十如是

1829

热门

在许多佛法教义中,佛代表着一个能力和智慧远远超越凡夫的存在。《法华经》却完全推翻了这种概念,阐明凡夫与生俱来具有与佛一样的特质,而且同样有能力显现这生命中最奥妙、美好的特质。

(© ALBERTO GHIZZI PANIZZA/SCIENCE PHOTO LIBRARY/Getty Images)

《法华经‧方便品第二》所阐述的“十如是”是这个法理的其中一个理论支柱。十如是是所有生命状态共通存在的十种层面,是六世纪中国佛学大师智顗(天台大师)所明示的“一念三千”法理的一部分。这是日莲佛法思想的基础,说明众生皆具备成的潜能。《法华经》指出这一点是“难信难解”的。

《法华经》中,就十如是如此说明:“唯佛与佛,乃能究尽诸法实相。所谓诸法,如是相、如是性、如是体、如是力、如是作、如是因、如是缘、如是果、如是报、如是本末究竟等。”

众生皆拥有的本质

最初的三如是描述生命的基本结构。“”是显现于外的姿态相貌。“”是存于内在的性情和性质。“”是具有“相”和“性”的本体。如果“相”是硬币的一面,而“性”是另一面,那“体”就是硬币。

相关文章 《法华经》中的宝塔,生命中的宝塔 《法华经》中的宝塔,生命中的宝塔 在写给一名信徒的信中,日莲论及这宇宙至高的法则到底存在何处。诚如日莲所写的:“持《法华经》之男女,其身之外,别无宝塔也”(〈与阿佛法师书(阿佛房御书)〉《日莲大圣人御书全集》1371页),那其实是在人人生命深处。 接下来的六如是阐述因果法则如何在生活中运作。“”是产生或创造结果的潜在能力,“”是指这种潜能展现时的行为或影响。“”是潜在于生命当中、导致产生变化的直接原因。“”指的是触发“”,进而在生命深处产生“”的内外条件。“”是结果的具体显现。举例来说,当一个容易感到沮丧(因)的人遭受挫折(缘),这可能导致他情绪低落(果),陷入忧郁的状态(报)。这消沉的情绪会影响身边的人(作),而这种影响力就是“力”的作用。

最后的“本末究竟等”指出其他的九如是环环相扣,并且于任何时候都保持一贯性,呈现出相同的状态。在上述的例子中,“报”是忧郁的状态,与使人陷入地狱般的忧郁的“因”和“缘”等是一致的,这能够从人的外貌和低迷的精神看出来。其他的状态,例如喜悦、愤怒或同情也有这样的一贯性。

十界

日莲佛法将所有这些状态归类为十种生命境界,或称为“十界”,从地狱界至佛界,芸芸众生的生命中都有十界。生命的各种状态皆可用十界形容。个个生命和一切现象在每一刻都展现其中一界,没有一种生命境界在十界以外。身处地狱界的人感到人生充满烦恼与痛苦,而身处佛界的人充满智慧和同情心,感到人生有无限的可能性。生命会展现各种各样的可能性(十界),这与日莲所说的“妙法”或“妙法莲华经”同义。

凡夫与生俱来具有与佛一样的特质

十如是解释了因果法则如何一贯地在人们的生活中发挥作用,以产生这些不同的生命境界。日莲佛法明确阐述显现佛界的因果之法。换句话说,任何按日莲的教义修行的人,不论能力和环境如何,将会得到佛界的果。

修行的根本是要确信我们的生命本身就是妙法的体现,与生俱来就有无限的可能性。

如日莲写道:“崇奉我己心之妙法莲华经为本尊,我己心中之佛性受南无妙法莲华经呼唤显出之当体,称之为佛。”

唱诵“南无妙法莲华经”是肯定自身佛界的行为。与此同时,“南无妙法莲华经”的教义是让我们的生命显现佛界的缘(根据十如是)。

日莲鼓励他的信徒坚决致力于佛法修行,在严酷的现实中取胜。他终生为了民众的幸福不断努力,艰苦斗争。持续为自己和他人的幸福而修行,我们可以更充分地发挥自身佛界的特质,享受无畏自由的广阔生命境界。

─── 其他文章 ───


返回页首

The Ten Factors of Life

9217

popularity

In many teachings of Buddhism, the Buddha is presented as a being whose abilities and wisdom far surpass that of ordinary people. The Lotus Sutra, however, completely overturns this perception, clarifying that ordinary people inherently possess the same qualities as the Buddha and are equal in their capacity to manifest life’s most profound and positive qualities.

