda

─── other articles ───

our story

page top