[© ALBERTO GHIZZI PANIZZA/SCIENCE PHOTO LIBRARY/Getty Images]

The “ten factors of life,” expounded in the second chapter of the Lotus Sutra, are a key component in the theoretical explanation of this truth. They analyze life in terms of the elements that are common to all phenomena. The ten factors form part of the larger, overarching theoretical system of “three thousand realms in a single moment of life” established by the sixth-century Buddhist teacher Zhiyi (the Great Teacher Tiantai, or T’ien-t’ai) in China. This teaching forms the basis of the philosophy of Nichiren Buddhism and clarifies that the potential of Buddhahood is inherent in all things. This, the Lotus Sutra states, is something difficult to understand and to believe.

The ten factors are introduced in a passage from the sutra that reads: “The true aspect of all phenomena can only be understood and shared between Buddhas. This reality consists of appearance, nature, entity, power, influence, internal cause, relation, latent effect, manifest effect, and their consistency from beginning to end.”

Elements Common to All Life

The first three factors describe the basic framework of life. Appearance relates to physical features and attributes—what can be seen. Nature refers to those aspects of life that are essentially nonphysical—our inherent disposition and latent potential. Entity is life itself expressed as appearance and nature. If appearance is one side of a coin and nature the other, entity is the coin itself. All three aspects are inseparable.

related article The Middle Way The Middle Way Buddhism itself is sometimes referred to as "the Middle Way," indicating a transcendence and reconciliation of the extremes of opposing views. The next six factors describe the functions and workings of life—the way in which the law of cause and effect functions in life. Power describes the potential to act or create an effect, and influence represents the action or effect produced when this inherent power is activated. Internal cause is the cause latent in life. Relation refers to the internal and external conditions that trigger the internal cause, producing a latent effect in the depths of life. The manifest effect is the perceivable result that eventually appears. For example, when a person with a tendency to become depressed (internal cause) suffers a disappointment (relation), this may trigger their depressive tendency (latent effect), leading to a state of depression (manifest effect). Their depressed state will affect others around them (influence). The strength of such influence is a function of their power.

The tenth factor, consistency from beginning to end, indicates that all of the other nine factors are interrelated and perfectly consistent in expressing the same condition of existence at any given moment. The manifest effect of depression, in the example above, is consistent with the internal cause and relation, etc. of the hellish state of depression, which will be noticeable in the person’s appearance and the waning of their energy. A similar consistency would apply to any other condition, such as joy, anger or compassion.

The Ten Worlds

The tradition that Nichiren Buddhism belongs to categorizes all such conditions into ten life states, or “Ten Worlds,” from hell to Buddhahood that are equally inherent in all people. These ten worlds define the entire spectrum of life. All life and phenomena at any moment manifest one of these ten worlds—there is no expression of life apart from the ten worlds. In the life state of hell, life is frustrated and filled with suffering, in the life state of Buddhahood, life is filled with wisdom, compassion and boundless possibility. Life manifests these varied potentials (the ten worlds) and is synonymous with what Nichiren termed the Mystic Law or Myoho-renge-kyo.

Ordinary people inherently possess the same qualities as the Buddha.

The ten factors explain the consistent way in which cause and effect functions in people’s lives to give rise to these different life states. Nichiren Buddhism explicitly expounds the law of cause and effect for manifesting the life state of Buddhahood. In other words, anyone who practices as Nichiren taught will experience the effect of Buddhahood, regardless of their capacity or circumstance.

The basis of this practice is to have faith that our lives themselves are the Mystic Law, inherently possessing the full spectrum of life’s possibilities.

As Nichiren writes: “When we revere Myoho-renge-kyo inherent in our own life as the object of devotion, the Buddha nature within us is summoned forth and manifested by our chanting of Nam-myoho-renge-kyo. This is what is meant by ‘Buddha.’”

Chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo is an act of affirming our faith in our Buddha nature. At the same time, the teaching of Nam-myoho-renge-kyo is the relation (in terms of the ten factors) that enables the life state of Buddhahood to become manifest in our life.

Nichiren urged his followers to firmly commit themselves to their Buddhist practice and triumph amidst the harsh realities of life. His own life was one of fierce struggle and constant effort for people’s happiness. It is through such continuous practice for ourselves and others that we can more fully harness the wonderful workings of our Buddha nature, savoring an expansive life state of fearlessness and freedom.

─── other articles ───

our story

page top